Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selectors : Anne Hudson and Samantha Downes
The theme for this year's Black History Month is to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the 1964 Civil Rights Act. We hope you enjoy the resources that we have selected to commemorate this very important event. The print book display case in the Purdy Library near the circulation desk contains numerous biographies of civil rights leaders from our Juvenile collection on the 4th floor. I selected them for their beautiful photographs, I hope you will take some time to take a look!
Featured Websites, February 2014
Library of Congress - Civil Rights Era
Few other institutions can present the African American mosaic of life and culture as completely as the Library of Congress. The Library's photographs, film footage, newspapers, magazines, manuscripts, and music holdings chronicle this period better than any other collection in existence. In addition to the NAACP and NUL papers, the Library also holds papers of civil rights activists such as Thurgood Marshall, Roy Wilkins, Patricia Roberts Harris, A. Philip Randolph, Bayard Rustin, Mary Church Terrell, Robert Terrell, Nannie Helen Burroughs, and others.
National Archives Teaching with Documents - The Civil Rights Act of 1964
In 1964 Congress passed Public Law 88-352 (78 Stat. 241). The provisions of this civil rights act forbade discrimination on the basis of sex as well as race in hiring, promoting, and firing.
President Johnson's Remarks on signing the Civil Right's Act
Text of the speech President Lyndon Johnson gave as he signed the 1964 Civil Rights Act as maintained by the Miller Center at the University of Virginia.
Constitutional Rights Foundation - Civil Rights Act
Interesting background of the Act that also includes a photo of President Johnson signing the Act while Martin Luther King Jr. observes
History Channel's Resources on the Civil Rights Act
Interesting photo's and background of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
Featured Databases February 2014
African American Experience - Civil Rights Act Resources
The African American Experience database's multimedia collection on the civil rights movement contains a wide selection of primary source documents, images, photographs, and audio clips associated with this pivotal period in black history.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that allows you to search for the Civil Rights Era in Biographies, Primary Documents, and multimedia sources with images
Martin Luther King Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" Speech
Featured Videos, February 2014
Important Civil Rights Figures
Rosa Parks (1913–2005)
Called "the first lady of civil rights" by the United States Congress, she is known for refusing to move further to the back of the bus which led to her arrest.
The historic Cleveland Ave Bus is on display at the Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn, MI
Martin Luther King Jr. (1929–1968)
Leader of the Civil Rights Movement from the 1950s until his death in 1968. He is well-known for his "I have a dream" speech that he gave on Aug. 28, 1963 on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C.
W.E.B. Du Bois (1868–1963)
One of the co-founders of the NAACP in 1909.
Print Books at Wayne State about Civil Rights
Martin Luther King and the Rhetoric of Freedom by
Publication Date: 2008-06-25
Martin Luther King, Jr. used the biblical story of Exodus to motivate African Americans in their struggle for freedom from racial oppression. Through an examination of King's major speeches, Selby illuminates the ways in which King drew from the Exodus narrative to offer his listeners a structure that explained their present circumstances, urged united action, and provided the conviction that they would succeed. Selby explains how King constructed a symbolic framework for interpreting the setbacks of the Civil Rights movement, even as he challenged them to remain faithful to the cause.
Martin Luther King, Jr. , on Leadership by
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Guide to how the philosophy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., can be used to effect positive, long-lasting change in any organization.
The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr by
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Through King's voice, the reader intimately shares in his trials and triumphs, including the Montgomery Boycott, the 1963 "I Have a Dream Speech," the Selma March, and the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize.
Freedom Riders by
Call Number: E 185.61 .A69 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-15
Here is the definitive account of a dramatic and indeed pivotal moment in American history, a critical episode that transformed the civil rights movement in the early 1960s. Raymond Arsenault offers a meticulously researched and grippingly written account of the Freedom Rides, one of the most compelling chapters in the history of civil rights. Arsenault recounts how in 1961, emboldened by federal rulings that declared segregated transit unconstitutional, a group ofvolunteers--blacks and whites--traveled together from Washington DC through the Deep South, defying Jim Crow laws in buses and terminals, putting their bodies and their lives on the line for racial justice. The book paints a harrowing account of the outpouring of hatred and violence that greeted theFreedom Riders in Alabama and Mississippi. One bus was disabled by Ku Klux Klansmen, then firebombed. In Birmingham and Montgomery, mobs of white supremacists swarmed the bus stations and battered the riders with fists and clubs while local police refused to intervene. The mayhem in Montgomery wascaptured by news photographers, shocking the nation, and sparking a crisis in the Kennedy administration, which after some hesitation and much public outcry, came to the aid of the Freedom Riders. Arsenault brings the key actors in this historical drama vividly to life, with colorful portraits ofthe Kennedys, Jim Farmer, John Lewis, Diane Nash, Fred Shuttlesworth, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Their courage, their fears, and the agonizing choices made by all these individuals run through the story like an electric current. The saga of the Freedom Rides is an improbable, almost unbelievable story. In the course of six months, some four hundred and fifty Riders expanded the realm of the possible in American politics, redefining the limits of dissent and setting the stage in the years to come for the 1963Birmingham demonstrations, Freedom Summer and the Selma-to-Montgomery March. With characters and plot lines rivaling those of the most imaginative fiction, this is a tale of heroic sacrifice and unexpected triumph.
Lift Every Voice by
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS
Publication Date: 2009-07-29
A #147;civil rights Hall of Fame” (Kirkus) that was published to remarkable praise in conjunction with the NAACP’s Centennial Celebration, Lift Every Voice is a momentous history of the struggle for civil rights told through the stories of men and women who fought inescapable racial barriers in the North as well as the South#151;keeping the promise of democracy alive from the earliest days of the twentieth century to the triumphs of the 1950s and 1960s. Historian Patricia Sullivan unearths the little-known early decades of the NAACP’s activism, telling startling stories of personal bravery, legal brilliance, and political maneuvering by the likes of W.E.B. Du Bois, Mary White Ovington, Walter White, Charles Houston, Ella Baker, Thurgood Marshall, and Roy Wilkins. In the critical post-war era, following a string of legal victories culminating in Brown v. Board, the NAACP knocked out the legal underpinnings of the segregation system and set the stage for the final assault on Jim Crow. A sweeping and dramatic story woven deep into the fabric of American history#151;”history that helped shape America’s consciousness, if not its soul” (Booklist) #151; Lift Every Voice offers a timeless lesson on how people, without access to the traditional levers of power, can create change under seemingly impossible odds.