Get Help From the Library
Shiffman Medical Library: Location & Hours
Ask a Librarian: askmed@wayne.edu
Reference desk: (313) 577-1094
Schedule an appointment: email me
Health Sciences Databases / Clinical Decision Support Tools
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowWell-indexed source of books, journals, images, and audiovisual materials on radiology.
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowClinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey is a comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing the fastest access to the most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews provide the combined results of the world's best medical research studies and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
- National guideline clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowIncludes the American College of Radiology's Appropriateness Criteria Guidelines
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new window Access biomedical literature citations and systematic reviews. Mobile access available via wireless connection or apps.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Good to find cited info and to locate collaborators.
- UptoDate Online This link opens in a new window
Searching WSU Databases for Full-Text Articles
When the full text of the article is not available in the database, use the "Link to Full Text" button 
.
The system will search for full text and return the options in a separate window.
Click on the Article link that appears in the new window. You may have to click through 2-3 pages until you reach the PDF link for the article.
If you receive a message that the article is not available, use the "Request digital delivery" link and follow the instructions to order the article. Digital delivery (ILLIad) sends a PDF version of the article to you. You will receive notice via email, usually within 1-2 business days.
If you continue to have difficulty retrieving an article, contact askmed@wayne.edu by email, call the Reference Desk at 313-577-1094, or visit us on the first floor of the Mazurek Medical Education Commons .
Featured Database
ClinicalKey is a user-friendly medical database which enables keyword searching. Like Google, entering keywords into the search bar enables users to click on autosuggest terms.
Search results can be narrowed into category:
- journals
- books
- practice guidelines
- patient information
- drugs
- multimedia
- CME
Results can also be narrowed by
- content type
- specialty
- date
- study type
One should establish a free username and password to take advantage of the available resources such as Reading List, CME, and Presentation. The username is your email address and the password does not require special characters.