Research Guides: Film Studies/Media Studies: Article Databases

Specialized Film and Television Databases

These databases are specialized resources for research in
Film and Media Studies, including Film and Television Criticism, Analysis and Reviews

FIAF international film archive database This link opens in a new window
Contains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- International index to television periodicals, 1979- List of periodicals indexed Treasures from the film archives International directory of film and TV documentation collections and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.

AFI Catalog
The AFI Catalog of Feature Films, the most authoritative filmographic database on the web, includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length films and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011. It also includes AFI AWARDS honorees from 2000 through 2014.

The AFI Catalog is a unique filmographic resource providing an unmatched level of comprehensiveness and detail on every feature-length film produced in America or financed by American production companies. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film.

General Databases

These databases cover a wide range of topics and are often a good place to start your research.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text access to back issues of 13 film studies journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The catalog record includes listings of publications covered in Lexis-Nexis.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Includes full text access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
ProQuest Multisearch This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple ProQuest databases (ABI Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, National Newspaper Abstracts, ProQuest Nursing Journals, and Research Library) simultaneously.

Indexes and Abstracts

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

Related Subject Databases

Articles on Film, Cinema or Motion Pictures can be found in a number of related subject disciplines.
Try searching the databases below to get an idea of how broadly film is covered. If you have good
results, then go to their Subject Guides for additional resources.

Here is the link to the complete list of the libraries' Subject Guides.
Try out some of the other subject disciplines as well.
https://library.wayne.edu/resources/guides/

Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals. Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.
America: history and life This link opens in a new window
The online version of America: history and life. Includes the full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in print.
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 250 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and so forth.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Some articles are available in full text, some are citations. Includes articles from numerous journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Also try PsychArticles database.

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Film Studies/Media Studies

Specialized Film and Television Databases

General Databases

Indexes and Abstracts

Related Subject Databases

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Community

Sign In

Film Studies/Media Studies

Specialized Film and Television Databases

General Databases

Indexes and Abstracts

Related Subject Databases

Community

Sign In