"AllAfrica Global Media is a multi-media content service provider, systems technology developer and the largest electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide. Registered in Mauritius, with offices in Johannesburg, Dakar, Lagos and Washington, D.C., AllAfrica is one of a family of companies that aggregate, produce and distribute news from across Africa to tens of millions of end users."

AEI is a center-right think tank based in Washington, D.C., that researches government, politics, economics, and social welfare.[3][4] AEI is an independent nonprofit organization supported primarily by contributions from foundations, corporations, and individuals. (Wikipedia)

Web site for the leading professional Political Science organization.

The American Presidency Project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The archives contain 87,531 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

"Since 1939, the American Society for Public Administration has been the nation's most respected society representing all forums in the public service arena. They are advocates for greater effectiveness in government."

The Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania was founded in 1993. "The Center's researchers have drafted materials that helped policy-makers, journalists, scholars, constituent groups and the general public better understand the role that media play in their lives and the life of the nation."

"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals: strengthen American democracy, foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system." It describes itself as nonpartisan.

"The Center for Public Integrity was founded in 1989 by Charles Lewis. [It is] one of the country's oldest and largest nonpartisan, nonprofit investigative news organizations. [The] mission [is to] serve democracy by revealing abuses of power, corruption and betrayal of public trust by powerful public and private institutions, using the tools of investigative journalism."

Published by Cable News Network, Inc. and Time, Inc. New Media, this site provides information on current political issues, election campaigns and candidates.

"Common Cause is a nonpartisan, nonprofit advocacy organization founded in 1970 by John Gardner as a vehicle for citizens to make their voices heard in the political process and to hold their elected leaders accountable to the public interest. Common Cause is dedicated to restoring the core values of American democracy, reinventing an open, honest and accountable government that serves the public interest, and empowering ordinary people to make their voices heard in the political process."

"Constitute was developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project. It was seeded with a grant from Google Ideas to the University of Texas at Austin, with additional financial support from the Indigo Trust and IC2. Engineering and web-design support are provided by Psycle and the Miranker Lab at the University of Texas. The following organizations have made important investments in the Comparative Constitutions Project since 2005: the National Science Foundation (SES 0648288), the Cline Center for Democracy, the University of Texas, the University of Chicago, and the Constitution Unit at University College London."

Presented by the National Archives as "The Charters of Freedom - A New World is at Hand." Select the document in which you have interest!

"The Council on Foreign Relations is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries."

From the Washington Post

"FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania...that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics... [by] monitor[ing] the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases."

"GovLeaders.org is a free online resource designed to help government managers cultivate a more effective and motivated public sector workforce."

H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web.

"Founded in 1973, The Heritage Foundation is a research and educational institution—a think tank—whose mission is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense." The Heritage Foundation is described as an activist conservative thinktank (Wikipedia)

Hisrtory News Network is a non-profit corporation, open to people of all political persuasions.

"The overall mission of this Institution is to recall the voice of experience against the making of war, and by the study of these records and their publication, to recall man's endeavors to make and preserve peace, and to sustain for America the safeguards of the American way of life...But with these purposes as its goal, the Institution itself must constantly and dynamically point the road to peace, to personal freedom and to the safeguards of the American system"

"The Institute for Public Policy and Social Research (IPPSR) at Michigan State University, applies research to pressing public policy issues and builds problem-solving relationships between the academic and policymaker communities.

The Institution for Social and Policy Studies was established in 1968 at Yale University. "[It] advances interdisciplinary research in the social studies that aims to shape public policy and inform democratic deliberations."

"The International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (International IDEA) is an intergovernmental organization that supports sustainable democracy worldwide. International IDEA’s mission is to support sustainable democratic change by providing comparative knowledge, and assisting in democratic reform, and influencing policies and politics."

"Established in 1951, IOM is the leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration and works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners. With 127 member states, a further 17 states holding observer status and offices in over 100 countries, IOM is dedicated to promoting humane and orderly migration for the benefit of all. It does so by providing services and advice to governments and migrants."

IssueLab is a service of the Foundation Center. "[It] works to more effectively gather, index, and share the collective intelligence of the social sector. [It] provide[s] free access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems."

"The Digital Archives provides access to a growing collection of searchable digitized historical documents, images and materials. Archivists at the JFK Library are working to digitize and make available to the public all of our archival and museum holdings, beginning with the papers of President John F. Kennedy and his administration."

"LegiStorm launched in September 2006. Our web site is dedicated to providing a variety of important information about the US Congress. Based on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC, LegiStorm's first information product was a database of congressional staff salaries but we have now added other valuable information, such as the most comprehensive database of all privately financed trips taken by members of Congress and congressional staffers."

"Media Matters for America is a Web-based, not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) progressive research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation in the U.S. media."

The Middle East Institute of Columbia University, founded in 1954, has helped to set the national pace in developing an interdisciplinary approach to the study of the Middle East from the rise of Islam to the present, with a primary focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Fostering an inter-regional and multi-disciplinary approach to the region, the Institute focuses on the Arab countries, Armenia, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Central Asia, and Muslim Diaspora communities.

"The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2012 is an online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired." Use the "Commercials" link in the red box on the upper left-hand side of the screen to view the commercials.

"Established in 1967 and chartered by Congress, the National Academy of Public Administration is a non-profit, independent coalition of top public management and organizational leaders...The National Academy is committed to the improvement of the management of government."

The National Coalition for the Homeless is a national network of people who are currently experiencing or who have experienced homelessness, activists and advocates, community-based and faith-based service providers, and others committed to a single mission. That mission, our common bond, is to end homelessness.

"NCSL, founded in 1975, represents the legislatures in the states, territories and commonwealths of the U.S. Its mission is to advance the effectiveness, independence and integrity of legislatures and to foster interstate cooperation and facilitate the exchange of information among legislatures."

"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues."

"PolicyArchive is [a]...digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research...[It] collect[s] and disseminate[s] summaries and full-texts, videos, reports, briefs and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research."

From Wake Forest University

Political journalism organization based out of Arlington Virginia. Has been accused in the past of a Republican Party bias.

"PolitiFact is a project of the Tampa Bay Times to help you find the truth in American politics. Reporters and editors from the Times fact-check statements by members of Congress, the White House, lobbyists and interest groups and rate them on our Truth-O-Meter"

PresidentialRhetoric.com provides news, information, and resources for those interested in the study of the presidency from a rhetorical perspective. This is an archived site; information stops in 2014.

The Public Administration Theory Network (PAT-Net) is an international network of professionals concerned with the advancement of public administration theory. The Network publishes the quarterly journal Administrative Theory & Praxis (ATP). PAT-Net was started in 1978 by a group of scholars in U.S. public administration who were seeking an alternative venue to develop and talk about their ideas."

"The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision making through research and analysis.RAND focuses on the issues that matter most such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more. As a nonpartisan organization, RAND is widely respected for operating independent of political and commercial pressures."

"Real Clear Politics is a nonpartisan aggregator of political content gathered from hundreds of newspapers, magazines and select blogs across the country and around the world."

This website is created by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). It provides information on world wide education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture and communication and information themes.

"The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. There are 1,298 cities in the country today. Each city is represented in the Conference by its chief elected official, the mayor. The mission is to promote the development of effective national urban/suburban policy, strengthen federal-city relationships, ensure that federal policy meets urban needs, provide mayors with leadership and management tools, and to share information."

HUD's mission is to increase homeownership, support community development and increase access to affordable housing free from discrimination.

A-Z list of countries and other areas.

The Department of State is the lead institution for the conduct of American diplomacy and the Secretary of State is the President’s principal foreign policy advisor.

"[T]he official handbook of the Federal Government...providing comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution."

Urban Farming intends to eradicate hunger while increasing diversity, motivating youth and seniors and optimizing the production of unused land for good and alternative energy.

