Research Guides: Fashion Design & Merchandising: Images

History of Costume Digital Collections

History of Costume Images in the Visual Resources Collection at WSU
0ver 1,200 digital images are included in this collection, originally created as slides, from Slides Presentations Publishers.
Digital Dress: 200 Years of Urban Style
The collections include images from the following Detroit area historical agencies:
--Detroit Historical Museum Historic Costume Collection
--Meadow Brook Hall Historic Costume Collection
--The Henry Ford Historic Costume Collection
PLEASE NOTE: Digital Dress collections are visible only via FIREFOX, or CHROME browsers, or earlier versions of INTERNET EXPLORER (release 10 and above are not compatible).
Dorothea June Grossbart Historic Costume Collection
The digital collection includes approximately 400 garments and accessories from the 19th and 20th centuries, which are owned by the Fashion Design and Merchandising area in the Department of Art and Art History at Wayne State.
PLEASE NOTE: The collection is only visible via FIREFOX or CHROME browsers, or earlier versions of INTERNET EXPLORER (release 9 or below).

Licensed Image Databases

WSU Visual Resources Collections
Search "All Collections" with the keywords "fashion" or "costume" and retrieve over 4,000 images. Includes 129 images from the Pratt Institute Fashion Plate Collection.

The WSU Visual Resources Collection includes over 200,000 images relevant to the study of art, architecture, history, literature, anthropology, science and more. Powered by Luna software, the collection gives users the ability to create and save presentations and slideshows for classroom use, embed images and presentations in Blackboard, and search images from the popular photo-sharing site Flickr.

Images on the Web

Andre Fashion Studios: 1930-1941
New York Public Library and the Fashion Institute of Technology collaborated on this digitization project. Brings together thousands of fashion drawings and sketches from both collections. Primary focus is on children's clothing and women's coats and suits.
The Fashion Museum
Located in Bath, England, the museum features a world class collection of contemporary and historical dress.
View the list of Collections, or use the Search window at the top of the home page.
Flickr: The Commons
Includes thousands of fashion and costume images from public photo collections contributed by participating institutions.
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Costume Institute
A searchable database of materials from the permanent collection. An individual database record includes information about an object as well as images, when available. Not all items are available in the Collection Database.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
A delightful site, includes approximately 20,000 images of fashion, costume, clothing and dress, digitized from primary sources and printed items in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, etc.
Smithsonian Institution Collections Center
Includes over 2 million records with 265,900 images, video and sound files, e journals and other resources. There are over 26,000 images related to "Clothing and Dress."
Victoria and Albert Museum: Fashion, Jewelry and Accessories
The collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centres of Europe. The V&A collections also include accessories such as jewellery, gloves and handbags.
The database is searchable. Not all items include images, but results can be limited to items with images only.

Featured Online Collection

Zandra Rhodes Digital Study Collection
Introduced in March 2013, this database includes a selection of 500 of Rhodes' couture dresses and garments from the 1960s to the present, including pieces worn by a number of fashion icons. Also includes drawings, production and design techniques used by the designer, and her sources of inspiration.

Video

Style.com Video

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Fashion Design & Merchandising: Images

History of Costume Digital Collections

Licensed Image Databases

Images on the Web

Featured Online Collection

Video

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Community

Sign In

Fashion Design & Merchandising: Images

History of Costume Digital Collections

Licensed Image Databases

Images on the Web

Featured Online Collection

Video

Community

Sign In