Subject Specialist Librarian
Learn About the Profession!
- Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, 4th ed.sThis major reference presents over 550 entries extensively reviewed for accuracy in seven print volumes or online. The new fourth edition, which includes 55 new entires and 60 revised entries, continues to reflect the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance.
- Encyclopedia of Library and Information ScienceThis is the 3rd edition of the "Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science" and it is online! The 2nd edition (in paper) is in the reference area of the Purdy/Kresge Library with the call number of Z 1006 .E57 2003.
- Librarians in the US from 1880-2009Oxford University Press's Blog presents "Librarians in the US from 1880-2009: An analysis using 120 years of census data" by Sydney Beveridge, Susan Weber and Andrew A. Beveridge,
- Library of Congress Subject Headings PDF Files"This page provides print-ready PDF files for the 37th Edition of the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). Data for the 37th edition was selected in January 2015."
- 2014 Competency Index for the Library Field (Compiled by WebJunction OCLC)"The WebJunction Competency Index has been a valuable resource for libraries since its introduction in 2009, helping staff identify and obtain the knowledge, skills and support needed to power relevant and vibrant libraries...Three elements in particular have been emphasized throughout: 21st century skills, accountability and community engagement."
Learn the Jargon!
Librarians have their own language and countless acronyms. Here are some links and articles to help you learn the jargon of the profession!
- Online Dictionary for Library and Information ScienceThis dictionary was created by Joan M. Reitz from Western Connecticut State University. It began in 1994 and is being continually updated.
- Library Jargon: Student Recognition of Terms and Concepts Commonly Used by Librarians in the ClassroomThis is an article about a study to determine how many library terms a group of college students can recognize. If you are coming in from a computer that is not on campus, the system will ask you for your access id and password before granting you full text access to this article.
How to Do Library Research
Using the WSU Libraries:
- Instruction: Learning ToolsOur Instruction Learning Tools link takes you to our re:Search, our self-guides interactive introduction to the library, citation management options including EndNote and Zotero and our Assignment Planner.
- YouTube--Wayne State LibrariesLink to online videos to help with searching for articles, using library databases, accessing full-text, and more.
- Borrowing & RenewalsThe Circulation Desk is our service point for Reserves materials, book check-out, study rooms, and interlibrary loan pick-up. Materials may be returned to the Circulation Desk or deposited in the book drop located outside the Law Library Building’s east entrance. Books may be renewed in-person, by telephone (313-577-6181), or you can access your library account online.
Ebooks on Library Research:
- Elements of Library ResearchThis E-BOOK has a wonderful glossary in the back explaining library and research terms.
- Librarian's Guide to Online Searching2015 4th edition
Searching Tips & Tricks
Research Tips & Tricks borrowed from Colorado State University that address Boolean Logic and other helpful steps when searching databases (ex. JSTOR) and discovery tools (ex. Summon):
Search Process Explanation
Construct a search strategy
- Define your topic
- What question do you want to answer?
- Identify key words and phrases that describe your answer
- Brainstorm alternate spellings, related terms, broader concepts, and more specific concepts
- Identify the subject area or areas which your topic may fall under
Select a database
- Browse the A-Z List of Databases for your subject area
- Pick 1-3 databases that look most relevant to your search
Test and refine your search
- Test your keywords and phrases in each database
- If you don't find what you're looking for right away, try some of the alternate terms you brainstormed earlier
- Refine your search using the side menu options
Advanced search techniques
- Phrase searching looks for the exact words in the exact order
- "sports injury" or "mass incarceration" or "solar power"
- Truncation (*) and wildcards (?) search for words that contain the entered text, while also looking for alternates
- rob* searches for robotics, robbery, and Robespierre.
- *oxi* matches terms such as antioxidant, dioxide, and paradoxical.
- wom?n searches for woman, women, and womyn.
- Combine search boxes using AND, OR, NOT. AND searches for both terms, OR searches for either term, NOT omits a term. Combining these operators with truncated and wildcard search strategies can enrich the results.
- ("solar power" AND nanocrystal) NOT chem*
- Na OR sodium
- (heart OR cardi*) AND treatment
Brainstorming Keywords
Keywords are the cornerstone of most database searches. A keyword search looks for matching words in titles, descriptions, abstracts, and other descriptive information. Sometimes the author provides keywords; the database will also assign subject headings (a controlled list of terms) to aid in searching.
Some ideas to get you brainstorming keywords:
- Browse journals to get a sense of how researchers talk about your topic.
