An online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

Includes more than 2 million entries. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States

Full text access to articles in over 300 quality journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Includes the following theatre journals: Comparative Drama,Modern Drama, Shakespeare Bulletin, TDR:The Drama Review, Theater, Theatre Journal, Theatre Topics and Asian Theatre Journal.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998, provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

Access to the daily Detroit News full-text from May 23, 2006 to the November 18, 2011 via Proquest.

Current issues of major newspapers and access to historical newspapers.