Link to the Article Databases & Online Journals page in this guide for information on searching, accessing full-text, links to general Education databases, and more.

Online scholarly journals and popular and trade magazines accessible through WSU relating to science education.

Online books available through the WSU libraries on science education.

Books in the WSU libraries on science education.

From the Annenberg foundation, online streaming video on science teaching, activities and assessment.

Even though this is a commercial text book publisher site, there are some great tools, like downloadable PDF lesson plans and activities. Select MICHIGAN from the drop-down menu when you get to the site.

Landmarks for Schools Science Resources links to the best of the web in Science Education.

NSDL is a digital library of exemplary resource collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels. The teacher resources page includes a web page development application, resource links, web seminars, streaming video and more.

View Paleoclimateology Slides online on the ice age, coral paleoclimateology, tree rings and more. Link to additional teacher resources on Paleoclimateology.

Want to see Real Time Water Data, high water flows and earthquake activity for the State of Michigan. This USGS site takes you there (and to the same information for all 50 states).

Links to all of the Eric Weisstein's World of Science resources through this site: Math, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Astronomy and Scientific Biography.

Free Access to ArcGIS Online for classroom use, along with instructional resources, and a geomentoring program.

Set up a conversation with astronauts at the International Space Station

A project of the World Wide Laboratory at the Beckman Institute at University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana, Bugscope allows students and teachers to control an Environmental Scanning Electron Microscope to image insects. BugScope is currently getting an upgrade and will be available again in 2016.

An archive of career Q&A videos with STEM role models. JASON is a project of the nonprofit Sea Research Foundation.

An excellent source of short online videos that cover specific topics in biology, chemistry, physics, organic chemistry, cosmology and astronmy.

Presented by the Science Education Dept. of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, this site provides internet access to 4 telescopes. You and your students will learn to point and focus the telescopes, select exposure times and more.

Link to all of NASA's educational resources through their portal.

View the Visable Human Project, Historical Anatomies on the Web and more.

NetLogo is a programmable modeling environment for simulating natural and social phenomena. NetLogo is particularly well suited for modeling complex systems developing over time. Modelers can give instructions to hundreds or thousands of "agents" all operating independently. This makes it possible to explore the connection between the micro-level behavior of individuals and the macro-level patterns that emerge from their interaction. NetLogo lets students open simulations and "play" with them, exploring their behavior under various conditions. It is also an authoring environment which enables students, teachers and curriculum developers to create their own models.

Videos exploring some of the many fascinating subjects in modern physics, including Relativity, Anti Matter and the Theory of Everything.

PhET provides free interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena. PhET simulations animate what is invisible to the eye through the use of graphics and intuitive controls such as click-and-drag manipulation, sliders and radio buttons. The Phet simulations also offer measurement instruments including rulers, stop-watches, voltmeters and thermometers. As the user manipulates these interactive tools, responses are immediately animated thus effectively illustrating cause-and-effect relationships as well as multiple linked representations (motion of the objects, graphs, number readouts, etc.)

You will need to join WISE (free), and you will then have access to online curriculum projects designed for grades 5-12. A web browser is all students need to take notes, discuss theories, and organize their arguments! The Teacher Area lets you explore new projects and grade your students' work on the Web.

For Middle School students. Includes links to Science standards. Link to the Teachers Guide.

Streaming HD film and teacher guides K-12

Hosted by the California Academy of Sciences.

Astronauts on the Space Station read children's stories.

Annual award lists from the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA).

Read these books from National Academies Press for free online. Each title is a biography that students can read to learn about the trailblazing women who are leaders in a variety of scientific fields, from robotics to forensics.

There are 33 regional Centers in the Network. The centers provide leadership, curriculum support and resources to educators.

A quarterly publication from the Mackinaw Center for Public Policy. Each issue includes a list of scientific exhibits open to students, families and teachers.

Check out their Social Media Dashboard

This competitive program, from the National Center for Science Education, pairs a scientist with a K-12 class for a semester. The Scientist will visit the class in-person, and work with the teacher as a collaborator, on topics of evolution or climate change.

Although this site is mostly commercial, it does provide great "household product" science projects in the Home Demos section.

The Center for Educational Resources has linked up with NASA to provide web based astronomy lessons for grades K-12. Each lesson description provides the NASA theme, activity duration and education level.

Sponsored by American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). Includes lesson plans, activities, online magazine and more.

Short, standards-based inquiry activities for teaching map-based concepts. ArcGIS Online technology is available to support subject matter content teaching.

These activities are technology agnostic and can be delivered in a classroom with as little as a tablet and a projector. Any teacher can use a GeoInquiry, regardless of their prior experience with digital mapping tools.

In addition to lesson plans, includes resouces for teachers and professional development opportunities under the For Educators link.

This members-only site provides access to these science lesson plans for free.

From NSTA for Science Teachers. Includes Professional Development and Classroom Activities.

From the weekly Science Friday radio show, educational resources you can search by grade level, duration and subject. Includes multimedia, lesson plans and classroom activities.

Science lesson plans searchable by grade, science themes and content. Hosted by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Topic ideas, units and interactive notebooks, along with lesson plans, project and other ideas for the engaging elementary science learners. Check the blog for links to specific topics and ideas.

A collaborative NASA project with NASA scientists, science museums, and K-12 educators. This site provides NASA science based Earth and space science curricula for the classroom. They even provide a Resource Cart so that you can create your own custom collection of SEGway resources.

Environmental Health lesson plans and activities for High School and Hicher Education.

How do scientists make discoveries? In this webcam kit, students are encouraged to think like scientists, by making observations, asking questions, and making predictions. Aligned with Next Generation Science Standards. A lesson outline, worksheets, and supplemental resources are included to support student exploration.

Stories, images, videos, satellite tracking and more. For Android, ipad, iphone

Science and engineering images and video and a news feed featuring breaking news from NSF-funded institutions.

Free app for studying anatomy from the US Navy, for ipad or Android.