Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary and Secondary Sources: What's the Difference?
Borrowing Books from the Ferndale Area District Library
Ferndale Area District Library
As a UHS student, you are eligible to use the Ferndale Area District Library, even if you do not live in Ferndale. To get a library card, you do have to have to go in the library in person with a parent and/or guardian if you are under 18. Please call the library if there are difficulties, such as job hours or a disability, that would prevent your parent or guardian from going to the library with you to get your card. Your parent/guardian will need to bring a State ID, Driver's license or other proof of residency. Students should bring their UHS Student ID.
If you need help with your research, finding a book or ordering a book from another library, talk to the librarian at the reference desk.
Borrowing books from other libraries
You can search for an order books from libraries around the State of Michigan, including Wayne State University, by using MelCAT. You will need a Ferndale Area District Library, Oak Park Public Library, Hazel Park Public Library or Southfield Public Library card to order books through MelCAT (Detroit Public Library is not a member). Books take about a week to be delivered.
Click here to search MelCAT
The Holocaust: A Learning Site for Students
Organized by theme, this learning site presents an overview of the Holocaust through historical photographs, images of artifacts, and testimony clips. Includes an encyclopedia, timeline and maps.
Voices of the Holocaust (British Library)
Includes primary materials such as survivor testimonies and photographs. Reference items (maps, chronology) are also provided.
A free online book chronicles the history of the Holocaust.
Experiencing History: Holocaust Resources in Context
Learn about the Holocaust through unique, original sources. With this tool, you can read, watch, and examine the experiences of everyday people to analyze how genocide unfolded. This site requires you to create a free account. From the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Finding Books Using Google
Search a topic or title in books.google.com. You can view some of the content in the Google Books interface. Use the Get this Book-->Find in a Library, to see if a library near you has the book, or search in mel.org.
Google Scholar lets you search and find books, scholarly articles from research journals, doctoral dissertations and other types of scholarly sources. You may not always have access to the full text.
MEL Resources for your Holocaust Research Paper
Britannica School (High)
An enhanced online encyclopedia with overview topic entries, brief biographies, images and maps. (Primary and secondary sources)
ebook academic collection
A collection of over 17,000 published books available in electronic format. (Secondary sources)
Academic Search Complete
A database that provides access to articles from journals, magazines and newspapers,video and images. (Primary and secondary sources)
History Reference Center
Documents, photos, maps, film, and video from leading history journals. (Primary and Secondary Sources)
Jewish Studies Source
Access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers that cover to jewish culture and history.
MyJSTOR Register & Read Program
Click below to talk to a library by Chat, Email or Phone
Please make sure you let the librarian know you are a student from University High School.
Help with MLA Style
A free automated citation and bibliography generator.
Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.