ONLINE Scholarly Journals and Popular Periodicals
CLICK ON THE BLUE LINK BELOW TO ACCESS THE JOURNALS
--DATES OF COVERAGE VARY
--SOME OF THE TITLES ARE AVAILABLE IN PRINT AS WELL AS ONLINE FORMAT, CHECK THE LIBRARY CATALOG BY TITLE
-- (*) BELOW INDICATES A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL
- Journals (A - F)Afterimage
American Cinematographer
American Film
Animation Magazine
Art du cinema
Black Film Review
Bright Lights
Camera Obscura (*)
Canadian Journal of Film Studies
Cineaction! (*)
Cineaste (*)
Cinema Journal (*)
Continuum
Daily Variety
Entertainment Weekly
Film & History (*)
Film Comment (*)
Film Criticism (*)
Film Culture
Film History
Film Journal International - Journals (F - N )Film Quarterly (*)
Filmmaker
Films in Review
Framework
Historical Journal of Film, Radio & Television
Hollywood Quarterly
Hollywood Reporter
Independent Film & Video
Journal of Chinese Cinemas
Journal of Film and Video (*)
Journal of Popular Film and Television (*)
Journal of Religion and Film
Journal of the Society of Cinematologists
Jump Cut (*)
KidScreen
Lighting Dimensions
Literature Film Quarterly
Mediascape
Metro - Journals (M - W)Millimeter
Moving Image
Playback
Post Script
Quarterly Review of Film & Video
RealScreen
Science Fiction Film & Television
Scope
Screen
Sessões do imaginário
Shoot
Sight and Sound (*)
Studies in Australasian Cinema
Studies in Documentary Film
Studies in European Cinema
Studies in Hispanic Cinema
Studies in Russian & Soviet Cinema
Variety
Velvet Light Trap (*)
Video Age International
Wide Angle (*)
Wide ScreenFEATURED JOURNAL: Camera ObscuraFrom Duke University Press. The journal's primary focus is to provide a feminist perspective on film, television, and visual media. It also explores feminist work in relation to race studies, postcolonial studies, and queer studies.FEATURED JOURNAL: Film-PhilosophyThis journal is available free online. Includes archived issues.FEATURED JOURNAL: Journal of Visual CultureThe leading interdisciplinary forum for visual culture studies scholars in film, media and television studies; art, design, fashion and architecture history; cultural studies and critical theory; philosophy and aesthetics; and across the social sciences.FEATURED JOURNAL: Quarterly Review of Film & VideoPubishes critical, historical, and theoretical essays, book reviews, and interviews in the area of moving image studies including film, video, and digital imagery studies.
Search Google Scholar for Articles
Directory of Open Access Journals
- Directory of open access journals This link opens in a new windowDOAJ contains free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Where are the print journals?
Check the Library Catalog to see whether a journal is available in PRINT or ONLINE format, or BOTH.
To get to the catalog, click on this link: LIBRARY CATALOG
Print issues of journals are located in two places...
--More current issues are located on the second floor of the Kresge wing of PURDY-KRESGE LIBRARY. They are bound and arranged alphabetically by title.
--Older issues are located in STORAGE in the basement of the UNDERGRADUATE LIBRARY. You will need to request journals from Storage for delivery to a circulation desk. To get to the "REQUEST FROM STORAGE" button, click on the "EXPLORE" button in the library catalog's record for the journal.
Where are the print film indexes?
Two important film indexes are located in the BASEMENT of Purdy-Kresge Library.They are arranged by Call Number.
Some film indexes are located on the upper floors of Purdy-Kresge Library, but do not circulate outside the library.
NOTE: The first two indexes listed below are also available in ONLINE format. See "Specialized Film Databases" under the "Article Databases" tab at the top of the page.
- Variety International Film Guide: 1990-currentShelved with other Indexes in the basement of Purdy Kresge Library. Continues the "International film Guide."
Scholarly Versus Popular Articles
Connecting to Full Text Using Article Linker
Citation Linker: Finding a Specific Article
If you are looking for a specific article and you know its Title, the Publication it appeared in and other citation information, you can enter that information into our Citation Linker to see if Wayne State has a copy of it.
Where are the print film indexes?
Two important film indexes are located in the BASEMENT of Purdy-Kresge Library.They are arranged by Call Number.
Some film indexes are located on the upper floors of Purdy-Kresge Library, but do not circulate outside the library.
NOTE: The first two indexes listed below are also available in ONLINE format. See "Specialized Film Databases" under the "Article Databases" tab at the top of the page.
- International Index to Film PeriodicalsThis print index covers 1972-1999, and 2001-2008.
The Call Number is: Z5784.M9 I49 - Film Literature IndexThis author-subject periodical index covers 1973-2004.
The Call Number is Z5784.M9 F45 - Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971Located in the general stacks at Purdy-Kresge Library, this index is for library use only.
The Call Number is Z5784.M9 B39 - Variety International Film Guide: 1990-currentShelved with other Indexes in the basement of Purdy Kresge Library. Continues the "International film Guide."