Reference Resources
Folktales and Fairy Tales: Traditions and Texts from Around the World by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781610692540Publication Date: Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood (ABD-CLIO), 2016Encyclopedic in its coverage, this volume provides reliable, up-to-date information on folk and fairy tales, past and present.
African American Folklore: an encyclopedia for students by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781610699297Publication Date: 2016 (Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood)African American folklore dates back 240 years and has had a significant impact on American culture from the slavery period to the modern day. This encyclopedia is one of the most comprehensive compilations of resources on African American folklore, including bibliographical citations, lists of websites, and lists of cultural centers.
New Tales for Old: Folktales as Literary Fictions for Young Adults by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 058508033XPublication Date: Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1999This book gathers together a number of popular folktale reworkings (not just simple retellings) in a variety of genres that appeal to young adults. After discussing the nature of folktales, their cultural context, and the characteristics that make them attractive to young adults, de Vos and Altmann offer suggestions for using the material with young adults.
American Folktales: from the collections of the Library of Congress by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780765680624Publication Date: 2003 (New York: Routledge)This two-volume collection of folktales is drawn from the largest archive of American folk culture, the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, and includes magic tales, legends, jokes, tall tales and personal narratives, many of which have never been transcribed before, much less published.
Folk and Fairy Tales: A Handbook by Call Number: PK Stacks: GR 550 .A77 2004ISBN: 0313328102Publication Date: 2004 (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press)This reference is a convenient introduction to folk and fairy tales for students and general readers. Written by a leading authority, this handbook offers a broad examination of folk and fairy tales as a folklore type. It looks at tales from around the world and from diverse cultures. The volume defines and classifies folk and fairy tales and analyzes a number of examples. It includes a glossary and extensive list of works for further reading.
Fairy Lore: A Handbook by Call Number: PK Stacks: GR 549 .A85 2006ISBN: 9780313333491Publication Date: 2005 (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press)Fairy lore concerns beliefs about elves, dwarfs, gnomes, trolls, mermaids, brownies, pixies, leprechauns, and many other beings found in world folklore. Written for students and general readers, this book is an introduction to fairy lore from around the world. The handbook defines and classifies types of fairies, provides numerous examples and texts, overviews scholarship, and discusses the role of fairies in art, film, and popular culture. It closes with a glossary and a bibliography of print and electronic resources.
Lexikon der Zaubermärchen by Call Number: PK Stacks: GR74 .S325 1982ISBN: 3520472015Publication Date: 1982 (Stuttgart : Kröner)This german encyclopedia is a survey of the European magic fairy tale.
It's useful to get some context about the Aarne-Thompson-Uther Classification System in this entry from wikipedia.org.
The types of international folktales : a classification and bibliography, based on the system of Antti Aarne and Stith Thompson by
Call Number: PK Stacks: GR 1 .F55 no. 284 2004 pt.1Publication Date: 2004 (Helsinki : Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia, Academia Scientiarum Fennica)Motif-index of folk-literature; a classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends. by
Call Number: PK Stacks GR 67 .T52 (Vols 1-6)Publication Date: 1955-58 (Rev. and Enl.)
Types of the Folk Tale: a classification and bibliography. Antti Aarne's Verzeichnis der Märchentypen (2nd Rev.) by Call Number: PK Stacks: GR 1 .F55 no.184 1961ISBN: 0833744895Publication Date: 1971 (Helsinki : Academia Scientarum Fennica)
New Books
Fairy Tales on the Teen Screen: Rituals of Girlhood by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9783319649726Publication Date: 2017 (Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan)This book examines how the fairy tale is currently being redeployed and revised on the contemporary teen screen. The author redeploys Victor Turner's work on liminality for a feminist agenda, providing a new and productive method for thinking about girlhood onscreen. While many studies of teenagehood and teen film briefly invoke Turner's concept, it remains an underdeveloped framework for thinking about youth onscreen. The book's broad scope across teen media--including film, television, and online media--contributes to the need for contemporary analysis and theorisation of our multimedia cultural climate.
Legends of the Northern Paiute / as told by Wilson Wewa by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780870719004Publication Date: 2017 (Corvallis, OR : Oregon State University Press)Legends of the Northern Paiute shares and preserves twenty-one original and previously unpublished Northern Paiute legends, as told by Wilson Wewa, a spiritual leader and oral historian of the Warm Springs Paiute. These legends are best read and appreciated as they were told--out loud, shared with others, and delivered with all of the verve, cadence, creativity, and humor of original Paiute storytellers on those clear, cold winter nights in the high desert.
New Approaches to Teaching Folk and Fairy Tales by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781607324805Publication Date: 2016 (Logan : Utah State University Press)This book provides invaluable hands-on materials and pedagogical tools from an international group of scholars who share their scholarly perspectives on how to teach fairy tales in a variety of courses and academic disciplines. Challenging the fairy-tale canon as represented by the Brothers Grimm, Charles Perrault, Hans Christian Andersen, and Walt Disney, contributors reveal an astonishingly diverse fairy-tale landscape. Contributors include Anne E. Duggan and Donald Haase, both of Wayne State University.
The Fairy Tale and Its Uses in Contemporary New Media and Popular Culture by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9783038423003Publication Date: 2016 (Basel : MDPI AG)The fairy tale has migrated into new media, overwhelming audiences with imaginative and spectacular retellings along the way. Modern fairy-tale adaptations, pervading contemporary popular culture, drastically subvert, shatter, and alter the public's understanding of the classic fairy tale. We must reflect upon the significance of the fairy tale for society and its social uses in a nuanced fashion.
House of Sugar, House of Stone by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781885635495Publication Date: 2016 (Fort Collins : The Center for Literary Publishing, Colorado State University)Emily Pérez weaves Grimm's Fairy Tales into the business of modern life--laptops and late nights with sleepless children--to explore an undercurrent of terror about living in a family. These musical, emotionally ruthless pieces occasionally find respite, but Perez reminds us that despite our best efforts to map our way to safety: "Either way / you're lost. Either way / you'll wander into deeper woods."
The Folkloresque: Reframing Folklore in a Popular Culture World by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781607324188Publication Date: Logan: Utah State University Press, 2015When popular culture appropriates or reinvents folkloric themes, characters, and images, such manufactured tropes are traditionally considered outside the purview of academic folklore study, but this volume offers a frame for understanding them that is grounded in the discourse and theory of the discipline.
Subject Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Subject Headings
Excellent scholarship surrounding 'fairy tales,' etc. is frequently found in print anthologies characterized by diverse themes. This makes subject heading searching a critical strategy to access this material (where keywords alone may not work well). Indexes in the backs of these books point to pages where specific tales or themes can be found throughout the book. To search by subject heading in the WSU Catalog, change the dropdown box from KEYWORD to SUBJECT, and experiment with some of the following headings:
- Fables
- Fairy Tales (and the 179 narrower subheadings displayed, including the names of specific countries, etc)
- Fantasy Literature
- Frame-stories
- Legends
- Parables
- Symbolism in Fairy Tales
- Tall Tales
- Tales