Project Vote Smart (PVS) is a non-partisan organization. It supports no candidates and embraces no political philosophy. It collects information on where United States candidates for office stand on a wide variety of issues and attempts to make that information readily available to the public.

The CIA publishes and updates the online directory of World Leaders and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments weekly.

The Center for Michigan is a “think-and-do” tank founded by Phil Power in early 2006. A 501(c)3 tax exempt nonprofit organization, The Center’s objective is to cure our unhealthy hyper-partisan political culture and reinvigorate our broken policy apparatus by calling forth a bottom-up, common ground citizens’ agenda for Michigan’s transformation.

"For over 90 years, the objective of the Citizens Research Council of Michigan has been to provide factual, unbiased independent information on significant issues concerning state and local government organization and finance. CRC believes that the use of this information by policymakers will lead to sound, rational public policy in Michigan."

"Common Cause is a nonpartisan, nonprofit advocacy organization founded in 1970 by John Gardner as a vehicle for citizens to make their voices heard in the political process and to hold their elected leaders accountable to the public interest. Common Cause is dedicated to restoring the core values of American democracy, reinventing an open, honest and accountable government that serves the public interest, and empowering ordinary people to make their voices heard in the political process."

"The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan organization established in 1920 to encourage citizen participation in government. It never supports or opposes any political party or candidate but does advocate on selected issues. Membership in the League of Women Voters is open to anyone who supports the principles and purpose of the organization.

"The Mackinac Center for Public Policy is a nonpartisan research and educational institute dedicated to improving the quality of life for all Michigan citizens by promoting sound solutions to state and local policy questions. The Mackinac Center assists policy makers, scholars, business people, the media and the public by providing objective analysis of Michigan issues." Strongly conservative.

"The Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) touches, assists and helps grow thousands of Michigan businesses each year. As a public corporation created through an interlocal agreement between state and local governments, the MEDC is a liaison with local communities and agencies across the state. It is guided by a board comprised of members who represent a cross section of the state economy, business owners and executives, local economic developers and college presidents."

"The Michigan Association of Counties (MAC) was formed in 1898 to advocate for the interests of Michigan's county governments." Site doesn't seem to have timely updates, but clicking on "The Counties" tab will let you select a Michigan county from a map, which will then take you to that county's website!

"The Michigan Campaign Finance Network is a nonpartisan, nonprofit coalition of organizations and individuals concerned about the influence of money in politics and the need for campaign finance reform in Michigan. MCFN conducts research on campaign contributions and their relationship to election outcomes and issues of public policy, supports access to campaign finance information and develops educational initiatives for the public on the subject of campaign finance reform."

Michigan Future [is] a non-partisan, non-profit organization. Michigan Future’s mission is to be a source of new ideas on how Michigan can succeed as a world class community in a knowledge-driven economy. Its work is funded by Michigan foundations.

"Established in 1938, the Michigan Government Finance Officers Association (MGFOA) is a professional association of public officials and finance professionals, striving to promote excellence in government finance. Public Sector members are practitioners in all areas of finance in state and local government. Associate members are CPA's, bankers, brokers, consultants, lawyers, educators and others concerned with local government finance and committed to promoting the objectives of MGFOA."

1997-Present Digitized Journals of the State Of Michigan House of Representatives and the State of Michigan Senate

"House Television airs coverage of the Michigan House of Representatives Session as well as select committee meetings to the public on the World Wide Web. These legislative sessions and hearings are presented live or tape-delayed, are unedited and presented without editorial comment."

The mission of the Michigan League for Public Policy is "to foster economic opportunity, independence and security of Michigan’s economically vulnerable population by shaping public policy through objective data-driven research, education and advocacy...The roots of the Michigan League for Public Policy, formerly the Michigan League for Human Services, date back to 1912 when it was the Michigan Conference of Charities and Corrections."

