In The 12 Attributes of Extraordinary Media Professionals, Roger Cooper shows young professionals that while personal attributes are essential to success, building these soft skills is a dynamic process that can be just as enjoyable as it is rewarding.

From talent to tax tips and everything in between, the book covers the highs, lows, and gamut of complexities of the music business in a readable, friendly, and conversational tone.

Filled with essential advice and highlighting pitfalls to avoid, Acting Professionally gives a clear understanding of how acting careers are built and sustained.

Ferguson's Careers in Focus books are a valuable career exploration tool for libraries and career centers. Written in an easy-to-understand yet informative style, this series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs and is arranged into volumes organized by specific industries and interests.

In recent years, animation has become more popular than ever, including the wide array of cartoons for both children and adults, the continued popularity of anime, and the technical wizardry of computer-generated animations from studios such as Pixar and Illumination. Those looking to enter this field have many career options from which to choose, including the animation itself, as well as script-writing, directing, voice-acting, marketing, and tie-in product development.

Using insights drawn from the experiences of professional linguists working in a range of domains, this book is an essential resource to help you recognize the value and relevance of your skills and training as a linguist in the job market. No matter where you are in your career - just starting a first job or reflecting back on 30 years - this book provides an interpretive frame for catalyzing momentum around what comes next.

As the complexity of our world increases exponentially, there is need for preachers to understand their identities and roles in this new reality and to navigate the landscape of the new challenges facing the contemporary church. Blayne Banting offers seasoned reflections on how contemporary preachers can build upon what cannot change in ways that frees them to practice their ministries creatively in ways which must change.

Employability is at the front of all our minds when studying for a degree, but it can be hard to find resources that offer thorough guidance in finding placements and job opportunities.  This textbook offers you a step-by-step guide to careers in the media industry.  Drawing on their own extensive teaching experience, the authors ask you questions in every chapter to help you practise your critical thinking skills.  They offer specific exercises to help you develop a portfolio, CV, social media profiles and interview skills.

This book is the perfect career-building handbook for those entering the marketing communications professions. It provides practical guidance and easy-to-use motivational steps to help advertising, public relations, and digital marketing students and grads chart their own path to overcome insecurities and job-hunting roadblocks, putting their best foot forward starting now.

Many children dream of becoming great explorers, discovering ancient artefacts and lost civilizations. Few will become a real-life Indiana Jones, but there is no shortage of interesting career paths in the fields of archaeology and museum services, and related areas, to which these inquisitive minds can aspire. Some of these include: anthropologist, archeologist, archivist, curator, geoscientist, historian, museum worker, and sociologist. This book provides detailed and need-to-know information on various careers in the fields of archeology, museum service, and adjacent occupations.

Written in a conversational, candid tone, Careers in Library and Information Services collects first-hand accounts from workers who have earned a master's of library science degree to help new LIS graduates understand their career options.

Welcome to the childcare field! If you are interested in a career as a childcare professionals, you've come to the right book. What exactly do these people do on the job every day? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more.

Offering veteran insight and friendly, actionable advice from two self-made women who manage three six-figure businesses, this practical handbook acts as a roadmap to guide anyone wanting to build a profitable venture out of their creative passion.

Esports is one of the fastest growing industries to work in. People who work in esports combine their love of video games with skills in coding, leadership, and communications. From streamers to shoutcasters, meet the people who make esports possible.

Navigating research careers is often highly challenging for early career researchers (ECRs) in the social sciences. The ability to thrive in research careers is complex and requires "soft" people and management skills and resilience that often cannot be formally taught through university coursework.

How are the human and institutional systems fundamental to succeeding in academia? In graduate school we are trained how to be scholars, and maybe how to be effective teachers. But there is much more to being a college or university faculty member--and most of it is left to figure out on one's own. This job isn't hard because the core scholarship is hard, but because of the complex mix of activities that scholars must figure out how to juggle. These are dominated by human and institutional structures within departments, universities, societies, and professional communities. Succeeding and thriving as an academic calls for developing wider, "non-academic" insights and skills into how these operate and how to operate effectively with, and within, them. Functioning as an academic is about the relationships we develop with our communities of students, campus colleagues, professional peers, and our university administrative and support staff--the people who enable faculty members to function.

This book examines how the pathways an ecologist follows in charting a career can be directed by various factors: one's interests, opportunities that arise, the culture of a science, the influence of key people, life's practicalities, and serendipity. It illustrates why ecologists ask the questions they do and what they do when the answers are not what they expected. It shows how the process of science actually works.

Building a Career in Cybersecurity doesn't teach detailed technical skills you can get from a thousand books and videos. Instead, Yuri Diogenes focuses on make-or-break knowledge you won't find elsewhere: personal strategy, planning, process, mindset, and the critical "soft skills" today's employers are desperate to find.

