Research Guides: Education: Multimedia

DVDs and Videos in the Library Collections

DVDs and Video
Videos and DVD's available at the Undergraduate Library circulation desk, related to the field of education. To ensure the availability of your title, use the Media Request Form to request a video or DVD for your class. You can also use our Course Reserves Form to reserve Videos and DVDs for students to watch in the library.

Free Streaming Video Collections and Media

50 Films. A Day in the Life of an American School District.
Access the individual 50 videos of students, teachers, administrators, volunteers and parents of this documentary of a day in the Pasadena Unified School District, a racially and economically diverse school district with 28 campuses in Southern California . Use the Voices link at the top of the page to access a subject or category index.
American Graduate
From the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, videos and classroom resources from American Graduate: Let’s Make it Happen project.
Annenberg/CPB Video Collection
Online streaming video sets relating to teaching and learning in all curricular areas, plus titles such as "Discovering Psychology", "Engaging With Literature", "Essential Science for Teachers" and more.
Daniel T. Willingham Videos
D. Willingham is the researcher behind American Educator's "Ask the Cognitive Scientist" column. These videos take on topics such as Merit Pay, Brain-Based Education, Learning Styles and more controversial topics.
Educause LIVE! Videos
Educause LIVE! is a series of free, hour-long web seminars on critical information technology topics in higher education. This selection deals with topics related to students, learning and pedagogy.
MIT Blossoms: Videos for Math and Science
BLOSSOMS video lesson library contains over 100 free real-world math and science lessons as streaming video
Each 50-minute lesson is a complete resource that includes video segments, a teacher’s guide, downloadable hand-outs and a list of additional online resources relevant to the topic.
PBS Learning Media
Searchable database of freely available streaming video from Masterpiece Theatre, Nova, American Experience and Ken Burns Collection.
Teacher Ready Playlists from YouTube
Videos selected and grouped by content area for all grade levels.
TEDTalks videos on Education
TED Talks on the topic of Education. Includes a link to TEDEd repository of classroom activities using TED Talks.

Finding Reviews

Educational Media Reviews Online
Educational Media Reviews Online (EMRO) is a database of video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers. The reviews are written by librarians and teaching faculty in institutions across the United States and Canada. The reviews are given one of four ratings:

Highly Recommended
Highly Recommended with Reservations
Recommended
Recommended with reservations or Not Recommended.

Streaming Video Available From Wayne State Libraries

Kanopy Streaming Video Collection

Kanopy Streaming
Streaming media service, with educational videos to support teacher education, counseling, community health and more. Films from such producers as Stenhouse. Please contact Veronica Bielat (vbielat@wayne.edu), Librarian if you need help with this resource. The videos from this licensed library resource can be embedded directly into your Blackboard course site.

School: The Story of American Public Education

This four-part series, narrated by Academy Award-winning actress Meryl Streep, is a compelling odyssey that weaves archival footage, rare interviews, and on-site coverage into an unprecedented portrait of public education in America. 4-part series, 55 minutes each.

You can link to a particular part, or segment within the part. Use the TITLE URL link in the box at the bottom of the video display for the part or segment to link to your Blackboard course site or other online course material resource.

The Common School: 1770–1890
This program profiles the passionate crusade launched by Thomas Jefferson and continued by Noah Webster, Horace Mann, and others to create a common system of tax-supported schools that would mix people of different backgrounds and reinforce the bonds of democracy.
As American as Public School: 1900–1950
This program recalls how massive immigration, child labor laws, and the explosive growth of cities fueled school attendance and transformed public education. Also explored are the impact of John Dewey’s progressive ideas as well as the effects on students of controversial IQ tests, the "life adjustment" curriculum, and Cold War politics.

You will need to create an account in Facing History and Ourselves in order to view this film
A Struggle for Educational Equality: 1950–1980
his program shows how impressive gains masked profound inequalities: 17 states had segregated schools; one percent of all Ph.D.s went to women; and "separate but equal" was still the law of the land.
The Bottom Line in Education: 1980 to the Present
This program explores the impact of the "free market" experiments that ensued, from vouchers and charter schools to privatization—all with the goal of meeting tough new academic standards.

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Education

DVDs and Videos in the Library Collections

Free Streaming Video Collections and Media

Finding Reviews

Streaming Video Available From Wayne State Libraries

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Community

Sign In

Education

DVDs and Videos in the Library Collections

Free Streaming Video Collections and Media

Finding Reviews

Streaming Video Available From Wayne State Libraries

Community

Sign In