Your Business Librarian
Rhonda McGinnis
Contact:
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Pecha Kucha Tips
- 9 Steps to PechaKucha SuccessBest little PDF on creating a Pecha Kucha video presentation
- Your Ultimate Guide to Giving PechaKucha PresentationsNot sure I agree that it is the ULTIMATE guide to giving a Pecha Kucha but it does have some good advice especially about preparing the outline.
- How to Make Great Presentations the Pecha Kucha WayNice post that provides instructions for how to set up a Pecha Kucha slidedeck in PowerPoint plus some good advice for creating the presentation with several videos showing examples.
- How to Give a Great Pecha Kucha TalkA blog post with some good advice on the actual presentation of the Pecha Kucha.
- What Makes an Image Good for Presentations – Part IThis site provides some good advice on what to think about when selecting images for your pecha kucha presentations.
Finding CC-licensed images — the following sites are helpful in finding Creative Commons-licensed images and learning how to reference them:
- Creative Commons Wiki – a Creative Commons image directory
- Compfight – excellent search tool for Creative Commons-licensed Flickr images
- CC Search — powerful search across a variety of platforms (e.g. Flickr, Google images, YouTube) to help you find content you can share, use, remix
- Flickr images – enter search term, click Advanced Search, then tick the box “only search within Creative Commons-licensed content”
- Content Directories — extensive list of directories of Creative Commons-licensed materials (audio, video, image, text
Finding Articles
Journal & Magazines
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Additional full text content includes some case studies, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM features thousands of full-text journals. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Newspapers
- Wall Street Journal (current) This link opens in a new windowAccess to current editions of the Wall Street Journal. 1984 to present. Pre-194 access is available from the Wall Street Journal Historical edition.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowRegional Business News provides full text for more than 80 regional US and Canadian business publications including Crain's Detroit Business
- Detroit Free Press (1999-Present) This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Detroit Free Press.
Specialized Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- Mergent FIS Online This link opens in a new windowFully searchable data on more than 10,000 companies on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA market research tool that provides industry overviews, key statistics, and analysis on more than 700 U.S. industries
Significant Human Resource Management Journals
- HRMagazineHR Magazine delivers the latest news, analysis and perspectives on issues affecting the HR profession — including best practices, technology, employment law, and real-world solutions. Published by the Society for Human Resource Management.
- TD Magazine/T+D/Talent DevelopmentThis magazine (which has changed its name several times in recent history) focuses on the art and science of developing people and the systems in which they work to produce results, It is published by the Association of Talent Development (which has also recently changed its name from the American Society for Training & Development)
- WorkforceThis journal covers the intersection of people management and business strategy. its content helps HR professionals approach their jobs from a more strategic, big-picture, business-results perspective. NOTE: This is another journal whose named has changed several times recently. In this case, the "Search within this Publication" link will only search the most recent title which dates from 2013. For earlier versions use the links provided under the "Title History".
- World of WorkPublished by the International Labour Organization, this magazine focuses on the labor market and working conditions around the world.
Company Review Websites
- Fortune: Best Places to WorkCompiled each year by Fortune research partner Great Place to Work, is based on surveys of employees working for companies with offices around the globe
- GlassDoor--Search Company Reviews and RatingsGlassdoor is a free jobs and career community that offers the world an inside look at jobs and companies. In particular past and current employees can submit reviews of what it's like to work for the company.
- Indeed--Find Great Places to WorkAnother great source to locate jobs and to read company reviews
- Here's How to Interpret Anonymous Company Reviews CorrectlyThis article describes what one should expect from company review sites such as Glassdoor and Indeed and how much reliance one can place in their reviews
Employer Researching Tips
- The Ultimate Guide to Researching a Company Pre-InterviewA nice, brief introduction to getting to know a company before an interview
- How to Research a Company for a Job InterviewYou should come to the interview with a good baseline of knowledge about the company. This post discusses 7 ways to find out what you need to know before the big day.
- How to Stalk Your Future Employer (Without Being Creepy)Is there such a thing as knowing too much about a potential employer or hiring manager? Yes, sometimes digging too deep and oversharing what you’ve learned can actually hurt you during the interview process. This article provides guidelines, researching a potential employer without becoming a creep.
- 7 Things to Research Before Any Job InterviewResearching employers is one of the best ways to become a stand-out candidate during the hiring process. Use the information provided in this article to help you put on your detective hat and investigating potential employers.
Researching the Interviewer
- What to Look for when Researching your InterviewerResearching your interviewer puts you ahead of your competition—it helps you learn about the company,makes the conversation flow better, and makes you appear more confident. This article explains why and how to do this.
- How to Research a Hiring Manager Before an InterviewResearching the company before an interview is vital but knowing details about the hiring manager or interviewer can be beneficial, too. After all, career experts suggest that job seekers address their cover letter to the hiring manager. This article discusses how you can research them before your interview? And what do you do with this information once you have it?
Citation Help????
- How To Cite References Using APA StyleThis guide provides links to the Purdue OWL and numerous examples of how to cite all types of sources including webpages and online journal articles.