This practical guide showcases alternative career opportunities for life science researchers beyond academia. Written by active professionals with hands-on experience, the book provides a comprehensive overview of non-academic roles and the many career paths available. In our life science education, many of us undergo classical academic training, preparing to perform university research.

Provides an introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested in cybersecurity, including computer network architect, computer programmer, forensic science technician, police officer, software developer, and more.

Careers in Food Science provides detailed guidelines for students and new employees in the food industry to ensure a successful start to their career. Every step towards a rewarding career in this rapidly evolving industry is covered, from which classes to take in college and which degrees to earn, to internships, and finally how to land, and keep, the first job.

Careers in Tech, Data and Digital provides an overview of how the tech sector works, so you can see how the different roles fit in. Written in an accessible manner, Careers in Tech, Data and Digital provides summaries and case studies for a wide variety of roles. Whatever your skills and interests, this book helps you understand the types of role available and identify a role for you, in areas you may not have previously heard of or considered.

The employability of a STEM PhD rises if the candidate has mastered communication skills, both writing and speaking; has multidisciplinary expertise; and develops a capacity to up-skill regularly to stay ahead of the emerging digital technologies.

As artificial intelligence, or AI, transforms today's workplace, the technology promises to provide lots of career opportunities. Teens should begin learning the basics of AI in high school and by taking online courses. Exploring Careers in AI explains how expertise in generative AI and Large Language Models can lead to success in the employment marketplace.

Today s PhDs need tools not only for completing their programs successfully, but for positioning themselves in a varied and competitive job market. How to Make Your PhD Work meets this need, with concrete, empowering advice that takes account of modern job market challenges and opportunities. It cuts through widespread misconceptions about STEM careers and funding, offers tips for navigating difficult degree programs, and supplies current or prospective PhDs with the tools to radically transform their post-degree career prospects.

At some point in your career, you'll realize there's more to being a software engineer than dealing with code. Is it time to become a manager? Or join a startup? In this insightful and entertaining book, Michael Lopp recalls his own make-or-break moments with Silicon Valley giants such as Apple, Slack, Pinterest, Palantir, Netscape, and Symantec to help you make better, more mindful career decisions.

An array of exciting career paths is open to those with STEM qualifications. This clear, concise handbook offers invaluable advice and practical guidance for students considering a career in STEM. It will help them weigh up their options and arm them with the tools they need to successfully navigate their way to a fulfilling career.

This books has an emphasis on success in context and how women can thrive in today's clinical research environment. In this new edition, Women Rock Science incorporates promoting inclusivity of gender diverse persons, working in the hybrid world since the COVID-19 pandemic, and the value of diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI), with lessons learned from other women scientists, throughout the book. This book provides key strategies and skills around a central conceptual model as well as a sense of community with other women scientists.

This book offers a comprehensive guide for freelancers in the writing industry, focusing on visioning, planning, and growing their business. It provides practical advice on topics such as business basics, pitching to clients, collaborating with editors, productivity, pricing, marketing, and adapting to the evolving freelance landscape, including the impact of AI.

Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Healthcare explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available and to help those make a better-informed decisions when selecting a career path or field of study.

Developing your interpersonal skills and establishing your "brand" as a professional early in your academic career will directly affect your future success. With its unique "worktext" format, CAREER SUCCESS IN HEALTH CARE: PROFESSIONALISM IN ACTION, 3e helps you sharpen your interpersonal skills to showcase yourself as a top-performing student as well as a top-quality job candidate.

In The Global Health Career,Sharon K. Rudy provides an indispensable resource for anyone passionate about making a difference in the field of international public health. Having helped hundreds of global health professionals establish, grow, and transition their careers, Rudy combines stories, observations, and professional expertise to offer a comprehensive guide to navigating the complex and rewarding field of global health.

This valuable guide provides an introduction to the basic health care environment and a preview of various popular health careers designed to help students make informed choices based on their interest and their commitment to the educational and professional responsibilities of each health career. It gives students a realistic glimpse of various health careers available today, outlining the roles and responsibilities, levels of education and credentialing, daily functions, and key disorders and assessment tools that are involved.

This book increases undergraduate and graduate students' awareness of, interest in, and preparedness for academic health professions careers. It includes invaluable chapters that emphasize the importance of developing self-efficacy, knowledge, skills, and experiences not just for their resume but to build a foundation to strengthen students for the rest of their professional careers.

50 Unconventional Clinical Careers for Physicians provides a comprehensive overview of alternative paths in medicine and covers everything from why a physician may want to consider an unconventional career to how to transition to an unconventional clinical practice.