Other Relevant Guides
Scholarly and Practitioner (Trade)
Group Activity
Each group contains a link to a peer reviewed scholarly journal and a peer reviewed practitioner publication.
For the group you have been assigned, open each of the links and review the publications. Answer the following questions:
1. Which of the publications do you believe is scholarly, and which is practitioner?
2. What are two substantive similarities between the publications (if you need to refresh, watch the Scholarly vs. Popular video for some ideas).
3. What are two substantive differences between the publications (if you need to refresh, watch the Scholarly vs. Popular video for some ideas).
4. Is there a professional organization affiliated with your publication? If yes, who are they?
Article Databases
BEST BETS:
- SummonSummon is a Discovery Tool that searches across many (although not all!) databases at once. It's a good place to start your research!
- Education Databases (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new windowFor research in the field of Education, use this resource to search the ERIC, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Teacher Reference Center, and Education Source databases simultaneously.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
MORE DATABASES (SOME ON SPECIAL TOPICS!)
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLLBA provides selective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore.
- Child Care and Early Education This link opens in a new windowResources in the collection examine the child care and early education experiences of children birth through age 8 and -- when addressing school-age child care -- through age 13. The collection brings together original research, syntheses, datasets, and other research-related resources from the wide range of social science disciplines and professional fields that study early care and education.
- LearnTechLib This link opens in a new windowLearnTechLib, formerly EdITLib Digital Library, is your source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowThe PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, and includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues results from traumatic events, for populations ranging from children to adults.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new windowRecords are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOver 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
Articles, Books & More
- Journals from National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)Link to a list of print and online journals available from NCTE.
Finding Children's and YA LIterature
There are many resources in the Wayne State libraries you can use to search for children's literature by genre, age, lexile score, series, "others like this", etc.
- Research Guide: Childrens LiteratureThe Wayne State library Research Guide to Children's Literature has more information on finding resources, storytelling, books by genre, how to understand lexile scores and more.
- NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new windowFind just the right book by subject, age level, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, Common Core standards; even books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author.
- Database of Award Winning Children's LiteratureDatabase is searchable by age, format, genre and more.
Children's Magazines
- List of Children's MagazinesThis link will take you to a list of Children's Magazines available through Wayne State University library system.
- The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards National CatalogThe National Catalog of the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards annually showcases the accomplishments of creative teens who have dedicated themselves to their craft and received national recognition for their efforts.
Select Handbooks and Encylopedias
Theoretical Models and Processes of Reading (6th Ed) by ISBN: 9780872070462Publication Date: 2013Classic and trend setting scholarship on reading processes and literacy practices.
Handbook of Teaching Early Reading: More Than Phonics by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781897638989Publication Date: 2016 (Royston, UK: United Kingdom Reading Association)
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language ArtsCall Number: ebookISBN: 9780203839713Publication Date: 2010 (3rd Ed.)An integrated perspective on the teaching of the English language arts and a comprehensive overview of research in the field, which provides historical and theoretical perspectives about teaching the language arts. Emphasis is given to the learner, multiple texts, learning, and sharing one "s knowledge. A Companion Website, includes PowerPoint slides.
Handbook of Research on Children's and Young Adult Literature by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780203843543Publication Date: 2010Leading scholarship on children's and young adult literature from three intersecting disciplines: Education, English, and Library and Information Science. Part one considers perspectives on readers and reading literature in home, school, library, and community settings. Part two introduces analytic frames for studying young adult novels, picturebooks, indigenous literature, graphic novels, and other genres. Part three focuses on the social contexts of literary study
Handbook of Reading Disability Research by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780203853016Publication Date: 2010Focus on exploring the relation of reading disability to learning and language, to poverty and prejudice, and to instruction and schooling. Contributions are contextualized within the framework of educators struggling to develop concrete instructional practices that meet the learning needs of the lowest achieving readers.
Handbook of Early Literacy Research (Vol 3) by ISBN: 9781609180287Publication Date: 2010Examines the full range of factors that shape learning in and out of the classroom, from basic developmental processes to family and sociocultural contexts, pedagogical strategies, curricula, and policy issues.
Handbook of Reading Research by ISBN: 080585343XPublication Date: 2010Volume IV of this handbook focuses on reading research. Search the library catalog for previous volumes of this work.
Reading in the Content Area
To search for articles on Reading in the Content Area, go to the ERIC database and search for "content area reading" AND the content area, such as mathematics, science, language arts or social studies. Select the Peer reviewed and ERIC journals only checkboxes to limit your articles to peer-reviewed journals.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a database that provides access to articles from scholarly and practitioner publications, plus documents such as agency reports, dissertations, and white papers, in the field of education.
- ProQuest Multisearch This link opens in a new windowSearches multiple ProQuest databases (ABI Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, National Newspaper Abstracts, ProQuest Nursing Journals, and Research Library) simultaneously.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- Arts Edge (Kennedy Center)The mission of ARTSEDGE is to help artists, teachers, and students gain access to and/or share information, resources, and ideas that support the arts as a core subject area in the K-12 curriculum. Includes extensive links to art ed sights.
- Math: Mathical Book PrizeAn award recognizing popular, math-related fiction and big numbers nonfiction for very young children through teenagers. No textbooks—but rather picture books, novels, photography, biography, and much more! This is a joint project of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute and the Children’s Book Council.
