Articles & Books
- Online Journals & Magazines: Curriculum & InstructionIncludes links to online journals and magazines related to the use of curriculum and instruction. This list is not exhaustive, and your research should include searching the Education databases (such as ERIC) on your topic.
- Books: Curriculum & InstructionBrowse books in the WSU libraries on general topics of curriculum planning and instructional design. You can also search for your own topic using the catalog.
See how to request books using Get It!
- ProQuest Multisearch This link opens in a new windowSelect ADVANCED SEARCH and EDUCATION group to search several education databases simultaneously, including ERIC.
- Education Databases (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new windowFor research in the field of Education, use this resource to search the ERIC, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Teacher Reference Center, and Education Source databases simultaneously.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies by Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 1412958830Publication Date: 2010The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies.
The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction by Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9781412909907Publication Date: 2008Defines three divisions--school curriculum subject matter, curriculum and instruction topics and preoccupations, and general curriculum theory.
The Sage Handbook African American Education by Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9781412937436Publication Date: 2008The Handbook of African American Education reflects historical and current perspectives on African Americans in secondary and post-secondary education.
- Handbooks on Curriculum & InstructionThere are many handbooks on curriculum & instruction topics that can help clarify issues, introduce you to past research, and help you locate trends in the field.
Internet Resources
- Michigan Dept. of Education K-12 Curriculum & Standards web pageMichigan's content standards and more detailed learning objectives called benchmarks are contained within the Michigan Curriculum Framework.
- EdutopiaContains a deep archive of continually updated best practices, from classroom tips to recommendations for districtwide change. Browse resoures by grade level, or search by strategy or video collection.
Professional Organizations
- American Educational Research Association (AERA)The most prominent international professional organization, with the primary goal of advancing educational research and its practical application. Also see the AERA Division B: Curriculum Studies
- ASCDFormerly knows as the Association for Supervision and curriculum Development, this organization is dedicated to advancing best practices and policies for the success of each learner.
- Canadian Society for the Study of EducationThe largest organization of professors, students, researchers and practitioners in education in Canada.
Evaluation & Assessment
- Online Evaluation Resource DirectoryThis system collects and makes available evaluation plans, instruments, and reports for NSF projects, and includes resources for NSF projects in Curriculum Development and Teacher Education.
- Guide to Testing, Measurement and Assessment ResourcesA Wayne State library guide that includes resources for locating examples of tests and measures, educational assessments and more.