- Talk with your research advisor (often your instructor) about their expectations for the project and topics that will be most helpful.
- Consider larger fields where your topic fits.
- Take note of popular stories on the topic that interest you. How do they talk about the topic differently from academic researchers?
- Consult a librarian. When you talk to someone outside of the field, you can get an outside perspective that can help guide your research.
What About Books?
- Oxford Companion to the Book"The Oxford Companion to the Book is a reference work, covering the book, broadly conceived, throughout the world from ancient to modern times. It includes traditional subjects such as bibliography, palaeography, the history of printing, editorial theory and practice, textual criticism, book collecting, and libraries, and newer disciplines such as the history of the book and the electronic book. It pays particular attention to how different societies shape books and how books shape societies."
- How to Use Use eBooksThis is research guide about how to use e-books.
Special Collections
- Taking Our Pulse: The OCLC Research Survey of Special Collections and Archives"Special collections and archives are increasingly seen as elements of distinction that serve to differentiate an academic or research library from its peers. In recognition of this, the Association of Research Libraries conducted a survey in 1998 (reported in Panitch 2001) that was transformative and led directly to many high-profile initiatives to "expose hidden collections." As this 2010 OCLC Research report reveals, however, much rare and unique material remains undiscoverable, and monetary resources are shrinking at the same time that user demand is growing." This survey is about Special Collections in the US and Canada.
- Survey of Special Collections and Archives in the United Kingdom and Ireland"It has become widely recognised across the academic and research libraries sector that special collections and archives play a key role in differentiating each institution from its peers. In recognition of this, Research Libraries UK (RLUK) established the workstrand ‘Unique and Distinctive Collections’ in support of its strategic aims for 2011-2014. The UDC workstrand will identify ways in which special collections can ‘make the most of their potential for research, teaching and community engagement.’ This survey forms part of the overall project by gathering data to enable better understanding of the sector. It was conducted as a collaboration between RLUK and OCLC Research." This is a 2013 report.
Textbooks for the Course
Introduction to Information Science by Call Number: Ebook: WSU ID & Password RequiredISBN: 9781783304950Publication Date: 2022-04-20The main topics covered include: foundations: philosophies, theories, concepts, ethics, and historical perspectives organizing, retrieving, and analyzing information and data information behavior, domain analysis, and digital literacies digital technologies, information systems, and information management information research methods and informetrics changing modes of information communication, and information society the nature and future of the information disciplines and professions.
Information Services Today by ISBN: 9781538156704Publication Date: 2022-03-22This third edition provides a thorough introduction, history, and overall state of the field, explores different types of information communities, the varying information needs within those communities, and the role of equity of access, diversity, inclusion, and social justice in those communities, addresses why information organizations and information and technological literacy are more important today than ever before, discusses how technology has influenced the ways that information professionals provide information resources and services in today's digital environment, highlights current issues and trends and provides expert insight into emerging challenges, innovations, and opportunities for the future, and identifies career management strategies and leadership opportunities in the information professions.
What is Boolean Logic?
When searching databases, most searchers use "boolean logic" to create searches that try to incorporate as many different ways of describing a subject or concept into one search.
- Boolean Logic is NOT LogicalBlog post explaining Boolean Logic.
Using connectors in your Boolean search queries. Borrowed from the Information Resource Centre Blog.
This video describes (in easy to understand language) the concept of boolean logic and how it is used in constructing good searches.
Boolean logic was invented by a British mathematician named George Boole. Here is a link to a short biography if you are interested in learning more about him: George Boole (WSU Access ID & Password Required)
What is Boolean Logic?
This second video uses boolean logic to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!
Searching Databases
- Tools Every Searcher Should Know and UseThis article is about seven tools that you should know about when you do database searching. If you are coming in from a computer that is not on campus, the system will ask you for your access id and password before granting you full text access to this article.
Information for Librarians - That's You!
- ResearchBuzz"ResearchBuzz is designed to cover the world of Internet research. To that end this site provides almost daily updates on search engines, new data managing software, browser technology, large compendiums of information, Web directories — whatever. If in doubt, the final question is, “Would a reference librarian find it useful?” If the answer’s yes, in it goes!In the last few years an effort has been made to build tools relevant to researchers and make them available on this site."
ALA Reference & User Services Association (RUSA) Goodreads Account
"Goodreads is an excellent way to keep track of the books you've read, are reading or want to read. RUSA has loaded information about current and past adult book award winners!"