Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
December 2017
Selector: Rhonda McGinnis
Winter is a time for many beloved holidays! Whether you celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah, or Kwanzaa, enjoy the resources you may find here. Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year!!!!!!!
Image Credit: Virtual Motor City Collection, Washington Blvd, Detroit 11/30/1930.
Christmas Links
Classic Covers from the Saturday Evening Post: Listed Below are Links to several thematic collections of Holiday related covers from the magazine that almost defined the concept of Christmas in America.
- Christmas Inc.: A Brief History of the Holiday CardA very interesting illustrated article on the history of Christmas cards.
- A Brief History of Christmas TraditionsThis short article from TIME describes the origins of some of our most beloved traditions of the season.
- The True History of the Modern Day Santa Claus: The Coca-Cola CompanyCoca-Cola's description of how they were instrumental in creating the modern image of Santa.
- The Clause that RefreshesThis Snopes,com report debunks the myth that the Coca-Cola Company created the modern image of Santa Claus.
- Christmas Around the WorldEach year the Museum of Science & Industry's decorates a series of Christmas trees to represent the holiday traditions of various countries. This site describes each of these trees.
Hanukkah Links
- Chanukah (Hanukkah)A Very nice website with a wide variety of resources for understanding and celebrating Hanukkah.
- HannukahAnother very nice collection of resources for celebrating Hanukkah including recipes and videos.
- Hanukkah Food TraditionsThis site provides links to recipes for traditional foods eaten during the holiday and includes additional menu suggestions.
- The Obscure Origins and Evolution of the Hanukkah MenorahAn interesting description of how the Hanukkah Menorah came to be.
- Hanukkah for FamiliesGreat resource for families wishing to celebrate the Festival of Lights. Includes recipes, projects, games and information on the history, meaning, and traditions associated with the celebration.
Kwanzaa Links
- The Official Kwanzaa SiteThis site presented by the creator of Kwanzaa, Dr. Maulana Karenga, provides a wealth of information on the holiday, its principles, and its traditions.
- The Traditions of KwanzaaNice, thoughtful explanation of the meaning and traditions of Kwanzaa which is now celebrating its 51st year.
- Kwanzaa Activity VillageWonderful resource for parents who want to get their children interested in Kwanzaa. This site has crafts to make, pages to color, and printable worksheets to help children understand and join in the holiday.
- Kwanzaa CulinariansMarvelous site discussing the food traditions of Africa and the Caribbean. This site also provides an in depth recipe index for those seeking to add new flavors to their celebrations.
- Kwanzaa Food and TraditionsAs expected from the Food Network, this page discusses meals and dishes served during the Kwanzaa celebration and includes a link to The Best Kwanzaa Recipes.
eBooks
A Christmas Carol and Other Christmas Books by WSU Access ID & Password Required
A Christmas Carol has gripped the public imagination since it was first published in 1843, and it is now as much a part ofChristmas as mistletoe or plum pudding. This edition reprints the story alongside Dickens's four other Christmas Books: The Chimes, The Cricket on the Hearth, The Battle of Life, and The Haunted Man.
Christmas, Ideology and Popular Culture by WSU Access ID & Password Required
How do we understand Christmas? What does it mean? This book is a lively introduction to the study of popular culture through one central case study. It explores the cultural, social and historical contexts of Christmas in the UK, USA and Australia.
Inventing the Christmas Tree by WSU Access ID & Password Required.
Provides a history of the Christmas tree as a symbol of the holiday
Christmas in Germany by WSU Access ID & Password Required
This richly illustrated volume explores the invention, evolution, and politicization of Germany's favorite national holiday.
Holidays in Detroit--Virtual Motor City
