Links to online journals and magazines. This list is not exhaustive, and your research should include searching the Education databases (such as ERIC) on your topic.

Search the ETDD database by type of disability, topic or age group.

The WSU libraries have thousands of e-book titles that can be accessed by searching the catalog. Here is a sample of titles available on the topic of special education.

Books in the WSU library system on the topic of brain-based teaching and learning. This is not a comprehensive review of the topic, but may introduce you to some resources on the subject.

Also see these web resources: Society for Neuroscience Education Programs and Brain Facts.org for Educators

Books and e-books in the WSU library system on universal design in education.

Books for professionals on writing or implementing IEPs available through the WSU libraries

A directory of professionals, organizations, and schools that serve the learning disabilities and special education communities.

See the For Educators link for articles, resources and instructional strategies.

serves as a central resource of information and products to the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs), so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities.

Resources which provide teachers with strategies to help students with special needs in the General Education curriculum. Includes instruction, collaboration, assessment and behvaior plans.

A network of special education leaders from the nation's urban school districts. Although mostly used to promote their Professional Development services, there are research reports and white papers available on the site.

June 2013 T.H.E. Journal

A current list of apps for building social and academic skills. Each has a research rating, and is searchable by age or device.

The Educational App Store (EAS) certification is an independent and rigorous assessment of an app's performance from a learning perspective.

Their organization evaluates apps against specific criteria, which have been created in collaboration with Mike Sharples, Professor of Educational Technology at the Open University and a community of EAS-certified teachers. These criteria assess the aspects that make up an educational app and which are important from a learning perspective, such as content, relevance to the national curriculum, navigation and usability. This process is undertaken by a practicing teacher with experience in the relevant subject and age range the app caters for.

The library has a manual available for checkout for the Life Centered Curriculum Education (LCCE). It is located on the 4th floor in the Oversize Collection in the Purdy/Kresge Library.

This handbook includes the Detroit Public School's Medication Policy.

Select Students, then 5330 Use of Medications to access the district's medication policy.

Model policy and guidelines from the state of Michigan, including policies for positive behavior supports and administering medications to pupils at school.

A library of forms and resources from Berrien RESA

PDF copies of all Detroit Public School policies.

The ADDEP provides access to datasets from research on rehabilitation and disability. Its PUBLICATIONS page provides a searchable database of scholarly articles and reports for the studies conducted.

From the CDC, statistics and data, articles and other resources.

A multidisciplinary research and training center committed to making a significant and sustainable positive difference in the quality of life of individuals and families affected by disability and the professionals who support them.

The Detroit Institute for Children provides specialized diagnostic, medical and rehabilitative care to children with disabilities. The Parent Resource Room provides links to community resources, education assistance and information.

DDI is the state of Michigan’s University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities (UCEDD) and is part of a nationwide network dedicated to the development of inclusive communities, the enhancement of the quality of life of people with disabilities, and the enrichment of the field of disability research and service.

State of Michigan resources, include performance statistics and data.

Information and resources for intermediate school district (ISD) transition coordinators and other transition professionals.

NADD is a not-for-profit membership association established for professionals, care providers and families to promote understanding of and services for individuals who have developmental disabilities and mental health needs. The mission of NADD is to advance mental wellness for persons with developmental disabilities through the promotion of excellence in mental health care.

The US Dept. of Education's Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) is dedicated to improving results for infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities ages birth through 21 by providing leadership and financial support to assist states and local districts.

Parent Advocacy Coalition for Educational Rights (PACER) seeks to expand opportunities and enhance the quality of life of children and young adults with disabilities and their families, based on the concept of parents helping parents.

This site was created to provide a "one-stop shop" for resources related to IDEA and its implementing regulations.

Covers a number of essential topics, including: key cases in education law; constitutional issues; key concepts, theories, and legal principles; key statutes; treaties; curricular issues; educational equity; governance; rights of students and teachers; technology; biographies; and organizations.

Basic information and resources for starting your legal research, from Wayne State University's Neef Law Library.

Selected sources of Michigan legal information, from Wayne State University's Neef Law Library.

Resources compiled by the Robert Crown Library at Stanford University.

Congress.gov, the successor to Thomas, is the official source for legislative information. Find bills, legislation in congress, the Congressional Record and other government resources.

View briefs, current cases, and see lists of decisions by subject, including Education.

Also check the Cases & Codes to link to cases, codes, case and opinion summaries.

Federal Case opinions and orders.

NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states. Resources on Education include articles, briefs, bill summaries and news releases.

A service of the National School Boards Association’s Office of General Counsel and the NSBA Council of School Attorneys (COSA), Legal Clips provides weekly updates on important and interesting school law issues, as well as helpful resources.

MDE ADLAW (Michigan Dept of Ed Administrative Law Decisions) is a searchable collection of the full text of selected formal decisions rendered by the State Tenure Comm (STC), the State Board of Ed (SBE), the State Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) or the administrative law judges. The latter category includes Preliminary Decisions and Orders of Administrative Law Judges (PDO) in teacher tenure cases and Final Administrative Decisions in Child and Adult Food Care Program Appeals.

Although this guide is hosted by a private law firm, it provides excellent links to government legislation, government initiatives, advocacy groups and state organizations, relating to disability and the rights of the disabled.

Access to resources is by subscription only, but you can sign up for free Special Ed e-News, which delivers concise summaries of significant case decisions, evolving policy guidance and regulatory changes right to your e-mail inbox every week.

Information about special education law, education law, and advocacy for children with disabilities. The Advocacy Libraries and Law Libraries section of their website offers many online articles, links and other resources on various topics