"The Legislative Council is a bipartisan, bicameral body of legislators established in Article IV, Section 15 of the Constitution of Michigan. The Speaker of the House and the Senate Majority Leader each appoint six members of their chamber, at least two of each body must be members of the minority party, and three alternates each. The Legislative Council's operations include providing bill drafting, research, and other services to the members of the legislature."

The Michigan Legislature Website is a free service of the Legislative Service Bureau in cooperation with the Michigan Legislative Council, the Michigan House of Representatives, and the Michigan Senate.

1961-62 to present

"The Michigan Municipal League is the one clear voice for Michigan communities. Through advocacy at the state and federal level, we proactively represent municipalities to help them sustain highly livable, desirable, and unique places within the state. "

"Senate sessions and select committee meetings are available to the public. These Legislative sessions and hearings are presented live, are unedited and presented without editorial comment." This site has moved to the main page for the Michigan Senate.

Part of the Center for Michigan (See Above). Tries to find out the truth in political advertisement and statements made in Michigan.

"Michigan Votes gives users instant access to concise, plain language and objective descriptions of every single bill, amendment, and vote that takes place in the Michigan legislature. Unlike any other bill tracking utility, Michigan Votes, is unique because all legislative actions are described - not just those selected by a particular interest group. It is searchable by legislator, keyword, and 50 subject categories, so users can create their own custom "voting record guide.""

Official State of Michigan website

View and analyze data provided by a variety of Michigan state agencies in one easy to view catalog. Create charts and graphs, filter and summarize data, and develop maps with the open data.

Vote.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, nonpartisan voting registration and get-out-the-vote (GOTV) platform. Includes voter registration, ballot language, polling locations and more.

"Progress Michigan is a[n] ...organization...to provide a strong credible voice that holds public officials and government accountable, assists in the promotion of progressive ideas and uses state-of-the-art web based new media to creatively build grassroots support for progressive ideas...[It] work[s] year round to challenge conservative propaganda in the media and make sure that progressive perspectives are heard."

"Pure Michigan" is part of the Michigan Economic Development Corporation. (See Above)

Search engine from the Library of Michigan to provide access to unique historical information that promotes Michigan's cultural heritage.

"SEMCOG, the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments, is the only organization in Southeast Michigan that brings together all of the region’s governments to solve regional challenges."

The Michigan Legislature Website is a free service of the Legislative Internet Technology Team in cooperation with the Michigan Legislative Council, the Michigan House of Representatives, and the Michigan Senate. The information obtained from this site is not intended to replace official versions of that information and is subject to revision. The Legislature presents this information, without warranties, express or implied, regarding the accuracy of the information, timeliness, or completeness

"The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan organization established in 1920 to encourage citizen participation in government. It never supports or opposes any political party or candidate but does advocate on selected issues. Membership in the League of Women Voters is open to anyone who supports the principles and purpose of the organization.

"The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation."

"The League of Women Voters is a citizens’ organization that has fought since 1920 to improve our government and engage all citizens in the decisions that impact their lives. We operate at national, state and local levels through more than 800 state and local Leagues, in all 50 states as well in DC, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and Hong Kong."

"The NWPC is a multi-partisan, multi-racial grassroots organization with chapters in 38 states. State members have input into Caucus endorsement and policy decisions through their elected state representatives. Local and state caucuses hold regular public meetings, policy forums and endorse candidates locally. The NWPC was the first, and remains the only multi-partisan, membership organization that supports pro-choice women candidates for elected and appointed office."

"VoteRunLead is a national, nonpartisan organization that unleashes the power of women leaders in democracy through training, technology and community. We aim for large-scale impact on women’s community and political leadership never before seen in the United States."

Biographical profiles of former women Members of Congress, Essays on the institutional and national events that shaped successive generations of Congresswomen, and images of each woman Member, including rare photos.

Historical information on women senators from the United States Senate.

"TCSYale endeavors to increase the number and influence of women in elected and appointed office in the United States and around the globe. We are a nonpartisan, issue-neutral political campaign-training program."