Searching for Books in the WSU Libraries
Wayne State University Libraries have many books relevant to the study of Library and Information Science.
The eBooks collection is extensive and includes current publications. You can find them using Summon from the library website.
Most of the Library and Information Science print book collection is
located in the Purdy/Kresge Library and discoverable through the catalog. 
In general, Library and Information Science books have Library of Congress
call numbers in the Z to ZA range.
Search Google Books
Book Not @ Wayne?
If it is not available here, check MeL!
Search here to request and borrow books through MelCat, a statewide library network that includes the University of Michigan and Michigan State University library collections.
If it is not available through MeL, check WorldCat!
Search for an item in libraries near you.
ALA Reference & User Services Association (RUSA) Goodreads Account
"Goodreads is an excellent way to keep track of the books you've read, are reading or want to read. RUSA has loaded information about current and past adult book award winners!"
LIS eBook Collections
- IGI Global This link opens in a new windowIGI Global is an independent academic publisher dedicated to releasing high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarly research publications in academic subject areas of Business & Management; Scientific, Technical, & Medical (STM); and Education
- ScienceDirect LIS eBooks490+ eBooks on LIS topics.
- Taylor & Francis Reference & Information Science eBook Collection1700+ eBooks on LIS topics. Includes reference resources (almanacs, directories, encyclopedias).
How to Use eBooks
- eBooks at Wayne State UniversityHow to find and use eBooks in the Libraries' collections.
Library of Congress Classification
- Library of Congress ClassificationMost academic libraries are organized using the Library of Congress Classification system. Call numbers for books are assigned according to the subject matter of the book. The arrangement and numbering are related to areas of study.
Liaison Librarian
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094