Welcome!
This guide is your starting place for research in Library and Information Science. In it, you will find library resources and high-quality web resources related to:
- Article Databases
- Online Journals
- eBooks / Books
- Websites
- Citation,Writing, and Microsoft Office
- Professional Development
- Reference Works
- Library Services
And course-specific content for core requirements:
Please contact me, if I can help you.
Rachael Clark
This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty in the School of Library and Information Science.
Your Library Account
Searching for Library Resources
Summon allows you to search almost all of the library's full-text resources simultaneously. It can be a good place to start your search. The Powerpoint below provides a brief overview on using Summon and the short video demonstrates advanced search techniques. Use the search box to give it a try!
- Searching Summon [Powerpoint]A short powerpoint on Advanced Searching in Summon.
Wayne State University Library System Instructional Videos
- Library Help on YouTubeSubscribe to the wsuinst Channel on YouTube for videos on how to use the library.
School of Information Sciences
Basic Reference and Research Titles
The Elements of Library Research by Mary W. George; Mary W. W. George
This book introduces students to the information-seeking process. It focuses on basic concepts, strategies, tools, and tactics for research--in both electronic and print formats.
eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences , John D. McDonald (Editor); Michael Levine-Clark (Editor)
The fourth edition compiles the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and explores the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries. This major reference presents over 550 entries extensively reviewed for accuracy in seven print volumes or online. The new fourth edition, which includes 55 new entries and 60 revised entries, continues to reflect the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance.
eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password
Librarian's Guide to Online Searching by Suzanne S. Bell
Strategies and tools for efficient online searching in this guide to commonly available subject databases. Sample exercises and questions to test searching skills are based on real-world problems.
eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password
Online Searching by Karen Markey
A complete guide for the aspiring expert searcher, explaining important online searching concepts and practices, demonstrating them visually in figures and videos, and inviting you to get hands-on practice by completing its end-of-the-chapter questions and comparing your online experiences with its suggested answers.
eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password
Research Guides On Related Topics:
Archives and Special Collections:
- WSULS Special CollectionsSpecial Collections serves as a repository for materials regarding the history and development of children's literature; African American literature and culture; Detroit and Michigan history, art and literature; the sciences, including medicine and nursing; Judaica; and historical Michigan law.
Data & Statistics
- Reference Tools: StatisticsMichigan, United States, and International Statistics
- How to Find Social Sciences DataA WSU library guide to social science data for disciplines such as criminal justics, economics, educaton, gerontology, psychology, social work and sociology.
- Data @ WayneEfforts to promote data access, sharing, and preservation by the Wayne State University Libraries and School of Information Sciences
Special Topics:
- Research Guide: Intellectual FreedomPrivacy, Censorship, Banned Books, Freedom of the Press
- Research Guide: Information Architecture & UXUser-centered Design & Usability Testing
- WSU Libraries' Subject of the MonthA monthly display online and in the Purdy/Kresge Library featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.
- Research Guide: Childrens LiteratureThe Wayne State library Research Guide to Children's Literature has more information on finding resources, storytelling, books by genre, how to understand lexile scores and more.
- Scholarly Communications@WSUA guide for Faculty and Librarians covering Digital Commons, Author's Rights, Open Access, and other topics.
Liaison Librarian
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094