"Big Picture" Databases for Background & Statistics
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextA MeL Database. Statistics, multimedia, reference works, and scholarly, popular and newspaper articles on current social issues.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowA Wayne State database. In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, presented in report form that includes an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Available only on Wayne State campus
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowA database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisiplinary research. Available on MeL.
Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles
- Academic OneFileA MeL Database. Make sure you check the Peer-Reviewed box on the search screen to limit to scholarly sources.
- MeL databasesThese databases are available to residents of Michigan. Use them to do research for your classes.
Handouts
- Popular, Trade, or Scholarly? [Handout]A guide to the differences in audience, content and purpose of Popular, Trade and Scholarly publications.
Searching for Books @ Wayne State
Need Help?
Click below to talk to a library by Chat, Email or Phone
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Please make sure you let the librarian know you are a student from University High School.
Need Help with APA Citation?
Use the Library's quick guides to help with citing in MLA or APA style.
- APA Citation StyleA series of examples to help with citing in APA style.