Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education Subject Librarians
Chat or Email
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Research Consultation with a Librarian
Your Librarian Liaison can help you with preparing a literature review, getting full text of articles or books from other libraries, or assist you with your citation formatting. Make an appointment with the Librarian for the subject area that is related to your thesis or research proposal.
Karen Liston is the librarian for Teacher Education, which includes the majors Elementary Education, Secondary Education Special Education, and Learning Design and Technology. She is available via email at email@example.com or via phone at (313)577-5596.
Meghan McGowan is the librarian for Kinesiology, Health and Sport Studies, which includes the majors Community Health, Exercise and Sport Science, Health and Physical Education Teaching, and Sport Management. She is available via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Depending on the subject area of your thesis, it may be that another librarian will be better-equipped to help. You can use the Consultation Request Form below to send an email to the librarian for a specific subject area/department, or you can have a look at Subject Librarian List to see a list of librarians and their associated subject areas.
Examples of Past University Honors Theses
Research Guides & Library Databases
Research Guides / Library Guides
These guides are designed by Wayne State librarians to lead you to databases, books, and quality web-based resources. Select a subject area related to your research topic.
Article Databases [Library Site Link]
The resources listed here have been licensed by Wayne State University for the exclusive use of WSU affiliates.
The Writing Center
For assistance with all aspects of writing your thesis or research project, contact the Wayne State Writing Center in Room 2310 on the second floor of the Undergraduate Library. You can get help with all components of your project from research and writing to preparing your presentation.
"Writing is a skill that takes a lifetime to master. The WRT Zone is dedicated to supporting all writers on this path, regardless of their level, by helping them understand the conventions appropriate for their courses and discipline. We provide our writers with the tools they need to be successful with specific writing projects, but also focus on helping writers develop as writers and become self-reliant. We strive to build an academic culture with bridges that link students, faculty, and staff together by providing educational opportunities for the entire campus." Make an appointment at (313) 577-2544.
Student Plagiarism Self-Check
On this self-enroll site, students can submit draft versions of papers to our plagiarism software, Unicheck, in order to check their own work and improve their understanding of how to integrate sources and enter scholarly conversations through their writing. The Unicheck Report provides students the opportunity to review and improve their paper or project before submitting them for grading in their Canvas course sites.
In order to post your thesis to DigitalCommons, the library will need permission from your faculty mentor. This can be done by either having them email the following statement to email@example.com:
I offer my permission for Education Honors student [[your name]] to submit their thesis to DigitalCommons@WayneState.
or by having them fill out the form below and emailing it to firstname.lastname@example.org:
Overview of Honors Thesis Process
- Complete the Thesis Proposal form and attach your written project (signed by you and your faculty mentor); turn in to 489 Education c/o Fawne Allossery (email@example.com).
- (Recommended) Make an appointment with the Librarian for the subject area that is related to your thesis. A list of librarians and their associated subject areas can be found at guides.lib.wayne.edu/LibrariansList, and contact information for the College of Education librarian(s) can be found elsewhere on this guide.
- Write your thesis draft.
- Submit your thesis final draft in Canvas (through Unicheck, which is activated on the assignment by the ED 4998 instructor) for approval by your faculty mentor.
- Once your thesis has been approved, submit a 250-word abstract of your thesis to the ED 4998 Canvas.
- (Recommended) Review the materials on Canvas related to DigitalCommons and decide if and how to publish your thesis via DigitalCommons@WayneState.
Citation Management Tools
Use a citation management tool to build a database of your sources, and integrate properly formatted in-text and reference list citations with the click of a button as you write your paper. Online training and resources are available for Zotero, RefWorks, EndNote, and EndNote Online.
Would you like to learn to use a citation manager? Make an appointment with Veronica Bielat, the Honors Librarian. She can provide individual training in-person or online, and get you started in 30 minutes. It's important to begin using a citation manager early in your Honors Thesis project, when you begin to gather information sources.
Guide to Using Zotero
A WSU library guide to help you learn how to use Zotero, a freely-available citation management system.
Guide to Using RefWorks
RefWorks is a subscription citation management system which the WSU Library pays for. This guide will help you set up an account and manage your research.
Guide to Using EndNote
EndNote is a very popular citation management tool, and is available at a discount through C&IT. This guide provides links to purchase and download EndNote, videos, FAQs, and free online synchronous classes on using EndNote.
Guide to EndNote Online
EndNote Online is not as useful as the full, desktop-based EndNote, but setting up an EndNote Online account is required if you want to automatically sync your EndNote library across multiple computers.