Build Your Vocabulary
Looking for More?
Please keep in mind that there are more specialized dictionaries to be found in our catalog. Once there, type in your interest or field of study followed by the word "dictionary."
For instance, if you are looking for a slang dictionary, type "slang dictionary" in the search box. You will then see a results list containing that type of resource.
Dictionaries
A dictionary is a book or electronic resource that lists the words of a language and explains their meaning, or gives equivalent words in a different language, usually providing information about pronunciation, origin and usage. A thesaurus lists words in groups of synonyms and related concepts.
Below, you'll find a wealth of dictionaries and thesauri that are either free to use, or provided via Wayne State University (using your access ID and password) to aid in your coursework, research and personal enrichment.
English Language Dictionaries (Access ID & Password Required)
- Oxford English DictionaryThe definitive record of the English language, continually updated.
- Oxford Reference OnlineOxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
English Language Dictionaries (Free Online Resources)
- Collins DictionaryCollins online Unabridged English Dictionary draws on Collins extensive language databases, and provides resources in a host of languages, including Spanish, French and German.
- Merriam-WebsterMerriam-Webster provides a high-level of accuracy and scholarship in defining word meanings.
- Macmillan DictionaryFind meanings, pronunciations, synonyms, collocations, idioms as well as images, videos and sound effects.
- Cambridge DictionaryGet clear definitions and audio pronunciations of words, phrases, and idioms in British and American English, as well as translation, grammar and thesaurus resources.
- The Free DictionarySelf-described as the world's most comprehensive dictionary (in a host of languages), it also contains medical, legal and financial dictionaries, resources for acronyms, idioms, grammar, and an encylopedia.
Specialized Dictionaries (Access ID & Password May Be Required)
Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins by ISBN: 9780192639370Publication Date: 2021Newly updated to incorporate recent additions to the English language, the Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins provides a fascinating exploration of the origins and development of over 3,000 words in the English language.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by ISBN: 9780192584052Publication Date: 2021With over 4,000 entries, this informative A to Z provides clear, jargon-free definitions on a wide variety of mathematical terms. Its entries cover both pure and applied mathematics, and include key theories, concepts, methods, programmes, people, and terminology.
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by ISBN: 9781954622012Publication Date: 2021-08-24Created by an unparalleled board of experts led by renowned ASL linguist and poet Clayton Valli, The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language contains over 3,000 illustrations. Each sign illustration, including depictions of fingerspelling when appropriate, incorporates a complete list of English synonyms.
Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement by ISBN: 9781538119600Publication Date: 2020The second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 300 cross-referenced on green movements, green politics, green trends, and major environmental agreements and events. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the green movement.
- APA Dictionary of PsychologyMore than 25,000 authoratative entries across 90 subfields of psychology
- Black's Law DictionaryThe Law Dictionary is your free online legal dictionary featuring Black’s Law Dictionary, the trusted source of law definitions and terms for over 100 years. The 2nd edition has over 15,000 legal terms for your business and research use.
- Medical Dictionary of Health TermsLearn a wealth of various medical terms from Harvard Health Publishing, a trusted consumer health education division of Harvard Medical School.
Specialized Thesauri (Access ID & Password Required)
Clinician's Thesaurus, 8th Edition by ISBN: 9781462538829Publication Date: 2019-03-20Hundreds of thousands of students and early-career professionals have relied on this authoritative report-writing tool, now updated for DSM-5/ICD-10-CM and newer types of evaluations.
A Thesaurus of English Word Roots by ISBN: 9781442233263Publication Date: 2014Horace G. Danner's A Thesaurus of English Word Roots is a compendium of the most-used word roots of the English language.
General Thesauri (Free Online Resources)
- Roget’s International Thesaurus (bartleby.com)Mawson’s modernization of Roget’s classic structure with over 85,000 hyperlinked cross-references and 2,900 quotations.
- Merriam-Webster ThesaurusSearch more than 275,000 synonyms, antonyms, related words, and idiomatic phrases. Find concise definitions pinpointing the meaning shared by synonyms, and sample sentences showing how words are used in context.