In the News
NPR - National Public Radio
BBC- British Broadcasting Company (news Africa)
There are many online African radio stations available.
Check NetRadioAfrica for countries and acccess.
Newspapers
- African NewspapersPrepared by Stanford Univeristy
GENERAL REFERENCE
Africa: a guide to reference material by Call Number: Storage Blue Z 3501 .M3 2007ISBN: 0954102932Publication Date: 2007-04-01First published in 1993, this is a new revised and substantially expanded edition of a highly acclaimed reference resource that evaluates the leading sources of information (other than bibliographies) on Africa South of the Sahara.
South Africa - From Early Times to 1885 by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780521517942Publication Date: 2009-11-23Coming fifteen years after South Africa's achievement of majority rule, this book takes a critical and searching look at the country's past. It presents South Africa's past in an objective, clear, and refreshing manner. With chapters contributed by ten of the best historians of the country, the book elaborately weaves together new data, interpretations, and perspectives on the South African past, from the Early Iron Age to the eve of the mineral revolution on the Rand. Its findings incorporate new sources, methods, and concepts, for example providing new data on the relations between Africans and colonial invaders and rethinking crucial issues of identity and consciousness.
The Cambridge History of South Africa, 1885-1994 by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780521869836Publication Date: 2011-08-15This book surveys South African history from the discovery of gold in the Witwatersrand in the late nineteenth century to the first democratic elections in 1994. Written by many of the leading historians of the country, it pulls together four decades of scholarship to present a detailed overview of South Africa during the twentieth century. It covers political, economic, social and intellectual developments and their interconnections in a clear and objective manner. This book, the second of two volumes, represents an important reassessment of all the major historical events, developments and records of South Africa and will be an important new tool for students and professors of African history worldwide, as well as the basis for further development and research.
Reference Guide to Africa by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 0585201285Publication Date: 1998-01-01This reference guide provides a one-stop source for African studies research mainly in the humanities and social sciences. It is intended for students, teachers, librarians, casual inquirers, and serious researchers who are delving into unknown territory.
The Little Data Book on Africa 2010 by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780821382554Publication Date: 2010-04-13'The Little Data Book on Africa 2010' is a pocket edition of 'Africa Development Indicators 2010'. It contains some 115 key indicators on economics, human development, governance, and partnership and is intended as a quick reference for users of the 'Africa Development Indicators 2010' book and African Development Indicators Online. The country tables present the latest available data for World Bank member countries in Africa.
Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian
- Ask-A-LibrarianContact us with your questions via Chat, IM or Email!
MAPS
The following maps illustrate the vegetation, language, colonialisim and independence dates for the countries on the continent of Africa.
Additional maps may be found at these websites:
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection(University of Texas, Austin)
- Colonial LanguagesThis map identifies the various languages spoken throught the continent of Africa during the colonial era.
Historical Newspapers
- New York Times Historical Full-Text This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Washington Post Historical Full-Text This link opens in a new windowThe Washington Post (1877-1997) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
AFRICAN MUSIC AND ART
African music on the Internet (Stanford University)
International Library of African Music (ILAM) Rhodes University Note: to browse music, click the online searches link at the top of the page, and then ILAM Audio Archive on the next page. You can then search a number of ways including country of origin, artist, and language.
Art and Life in Africa Project (The University of Iowa)
Metropolitan Museum of Art: African Art: Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Looking for more information about African art? Try using the art guide created by WSU librarian Diane Sybeldon: African art.
African Music Databases
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database
- Music index. This link opens in a new windowIndex of 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries and in 23 languages. Covers all styles and genres of classical and popular music, sorted by subject and geographic location.
JOURNALS
The following journals can be accessed through the library catalog.
- Journal of the Royal African Society
- Africa
- Africa & The Middle East Telecom
- Africa Bibliography
- Africa Confidential
- Africa Insight
- African Studies
- Journal of Third World Studies
- Nordic Journal of African studies
SPECIFIC COUNTRY INFORMATION
AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK
Use this source to help you learn more about social and economic developments in Africa.
- African Development Bank GroupOrganization seeking to assist African countries with developing sustainable economic development and social progress.
Other useful Websites
- W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American ResearchFrom Harvard University
- The African Diaspora Archaeology NetworkHosted by University Illinois-Urbana Champaign with the input of a number of collaborating scholars in the field of African Studies.
Subject Specialist Librarian
Allia McCoy
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
134 Purdy Kresge Library
Email: Allia@Wayne.edu
Email: Allia@Wayne.edu
(313) 577-8776
Subjects: Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies