Need Help?
Do you need assistance locating an open access book, article or other material on a particular topic, or want to learn more about using open access resources in your course? Contact your Subject Specialist Librarian.
A special note for WSU Alumni
WSU alumni have borrowing privileges from the WSU libraries print collections, but the library system is unable to provide alumni access to most of licensed databases. However, you can use the resources on this page to access an extensive collection of open access scholarly articles and books, published by reputable academic presses.
Open Access Interdisciplinary Databases
- EBSCO EssentialsAccess free and reliable open access (OA) articles and more for your research using EBSCO Essentials. Click here to discover more free databases from EBSCO, including an open dissertation database.
- JSTOR/ARTSTOR Open ContentSearch for freely available articles, books, research reports, images and media using JSTOR's Open Content search.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowOver 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to open access full text content. PubMed is offered to the public by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Discover Open Access Articles
- Internet Archive ScholarThis fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
- Web of Science Open AccessRun a topic, author or other search, then narrow to Open Access articles in your search results.
- JSTOR and ARTSTOR Open and Free ContentIncludes journals, books, images, media and research reports.
- Open Access ButtonLegally and freely read millions of articles. Sources include all of the aggregated repositories in the world, hybrid articles, open access journals, and those on authors personal pages. Open Access Button does not use content from ResearchGate or Academia.edu.
- UnpaywallAn open database of 25,843,316 free scholarly articles. Unpaywall harvests Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use.
- Open AlexThe open web interface is still under construction. OpenAlex is a fully open catalog of the global research system
Discover Open Access Books
- Directory of Open Access BooksThis searchable directory allows you to locate academic, peer reviewed open access books.from participating publishers.
- Pressbooks DirectoryDirectory of over 5,000 Creative Commons licensed books published across 140 Pressbooks networks.
- Berghahn Open Access TitlesScholarly books in the humanities and social sciences, spanning History, Social & Cultural Anthropology, Archaeology, Mobility Studies, Environmental Studies, and Film Studies.
- Lever PressLever Press is supported by member academic institutions and produces quality open access peer-reviewed books in the humanities.
- MIT Press OpenOver 100 titles published by MIT Press.
- National Academies PressOver 9,000 open access books available in downloadable PDF format.
- Routledge/Taylor & Francis Open Access BooksOpen Access monographs in Arts & Humanities, Education, Social Science & Stem.
- JSTOR and ARTSTOR Open and Free ContentIncludes journals, books, images, media and research reports.
- Project Muse (Johns Hopkins University) Open AccessOpen Access books and journals from Project Muse.
- Springer Open AccessOver 1,000 open access ebooks from SpringerLInk publishing.
- WayneOpenAccess to 59 out-of-print titles from the Wayne State University press highlight Jewish and regional studies.