Library Press Display - http://library.pressdisplay.com/pressdisplay/viewer.aspx

Over 250 same-day newspapers from 55 countries in their original format and language (in color when available; audio and translation for articles in some publications). Backfile includes last 60 days. Use dropdown box in upper right corner to select a title By Country or By Language.

Aljazeera Africa - http://www.aljazeera.com/africa/

BBC news Africa - http://www.bbc.com/news/world/africa

CNN Africa - http://www.cnn.com/africa

CIA World Factbook - Africa - https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/wfbExt/region_afr.html

Nations Online - Africa - http://www.nationsonline.org/oneworld/africa_map.htm

Africa - Physical Geography from National Geographic:  

http://education.nationalgeographic.org/encyclopedia/africa-physical-geography/

Africa - Travel Information from National Geographic:

http://travel.nationalgeographic.com/travel/continents/africa/

Current Politics and Economics of Africa Journal:  http://elibrary.wayne.edu/record=b5012983~S47

All Africa Website:  http://allafrica.com/

UNESCO History of Africa:  http://www.unesco.org/new/en/culture/themes/dialogue/general-history-of-africa/volumes/

Cambridge History of Africa:   http://elibrary.wayne.edu/record=b3780873~S17

African Women Bibliographic Database-The database is the outgrowth of a three-volume work published in 1989 by Greenwood Press that indexed materials on African women published during the International Women's Decade, 1976-1985

Other Recommended Databases:

• JSTOR
• Historical Abstracts
• Project MUSE

Women in African Colonial Histories- Jean Allman, Susan Geiger, and Nakanyike Musisi, editors. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2002.

This video emphasizes the modern urban centers of Africa.(includes sound)