Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the guide for Research Resources. This guide provides links to all of the resources discussed in the Academic Success Center Workshop: No Sweat! Tackling the Research Paper.
If you did not attend the workshop, you can still use this guide. It provides lots of resources to help you with any research paper!
Research Topic Guides
Just don't know what to write about? Use one of our research topic guides to help you browse and select a topic you are interested in!
America History and Life CLIO Notes
Want to explore American History. This list gives you a range of topics to select from, from pre-colonial to modern day. LInks to articles and other resources.
CQ Researcher Topic List
Browse this list of topics and link to a CQ Research Report with history, pro/con, analysis and suggestions for additional research.
Historical Abstracts: CLIO Notes
Expand on topics related to world history. Covers Asia, Africa, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, dates from the 1400s to current.
Opposing Viewpoints Issues List
Browse this list of current social issues to get ideas for research paper topics. Each entry links to a topic overview and articles, book chapters, statistics, multimedia and more.
These pages provide concept definitions and subject overviews for researchers who want to expand their knowledge about scholarly and technical terms, from Elsevier Publishing reference works and journals.
These tools can help you manage your research and organize your notes.
RefWorks is a citation management app. You can use it to gather citations, generate a formatted bibliography, take notes and save documents and article PDFs.
As a WSU student, you have access to the online version of Office365 and also can download Office 365 apps on up to 5 devices and 5 computers.
WSU Academic Success Center
Provides instruction and services that will support students in the development of skills to promote academic excellence. Includes tutoring, workshops and study skills counseling.
Need help? You can contact us by e-mail anytime, or use our chat during weekly service hours to talk with us online. You can also call or visit a reference/information desk!
Librarian Liaisons (Subject Specialists)
Need individual assistance? Contact your liaison librarian for an appointment
Research Guides / Library Guides
These guides are designed by Wayne State librarians to lead you to databases, books, and quality web-based resources. Select a subject area related to your research topic.