All libraries remain closed, but we're here to support you remotely: COVID-19 Updates from the Library System

Open Textbooks/Open Educational Resources (OER)

A general overview of the open access textbooks for faculty, students, and librarians. Topics include open access textbook resources, open access textbook models, hybrid options and electronic textbook options from textbook publishers.

Request Permalinks to Library Resources

Submit your course reading list and receive persistent, copyright compliant links for your course. Distribute the links to your students in Blackboard, via e-mail, as embedded links in your syllabus--however you choose.

If you prefer DIY, see our informational page on Creating Permalinks Wayne State Library Resources

Out-of-Print Monograph Resources

Streaming Documentaries and Films

Additional FREE Streaming Video sites

Annenberg offers free "Video on Demand" online access to hundreds of their programs via a broadband connection. The programs focus primarily on teacher education resources. Accessible through their web site, or directly through WSU's Libary Catalog - search by title. From their web site: "Simply select a program and go to the individual program description listing and click on the icon. Free sign up required for first-time users. To hear the sound and view video, you should have Windows Media Player, DSL, a cable modem, or a LAN connection to a T1 line or greater, and have Javascript enabled. For more information, please visit our broadband FAQ."

NOTE: 154 ANNENBERG/CPB VIDEOS ARE ACCESSIBLE VIA THE WSU LIBRARY CATALOG
 
"Since 1983, FRONTLINE has served as American public television's flagship public affairs series. Hailed upon its debut on PBS as "the last best hope for broadcast documentaries," FRONTLINE's stature over 25 seasons is reaffirmed each week through incisive documentaries covering the scope and complexity of the human experience." (from their web site) 70 FRONTLINE documentaries have been made available online for free viewing.

NOTE: 75 FRONTLINE VIDEOS ARE ACCESSIBLE VIA THE WSU LIBRARY CATALOG

Google Video
Television footage covering a wide range of topics.Includes some video footage and some closed caption text/images.
Search by subject. Includes videos from YouTube, as well as news sources around the world.
A list of 35 sites that feature intelligent videos such as Academic Earth, Best Online Documentaries, Europa Film Treasures etc.
"The Internet Archive was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format... The Moving Image Archive contains thousands of digital movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to videos of every genre uploaded by Archive users. Many of these movies are available for download." (from their web site)

PBS Video
Includes access to numerous classic PBS series.

PBS Independent Lens
"Airing weekly on PBS, the four-time Emmy Award-winning series Independent Lens is like an independent film festival in your living room. Each episode introduces new documentaries and dramas made by independent thinkers: filmmakers who are taking creative risks, calling their own shots and finding untold stories in unexpected places." (from their web site)
Brings learners and educators together in a global video classroom. On YouTube EDU, you have access to a broad set of educational videos that range from academic lectures to inspirational speeches and everything in between. Includes lessons from top teachers around the world, course lectures from top-tier universities, or inspiring videos to spark your imagination. (from their web site) 

Digital Resources: Images, Graphs, Charts & More

Data Visualization Tools for the Classroom

Online Games and Game Generators

Find Open Textbooks

OER Repositories Multidisciplinary

Sciences, Engineering & Mathematics

Social Sciences & Humanities

Languages

Fine and Performing Arts