Wayne State University
Menu
Help
Sign In

Library and Information Science

This is a guide for research in Library and Information Science.

Welcome!

Welcome!

This guide is your starting place for research in Library and Information Science.  In it, you will find library resources and high-quality web resources related to:

And course-specific content for core requirements:

Please contact me, if I can help you.  

Rachael Clark

This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty in the School of Library and Information Science.

Your Library Account

Searching for Library Resources

Summon Discovery Tool logo  

Summon allows you to search almost all of the library's full-text resources simultaneously. It can be a good place to start your search. The Powerpoint below provides a brief overview on using Summon and the short video demonstrates advanced search techniques.  Use the search box to give it a try!

Search here for articles, books, and more.


 

Wayne State University Library System Instructional Videos

WSULS YouTube Channel Banner

Basic Reference and Research Titles

The Elements of Library Research by Mary W. George; Mary W. W. George

This book introduces students to the information-seeking process. It focuses on basic concepts, strategies, tools, and tactics for research--in both electronic and print formats.

eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences , John D. McDonald (Editor); Michael Levine-Clark (Editor)

The fourth edition compiles the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and explores the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries. This major reference presents over 550 entries extensively reviewed for accuracy in seven print volumes or online. The new fourth edition, which includes 55 new entries and 60 revised entries, continues to reflect the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance.

eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password

Librarian's Guide to Online Searching by Suzanne S. Bell

Strategies and tools for efficient online searching in this guide to commonly available subject databases. Sample exercises and questions to test searching skills are based on real-world problems.

eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password

Online Searching by Karen Markey

A complete guide for the aspiring expert searcher, explaining important online searching concepts and practices, demonstrating them visually in figures and videos, and inviting you to get hands-on practice by completing its end-of-the-chapter questions and comparing your online experiences with its suggested answers.

eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password

School of Information Sciences

The Rose Ellias Carp Endowed Fund - Books Purchased

The Rose Ellias Carp Endowed Fund was established to support the purchase, maintenance and preservation of books, works, collection or other materials on or related to the subject of library and information science.  Mrs. Carp, a graduate of the Wayne University College of Education, was a librarian with the Detroit Public Schools.
Since its founding, this generous gift enabled the purchase of more than seventy new titles.  Please browse the most recent additions to the collection: 
Loading ...

Liaison Librarian

Rachael Clark's picture
Rachael Clark
Contact:
425 Purdy/Kresge Library
(313) 577-6709

Need Help?

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094

Other Relevant Guides

Want to Learn More?

Research Guides On Related Topics: 

Archives and Special Collections:
Data & Statistics
Special Topics: