Liaison Librarian
Rhonda McGinnis
Contact:
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Electronic Indexes with Abstracts and/or Fulltext
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database includes indexing and full-text articles for over 1000 business journals.
Video Tutorial: Basic Searching in Business Source Complete. - ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Wall Street Journal (current) This link opens in a new windowAccess to current editions of the Wall Street Journal. 1984 to present. Pre-194 access is available from the Wall Street Journal Historical edition.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA market research tool that provides industry overviews, key statistics, and analysis on more than 700 U.S. industries
- Business Knowledge Research This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text research reports from the Conference Board on the latest issues in business management and on United States and global economics, covering topics such as business outlook, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, human resource management, productivity, economic indicators and analysis/forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowComprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collected volumes) compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Over 90% of the articles are in English or include English summaries.
- Video Tutorial--Understanding Scholarly, Trade & Popular Articles in BusinessThis brief video tutorial will explain the difference between scholarly, trade and popular journal articles and explain why trade articles are so important in Business.
- VitalLaw (previously CCH Intelliconnect Cheetah Platform) This link opens in a new windowSearch all of the University's CCH subscriptions of world-class business law, human resource/employment law, tax, and accounting information in a single search.
Significant Human Resource Management Journals
- HRMagazineHR Magazine delivers the latest news, analysis and perspectives on issues affecting the HR profession — including best practices, technology, employment law, and real-world solutions. Published by the Society for Human Resource Management.
- TD Magazine/T+D/Talent DevelopmentThis magazine (which has changed its name several times in recent history) focuses on the art and science of developing people and the systems in which they work to produce results, It is published by the Association of Talent Development (which has also recently changed its name from the American Society for Training & Development)
- WorkforceThis journal covers the intersection of people management and business strategy. its content helps HR professionals approach their jobs from a more strategic, big-picture, business-results perspective. NOTE: This is another journal whose named has changed several times recently. In this case, the "Search within this Publication" link will only search the most recent title which dates from 2013. For earlier versions use the links provided under the "Title History".
- World of WorkPublished by the International Labour Organization, this magazine focuses on the labor market and working conditions around the world.
Other Relevant Guides
Helpful Video Lessons
WSU Libraries: Business Source Complete Tutorial
Business Articles: Popular, Scholarly, Trade
Entrepreneurship & Small Business
Here are a few resources. For more indepth information, see Starting a New Business.
- Michigan Small Business Development CenterMany online resources for anyone looking to start or grow a small business.
- Small Business Administration OnlineAccess documents about starting, expanding, and financing a small business plus local SBA resources. Also access the Small Business, documents concerning regulatory fairness, and the year 2000 issues. Telnet to the SBA's online BBS.
Quality Management
- NIST Quality ProgramThis site, developed and maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology, provides information intended to assist U.S. businesses and non-profit organizations in delivering ever-improving value to customers through continuous quality improvement. It includes information about the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and its framework, core values, criteria, and assessment methods.