Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professional Associations and Organizations
Apparel & Fashion Societies & Associations
An extensive International Directory of associations. Includes contact information and links to association web sites.
Council of Fashion Designers of America
The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc, (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association that leads industry-wide initiatives and whose membership consists of more than 400 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry, and accessory designers.
Costume Designers Guild
This Guild represents COSTUME DESIGNERS, ASSISTANT COSTUME DESIGNERS and COSTUME ILLUSTRATORS working at the highest levels of skill and expertise in motion pictures, television and commercials
The Fashion Group International
The Fashion Group International is a global, non-profit, professional organization with 5000 members in the fashion industry including apparel, accessories, beauty and home.
Fashion Web Sites
Fashion Gone Rogue
Includes an index for Labels, Models, Photographers, and Stylists.
Includes slide shows of the latest runway collections.
Online fashion retailer and fashion magazine, all in one.
Doesn't require a subscription.
New York Magazine: Fashions
Covers fashion news and trends
Includes links to selected runway shows.
Search for or browse by designers, brands, models, personalities, and beauty
Case Studies and Qualitative Research
Costume Web Sites
Costume Society of America
"The Costume Society of America advances the global understanding of all aspects of dress and appearance. We value five major purposes: 1) To stimulate scholarship and encourage study in the rich and diverse field of costume. 2)To disseminate information on dress and appearance. 3)To raise the profile and credibility of the field of costume. 4)To network among our members and with other people and organizations having costume interests. 5)To manage and govern the organization to serve the member
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Costume Institute
"The Costume Institute houses a collection of more than thirty-five thousand costumes and accessories spanning five continents and as many centuries...The Costume Institute began as the Museum of Costume Art, an independent entity formed in 1937 and led by Neighborhood Playhouse founder Irene Lewisohn. In 1946, with the financial support of the fashion industry, the Museum of Costume Art merged with The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
The Costumer's Manifesto
For all things related to Costume, including links to pattern companies,resources for historic and vintage patterns, unusual and hard to find patterns,computer generated patterns, etc., measurement charts and conversion tables.
Museum Collections and Exhibitions
Bata Shoe Museum, Toronto
"The Museum celebrates the style and function of footwear in four impressive galleries. Footwear on display ranges from Chinese bound foot shoes and ancient Egyptian sandals to chestnut-crushing clogs and glamourous platforms." from website
The Museum at FIT
"The Museum at FIT, accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, is one of a select group of specialized fashion museums, including the Musée de la Mode, the Mode Museum, and the Museo de la Moda" from website
Philadelphia Museum of Art - Costume and Textiles Collection
"Comprised of some 30,000 objects, the Museum's collection of Costume and Textiles is one of the oldest and largest in the country." from website
The Textile Museum
"The Textile Museum expands public knowledge and appreciation—locally, nationally, and internationally—of the artistic merits and cultural importance of the world’s textiles." from website
Black Fashion Museum Collection at NMAAHC
"The Black Fashion Museum Collection comprises more than 700 garments, 300 accessories, and 60 boxes of archival material collected by Alexander-Lane throughout her life." from website
The Fashion Museum
"The Fashion Museum is one of the world’s great museum collections of historic and fashionable dress. Designated as a collection of outstanding national significance, the Fashion Museum was recently listed by CNN as one of the world’s Top 10 fashion museums." from website