Primary Sources
- African American Communities: Oral HistoriesThis resource features unique oral history videos and recordings sourced from collections at Atlanta History Center and Weeksville Heritage Center. Watch and listen to first-hand accounts of student activism during the Atlanta Civil Rights Movement and personal experiences from the African American Community of Weeksville, Brooklyn. All interviews include accompanying interactive transcriptions.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowAn online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowThe American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From Pre-contact to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida, AIE is meant for anyone wishing to learn more about America's Native Peoples.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new windowA searchable, and ever-expanding, website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present A virtual library of thousands of diverse sources: award-winning reference works, primary documents, illustrations, maps A key resource supporting courses in American history and literature.
- Audio Search - Click "Filter+" and choose "Audio" under the "Media" heading
- Video Search - Click "Filter+" and choose "Video" under the "Media" heading
- EthnomusicologyProduced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the Ethnomusicology Archive at the University of Washington, this collection includes videos, educational recordings, field recordings, studio recordings and interviews.
- Food and Drink in History: AudioThis resource aims to represent a range of key food and drink history stories from the evolution of food within everyday life to haute cuisine, charting key issues around agriculture and food production, and looking into advertising histories of key food and drink brands. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status. Filter your search on the left-hand side of the page by scrolling to "Document Type" and choosing Audio.
- G8 Information Center: Oral HistoriesThe G8 Research Group presents verbatim, unedited interviews with individuals who have played a key role in the development of the G7/8 and the G20.
- Latino American Experience. This link opens in a new windowWide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: VideosThis collection of carefully selected video footage has been sourced from the Huntley Film Archive. Select videos from the list to watch original film clips covering the major events, people and places of this fascinating era. View a wide variety of footage, from momentous events in the fight for Civil Rights to items on popular culture, music and fashion.
- Race Relations in America: AudioThis resource features over 100 hours of audio recordings, bringing the work of the Race Relations Department to life. Listen to eminent sociologists, civil rights activists, anthropologists, industry leaders and others participating in panel discussions and delivering speeches at the annual Race Relations Institutes. Also available are dictations of reports and the narration of the film slideshows 'Of a New Day Begun' and 'Rebirth in Roxbury'. Where possible, interactive and searchable transcriptions accompany the audio. Some typed transcriptions and drafts of speeches are also available in the document collection, and links have been provided to these within the metadata.
- Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new windowSex & Sexuality makes accessible the unpublished papers of prominent sexologists, sex researchers, societies, advocacy groups and campaigners working across America and beyond during the twentieth century. The collection also includes a significant proportion of correspondence between professional and private individuals, autobiographical accounts, official records and literary works.
- Esther Herbert Collection
- Video Interview
- Audio Recordings - Scroll to the hyperlink "audio interviews" in final paragraph.
- Video Search - Navigate to "Advanced Search" in upper right of the homepage. Filter search by Document Type: Video
- Presidential Recordings Program This link opens in a new windowThis site is a research website dedicated to the presidential recordings with highlights of conversations, recent news, and relevant research material. The site is hosted and maintained by the Presidential Recordings Program at the University of Virginia's Miller Center of Public Affairs.
- Visual History Archive This link opens in a new windowThe USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other crimes against humanity. History is preserved as told by the people who lived it, with each testimony offering unique insight and knowledge. The vast majority of the testimonies contain a complete personal history of life before, during, and after the interviewee’s firsthand experience with genocide.
News Sources
- Hispanic Life in America Series 1-3 This link opens in a new windowHLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science and technology, and society and culture.
- ProQuest Newstand VideoU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Search for videos from a wide range of national news publications.
- TIME Video"Insightful, informative, powerful stories about our world."
- Washington Post This link opens in a new windowThe Washington Post is a recognized news organizations that is a diversified media company whose principal operations include newspaper and magazine publishing, television broadcasting, cable television systems, electronic information services, test preparation and educational and career services.