Empirical Articles, Recommended Databases & Journals
- Locating Empirical Research Articles [Handout]This handout explains how to locate empirical research articles in several library databases, including PsycINFO and ERIC.
---------------------------------------------------
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowFind articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more in the field of psychology.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFind articles, conference proceedings and more covering all aspects of education, educational psychology, school counseling and more.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowThe PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, and includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues results from traumatic events, for populations ranging from children to adults.
- Social work abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts database contains more than 26,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
----------------------------------------
- Educational Psychology: Journals & MagazinesLinks to journals & magazines in print and online available through the WSU libraries.
- Educational Evaluation: Journals & MagazinesJournals & magazines available online and in print through the WSU libraries.
Subject Specialist Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Select Handbooks and Encylopedias
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by Call Number: [Electronic Book] also UGL Reserve: RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2013ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013This newest edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780387717999Publication Date: 2009400 entries explore concepts, themes, and the latest research findings related to all levels of primary and secondary education on topics of cross cultural school psychology.
Critical Educational Psychology by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781118975947Publication Date: West Sussex, England: Wiley Blackwell, 2016.The first textbook of its kind, Critical Educational Psychology is a forward-thinking approach to educational psychology that uses critical perspectives to challenge current ways of thinking and improve practice.
Frameworks for Practice in Educational Psychology, Second Edition by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781785920073Publication Date: London; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2016Now in its second edition, this comprehensive textbook presents a rich overview of approaches to educational psychology. Covering established techniques such as the Monsen et al. Problem-Solving Framework and the Constructionist Model of Informed and Reasoned Action, the book also sets out new material on innovative methods and approaches, such as Implementation Science, and a Problem-Solving - Solution Focused integrated model for service delivery. Accessible summaries and assessments explain the complex, integrated methodology necessary to succeed in the field today.
Agencies & Professional Organizations
- Michigan School Counselor AssociationThe State Division of the American School Counselor Association (ASCA).