General Databases to Search for Articles
- Education Databases (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new windowFor research in the field of Education, use this resource to search the ERIC, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Teacher Reference Center, and Education Source databases simultaneously.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- LearnTechLib This link opens in a new windowLearnTechLib, formerly EdITLib Digital Library, is your source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
- Child Care and Early Education This link opens in a new windowResources in the collection examine the child care and early education experiences of children birth through age 8 and -- when addressing school-age child care -- through age 13. The collection brings together original research, syntheses, datasets, and other research-related resources from the wide range of social science disciplines and professional fields that study early care and education.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new windowRecords are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Types of Information Sources and Identifying Empirical Research
- Popular, Trade, or Scholarly? [Handout]A guide to the differences in audience, content and purpose of Popular, Trade and Scholarly publications.
What is Empirical research?
Empirical research is research based on observed and measured phenomena. Using empirical research articles as sources for your papers strengthens your arguments. Your literature review assignment will require you to locate empirical research articles.
Review the following Powerpoint presentation on the components of an empirical research article.
- Locating Empirical Research Articles [Handout]This handout explains how to locate empirical research articles in several library databases, including PsycINFO and ERIC.
Datasets & Secondary Data
Subject Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
MTTC (Michigan Test for Teacher Certification)
The MTTC website itself has free general test prep reviews and questions. Please be advised that this site warns that commercial products are not as up-to-date or specific as it's own materials; however, you can purchase MTTC's specific test reviews here for about $10 each.
Teacher & Education Associations
- Michigan Education AssociationThe Michigan Education Association (MEA) is a self-governing education association, representing more than 157,000 teachers, faculty and education support staff throughout the state.
LOOKING FOR MORE?
- Educational Organizations (Dave Taylor)National and Michigan resources
Encyclopedia of Associations, National Organizations of the U.S. by Call Number: [Electronic Book]Publication Date: 2017 (56th Ed.)
Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Handbook of Research on Teaching by
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780935302479Publication Date: 2016 (Washington, DC: AERA)The fifth edition of the Handbook of Research on Teaching is an essential resource for students and scholars. This handbook provides readers with an unaparalleled view of the current state of research on teaching across its multiple facets and related fields.
The Handbook of Critical Theoretical Research Methods in Education by Call Number: [Electronic Book]; ON ORDER - CHECK CATALOGISBN: 9780429056963Publication Date: 2021 (New York: Routledge)Expanding what constitutes methods in critical theoretical educational research, this edited book details 21 educationally just theories and demonstrates how theories are applied as method to various subfields in education. From critical race hermeneutics to Bakhtin's dialogism, each chapter explicates the ideological roots of said theory while teaching us how to apply the theory as method.
International Perspectives on School Settings, Education Policy and Digital Strategies by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9783847416609Publication Date: 2021 (Verlag Barbara Budrich)Over the past two decades education science has increasingly become networked internationally. This volume gives an overview of the transatlantic activities in education research representing a collection of topics ranging from school development over the use of large scale assessment and digital data in education to questions related to migration and public education or the economization of education. At the same time the volume offers a reflection on the assets and obstacles of international exchange.
LOOKING FOR MORE?
Search the Library's Catalog for:
(AERA OR "American Educational Research Association")
APA Style, Citations, Format
- APA Style Guide (from OWL at Purdue)Helpful guide for in-text citations, references, format.