Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
September 2014
Selector: James Van Loon and Rachael Clark
Physics and Astronomy are the focus of this month's Subject of the Month display in the Purdy/Kresge Library. Browse books, eBooks, and web resources on String Theory, Fractals, Optics, Nebulas, and more, including many items from the Juvenile Collection. The display complements a traveling exhibit, Here, There, & Everywhere.
Terry Pratchett
Sir Terence David John "Terry" Pratchett, OBE (born 28 April 1948) is an English author of fantasy novels, especially comical works. In 2001 he won the annual Carnegie Medal for The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, the first Discworld book marketed for children. He received the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement in 2010. -Wikipedia
Fysikshow
"So there are these guys, these science-genius guys, who also love music. Fysikshow is the name and the awesome-ness you’re about to witness in the video, below, is their doing. They took the Ruben’s tube to another level and added a 2-D Pyro Board, with 2500 drilled holes in it, to the already-cool invention." The Source
"Here There and Everywhere!" Exhibit
A Special Exhibit in the Atrium of the Undergraduate Library from September 8 - 26, 2014. Developed by NASA and the Chandra X-ray Center of the Smithsonian.
- Here, There, and EverywhereThe official exhibition site.
- Online Exhibit for Wayne State UniversityIncludes video, images, websites, and other electronic resources.
Here, There, and Everywhere - Video Trailer
Featured Internet Resources, September 2014
- Astrophysics Data SystemA digital library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 7.8 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-print
- INSPIRE!High-Energy Physics Literature Database, replaces SPIRES.
- NIST Data GatewayThe NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.
- Physical review online archive This link opens in a new windowThe Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review Series I-III. The Wayne State subscription provides full-text access to all APS journal articles published from 1893–present.
- Science.gov This link opens in a new windowScience.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
- SciTech ConnectSciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database.
Featured Databases, September 2014
- Scopus This link opens in a new window"Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is an online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowInspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings from 1896 to the present. A product from Elsevier.
- arXiv.org e-Print archive This link opens in a new windowarXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
- IOP Science This link opens in a new windowA platform for IOP-hosted journal content. It provides site-wide access to scientific, technical and medical content, and incorporates some of the most innovative technologies to enhance the user-experience.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Featured Journals
Advances in Condensed Matter PhysicsAdvances in Condensed Matter Physics is a peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes state-of-the-art reviews and original research papers in all areas of condensed matter physics.
Astronomy and Astrophysics ReviewThe Astronomy and Astrophysics Review publishes invited reviews by leading experts from around the world. Topics include all areas of astronomy and astrophysics; cosmic ray physics; studies in the solar system; astrobiology; developments in laboratory or particle physics directly relevant to astronomy; instrumentation; computational or statistical methods with specific astronomical applications; and other subjects relevant to astronomy and astrophysics.
Astroparticle PhysicsAstroparticle Physics publishes experimental and theoretical research papers in the interacting fields of Cosmic Ray Physics, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Cosmology and Particle Physics.
Journal of Physical Chemistry AThe Journal of Physical Chemistry A publishes studies on kinetics and dynamics; spectroscopy, photochemistry, and excited states; environmental and atmospheric chemistry, aerosol processes, geochemistry, and astrochemistry; and molecular structure, quantum chemistry, and general theory.
Nano LettersNano Letters reports on fundamental research in all branches of the theory and practice of nanoscience and nanotechnology, publishing preliminary, experimental, and theoretical results on the physical, chemical, and biological phenomena, along with processes and applications of structures within the nanoscale range.
Nature MaterialsNature Materials is a monthly multi-disciplinary journal aimed at bringing together cutting-edge research across the entire spectrum of materials science and engineering.
Nature PhysicsNature Physics publishes papers in all areas of physics, pure and applied.
Nuclear Physics BNuclear Physics B focuses on the domain of high energy physics, quantum field theory, statistical systems, and mathematical physics, and includes four main sections: high energy physics - phenomenology, high energy physics - theory, high energy physics - experiment, and quantum field theory, statistical systems, and mathematical physics.
Small: Nano MicroSmall provides a forum for experimental and theoretical studies of fundamental and applied interdisciplinary research, covering a broad spectrum of topics at the nano- and microscale at the interface of materials science, chemistry, physics, engineering, medicine, and biology.
Featured e-Books
Advances in Classical Field Theory by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9781608051953Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Atomic Physics by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9780198506966Publication Date: 2005-02-10
Atomic Structure Prediction of Nanostructures, Clusters and Surfaces by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9783527409020Publication Date: 2013-04-15
Cell Physiology Source Book by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS-EBLISBN: 9780123877574Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Gravitational-Wave Physics and Astronomy by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9783527408863Publication Date: 2011-10-17
Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS-EBLISBN: 9780080916781Publication Date: 2011-08-26
Modern Astrodynamics by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9780123735621Publication Date: 2006-10-19
Physics in Biology and Medicine by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9780123694119Publication Date: 2007-08-31
Physics in Nuclear Medicine by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-Clinical KeyISBN: 9781416051985Publication Date: 2012-04-12
Quantum Mechanics with Applications to Nanotechnology and Information Science by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS-EBLISBN: 9780444537867Publication Date: 2012-12-13
Statistical Physics of Fields by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS-Cambridge Books OnlineISBN: 9780521873413Publication Date: 2007-06-07
Theoretical Astrophysics by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebraryISBN: 9783527669783Publication Date: 2013-07-26
Research Guides
For more resources on Physical and Environmental Science, please visit:
Picture of the Display
Science on a Sphere
"Science On a Sphere is an amazing spherical display system that projects dynamic simulations of the Earth, its atmosphere, oceans and land. Simply put, it's a global display system that uses computers and video projectors to display planetary data onto a 6-foot diameter sphere, analogous to a giant animated globe."
"The Detroit Zoo is only the second zoo in the country to install the system as a permanent
attraction. Science On a Sphere was developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the agency that studies environmental data and provides the operating systems for this remarkable exhibit."
Fun with Physical Science
Loading ...