- Notable Tradebooks for Young PeopleAn annually prepared annotated bibliography of books primarily for children in grades K-8. The selection committee looks for books that emphasize human relations, represent a diversity of groups and are sensitive to a broad range of cultural experiences. Books are evaluated and selected by a Book Review Committee appointed by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC).
- NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books for K-12Annual award lists from the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA).
Scholarly vs. Practitioner
The Reading Teacher is a peer-reviewed practitioner journal, published by the International Literacy Association.
It focuses on publishing articles on evidence-based teaching ideas, articles that translate research into simple strategies for effective practice Information about critical teaching issues—written by educators, for educators, focusing on children through age 12.
Reading Research Quarterly is a peer reviewed scholarly journal, published by the International Literacy Association.
It focused on publishing reports of original, rigorously conducted research employing diverse epistemologies, methodologies, methods, and disciplinary perspectives; essays concerning new theoretical or methodological perspectives; comprehensive syntheses of research towards developing new understandings; scholarly analysis of trends and issues in the field; and reports of important studies diverse viewpoints on literacy practices, teaching and learning.
Activity Articles for RLL6121
For Teachers
Finding K-12 Textbooks in the Wayne State Libraries
- Click here to search the K-12 Textbook CollectionJust type your content area into the search box.
The K-12 Textbook collection can be found on the 4th Floor of the Purdy/Kresge Library. You cannot check out the K-12 textbooks, but you are welcome to make copies of pages you need.
MEL (Michigan Electronic Library)
- Books & Literacy GatewayThe state of Michigan's Electronic Library, available to all Michigan residents, has a list of licensed and freely available resources to support reading and literacy. Includes Scholastic Bookflix for pre-K-5, ebook K-8 collection and more.
Literacy Programs
- Imagination Library (United Way of SE Mich)An early literacy program partnering with Dolly Parton's Imagination Library project, providing books to young children under 5.
Graphic Novels
- SANE Journal: Sequential Art Narrative in EducationA peer-reviewed practitioner journal contributed to the global knowledge associated with all aspects of graphica (comics, graphic novels, and its related forms) and education. Includes reviews of sequential art narratives (graphic novels), use of the form in teaching or learning, and resources designed to help educators integrate comics texts into their classrooms.
- Graphic Novels in the Wayne State Library collectionLink to a list of graphic novels available in the Wayne State University collection of children's and young adult literature
School Libraries
- Library of Michigan: School LibrariesThe Library of Michigan encourages schools to invest in school library programs, and promotes partnerships with teaching faculty and school media specialists for curriculum development and media integration. Strong school libraries with media specialists have a positive impact on student achievement.
Reading & Literature Lesson Plans & Learning Activities
Genre & Comprehension Resources
- Literary GenresA list with defininitions of each of the genres included in the California Department of Education Recommended Literature: Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve.
- Genre Study: A Collaborative ApproachResources and activities for students and teachers, and a collaborative framework for a genre study workshop.
- Writing with WritersLinks to genre lesson plans for biography, tall tales, and myths and legends.
Lesson Plans
- Activity SheetsActivity sheets for elementary level titles and board books. (from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt). After selecting the link, select Asset Library from the webpage on the left, then select Activity Sheets.
- Read Write Think Lesson PlansEvery lesson plan on ReadWriteThink has been aligned not only to the IRA/NCTE Standards for the English Language Arts but to individual state standards as well.
- Reading Group Classroom GuidesClassroom discussion guides and activity packs for over 700 trade book titles. (From Houghton Mifflin Harcourt). After selecting the link, at the top of the webpage, select any title, then scroll down in the book information to find the Reading Guides under Additional Assets.
- ReadWorksLesson Plans, differentiation strategies, assessments, worksheets and more. You will need to create a free account.
- Scholastic Teachers: Lesson PlansLesson plans for all contents areas, with a focus on language arts and reading.
- Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Educator GuidesThrough a partnership with the National Writing Project, the Educator Guides are developed for use with Scholastic's annual anthology series of student writing, The Best Teen Writing. These guides can be downloaded as PDFs. You can find a copy of the annual The Best Teen Writing in the library's juvenile collection.
Internet Resources
- Childrens Books: Awards and Best-of-Year ListsLinks to over 45 "best of" and award lists for Children's Books.
- Guys ReadA collection of recommendations from teachers, librarians, booksellers, publishers, parents, and guys themselves. Includes a Beginning Readers section (you'll find a link on the left).
- Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Education PlaceAfter you select the link, select Michigan from their drop-down menu. Even though this is a commercial text book publisher site, there are some great tools at the bottom of the page, like graphic organizers.
- Picture Book DatabaseAbstracts of over 5000 children's picture books, to help select books for literature themed units.
- Readability ForumulasAlthough a commercial site, here you can find a good explanation of 19 different readability forumulas.
- Summer Learning LibraryThe National Summer Learning Association maintains a summer learning library with entries for research articles, studies and more on summer learning, with a special focus on reading. You will need to create a free account to access the library's contents.
- Teacher Book WizardHelps match students to books, by level, similar content, theme and more.
- Writer's Speak to Kids17 part free video series from NBC Learn