Key Databases & Videos - Shiffman - School of Medicine Years I & II Guide - Research Guides at Wayne State University

Selected Databases

AccessMedicine
A repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more.
MedOne Education
MedOne Education comprehensively covers the medical school curriculum with resources including Ebooks, videos, and images for study, review, and test-prep. The images can be downloaded and re-used in teaching materials and course packs. The resource also includes videos of physical therapy manipulation techniques. There is also MedOne App available for mobile devices. The app is cost free to download and use. Patrons have access to the full platforms via the MedOne App and can download full books for use off-line.
ClinicalKey
This evidence-based clinical decision support tool provides access to select health science textbooks, journals, procedural videos, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and FirstConsult which is a concise medical information to aid clinical decisions.

PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new window PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.

There's a mobile app for that!
Visit Mobile Apps for Medical or Health Sciences for apps.

VisualDX This link opens in a new window A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. Provides instant access to specialist knowledge at the point of care, merging medical images with concise clinical text. Includes more than 18,000 images representing over 1,000 visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. As the clinician enters specific patient findings, VisualDx creates a visual differential diagnosis. The clinician enters symptoms and other clinical findings, such as lesion type, body location, medical history, medications, etc. With each entry, the system builds and refines the differential, never eliminating a diagnostic possibility but ranking each one by relevance to the patient findings. VisualDx displays images and key clinical information on all relevant diagnoses for a quick side-by-side comparison to the patient. Intended not to substitute, but to complement traditional medical information sources.