Includes links to online journals and multimedia related to social studies teaching and learning. This list is not exhaustive, and your research should include searching the Education databases (such as ERIC) on your topic.

Click this link to see books and other materials available in the Wayne State library system on social studies teaching and learning in K-12.

A list of databases where you can find articles and more. Click the ALL button to see all of the databases available related to the courses and programs offered through the College of Education.

Click here to watch a video on how to search a database.

Search digital content from libraries, archives, and museums. A quick search for "lesson plans" brings up all sorts of resources for classroom teaching and learning.

From the National Archives, construct your own activity or select from activities that use primary documents to teach about events in U.S. history.

Even though this is a commercial text book publisher site, there are some great tools, like downloadable PDF outline maps of countries, lesson plans and activities in the Classroom Resources for Teachers section at the bottom.

Over 40 links to high quality resources to support social studies teaching.

Primary document archives and other resources for Michigan History.

Read transcripts of oral histories, listen to selected recordings, view photos of the civil rights movement.

A virtual classroom for comparative civics, includes a student-collected repository of narratives from engaged citizens who have helped to advance rights and freedoms through their actions. You will need to create a free account to access teaching resources.

From the PBS series, links to guides, timelines, and more relating to the struggle for freedom in American istory and the role of labor.

An interactive timeline of world population which includes impacts from events related to science & technology, environment and health.

Explore videos on American Writers and their reflections from 1600 through 1975.

This book provides both the conceptual basis and the classroom strategies to help teachers actively engage their students in developing the skills needed to become informed citizens.

An annually prepared annotated bibliography of books primarily for children in grades K-8. The selection committee looks for books that emphasize human relations, represent a diversity of groups and are sensitive to a broad range of cultural experiences. Books are evaluated and selected by a Book Review Committee appointed by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC).

Promotes professional interest and improvement in social studies education.

The largest association in the US devoted solely to social studies education

Summer institute for social studies teachers.

Lesson plans on child labor, sweatshop laws, labor movements and civil rights.

Thematic units weaving baseball with Women's History, Labor History, Civil Rights and more. Select the modules to find the lesson plan documents. You can even set up a virtual field trip with the museum.

Developed by the Stanford History Education Group, this set of resources connects the collections of the Library of Congress with easy-to-use assessments that capture students’ knowledge in action.

Using C-Span video clips, this site provides resources for teaching civics and U.S. Government. You will need to create a free membership account to use the sites resources.

Teaching guides on the elements of democracy. Includes lessons on minority rights, economic freedom and the rule of law.

Searchable by subject, grade level and keyword.

Explore topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. The sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more from the DPLA collections. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.

Curriculum modules for topics such as Immigration and the Compromise of 1850. For high school.

Searchable by grade, resource type, historical era and cross curricular connections.

Teaching materials using Census Data and information about the census.

These classroom lessons foster critical thinking on issues of the day and a positive classroom environment. Lessons include topics on bullying, conflict resolution and diversity.

Learning activities including grading rubrics that use primary source materials available in the Wayne State University Digital Collections.

Teacher Guides for the all U.S. Presidents