Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Web Sites

The is the subject guide for Philosophy

Need Help?

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094

Send email to Alexandra Sarkozy, philosophy liaison

Web Sites of Interest

The American Philosophical Association

This site offers a wealth of information on the APA itself as well as on opportunities and resources for philosophers.

EpistemeLinks: Philosophy Resources on the Internet

EpistemeLinks includes over 19,000 categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet and has several additional features. Online since early 1997, this site is free to use, and doesn't require user registration of any kind. Begin browsing the site by using the Philosophers or Topics links below, or by using the link category or special feature links below. See also the Custom Search Engines for philosophy.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: A Peer-Reviewed Academic Resource

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the staff, which consists of editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers.

Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author’s name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or “proto articles,” and have largely been adapted from older sources. They are identifiable by the inclusion of the initials “IEP” at the close and will in time be replaced by original articles.

Philosophy Bites

David Edmonds (co-author of Wittengenstein's Poker) and Nigel Warburton (author of Philosophy: The Basics) interview prominent philosophers on a wide range of topics in weekly podcasts. The site also provides a link to Ethics Bites, Edmonds and Warburton's fourteen-part series, which the Open University/BBC commissioned in 2008.  A wide range of contemporary moral questions are addressed in that series, including climate change and future generations, animal rights, euthanasia, corporate responsibility, perversion, plagiarism, in-vitro fertilization and art, pornography, censorship and free speech.

Philosophy News

Philosophy News is a blog dedicated to provide general updates on recent happenings in philosophy and provide commentary on philosophy events, positions, books, and ideas. It is edited by Paul Pardi who has a graduate degree in philosophy and teaches at local colleges and universities Also visit forums.philosophynews.com to discuss philosophy or any topics seen here.

PhilPapers

"PhilPapers uses advanced trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. Our index currently includes 1,104,853 research books and articles. Over 5,000 individuals have contributed content to our index."

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of the SEP's distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Thus, this dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. Researchers can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the SEP Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

TPM: The Philosopher's Magazine

Founded in 1997, TPM: The Philosophers’ Magazine is an independent quarterly, devoted to presenting top-class philosophy in an accessible and entertaining format. It regularly includes interviews with leading philosophers as diverse as Simon Blackburn, Daniel Dennett, Michael Dummett, Luce Irigaray, Hilary Putnam, T.M. Scanlon, John Searle, Peter Singer and Slavoj Žižek. The magazine also includes news, essays, reviews, features and regular columnists. TPM is edited by the writer and journalist Julian Baggini, while its sister website, TPM Online, is edited by Jeremy Stangroom.

Updated every weekday, this website features selected articles from the magazine, past and present, as well as some web exclusives.

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Alexandra Sarkozy
Contact:
Purdy-Kresge Library

313/577-8672
Subjects: History, Nursing, Religion