General Overviews of a Topic
Before you begin your research, you should get some background information about your topic, understand the vocabulary and terms used in relationship to your topic, and identify any issues or controversies associated with your topic.
- WikipediaTry wikipedia to get a quick overview of your topic. Remember, you cannot cite it as a source in your paper, but it is a good place to get an idea of vocabulary, issues and controversy on a topic.
Use with caution! Wikipedia is an open system, and information can be posted to it by anyone. Quality and reliability cannot be guaranteed. - Online Subject EncyclopediasSubject encyclopedias are a great place to get background information on your topic, and are generally more trustworthy sources than Wikipedia.
Primary Sources
A primary source is a document, speech, or other sort of evidence written, created or otherwise produced during the time under study. Primary sources offer an inside view of a particular event.
- FDsys This link opens in a new windowCongressional Documents, Presidential Documents, Budget and other documents.
- Manuscript and Archived Material: American MemoryDiaries, images, sheet music, sound recordings, manuscripts and maps.
- Manuscript and Archived Material: WSU Libraries Special CollectionsThe libraries also have several archival collections on microfilm and microfiche, such as the The Papers of W.E.B. DuBois.
- Images: Digital Collections at WSUWSULS images collections include Virtual Motor City and Digital Dress.
- Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new windowDigital version of the Michigan Sanborn Company Fire Insurance Maps.
- Maps: Perry-Castaneda Library Map CollectionCurrent and historical maps from around the world.
- Historical Publications: Historical NewspapersWSU libraries provides access to historical newspapers all the way back to the 1800's (Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal)
- American periodicals series online, 1740-1900 This link opens in a new windowSearch over 1,100 Historical Periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowSearch page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from 1473-1700.
Articles from Journals and Magazines
Go to the library home page, and select the Article Databases tab to access the library databases to search for articles in journal and magazines. use the Subject drop down menu to help you select the right database for your topic.
or select a library subject guide to see the librarian's suggestions for subject databases.
- Article Databases [Library Site Link]The resources listed here have been licensed by Wayne State University for the exclusive use of WSU affiliates.
Biographical
Use one of these resources to access biographical information.
- Print Biographical DictionariesUse one of these resources to get general information on a person.
How to Use an Article Database
Polls & Opinion Surveys
- Gallup Poll News ServiceSearch the Gallup Poll News Service through the Lexis Nexis Academic database.
- GallupFree internet resource - Provides access to some polling data and information.
Statistical
- Lexis Nexis Statistical UniverseStatistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983.
- How to Find Social Sciences DataA WSU library guide to social science data for disciplines such as criminal justics, economics, educaton, gerontology, psychology, social work and sociology.
- US Government Statistics: FedStatsLinks to statistics from government agencies, the statistical abstract of the US and more.
- World Statistics: United Nations Statistics DivisionGateway to statistical information from databases of the UN and Member States
Scientific
- Research Guides / Library GuidesGuides to resources in Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Engineering, Nutrition & Food Science and more.
- US Government Science PortalSearches over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowKnovel provides a one-stop source for finding answers to science and engineering questions through over 500 titles.