Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specialist Librarian
Chat or Email
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
This course guide for INF 6120, Access to Information, will help you learn about reference genres and the principles behind them. It includes tools and logic for effective search strategies.
Definition of Reference & Informational Genres
Reference and Informational Genres
The phrase “reference and informational genres” refers to types of literature that are distinctively formatted in such a way as to expedite the discovery of particular kinds of information. Such genres include almanacs, atlases, chronologies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and so on, that usually present informational content in brief, segmented displays, rather than in connected narratives or continuous expositions.
The need for such genres arises from the fact that efficient research cannot be done in large, unsorted collections of resources, whether printed or electronic. Some kind of categorization of the material is necessary to prevent information overload. While the mind cannot grasp huge numbers of individual items in relationship to each other, it can more easily discern relationships among broader—and fewer—categories into which the items may be sorted or assigned.
Mann, T. (2018). Reference and informational genres. In McDonald, J. D., Levine-Clark, M., & Taylor & Francis eBooks A-Z. (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, Fourth Edition (4th ed.). CRC Press. https://doi-org.proxy.lib.wayne.edu/10.1081/E-ELIS4
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences by The Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences,now in its fourth edition, compiles the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and explores the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries. This major reference presents over 550 entries extensively reviewed for accuracy in seven print volumes or online. The new fourth edition, which includes 55 new entires and 60 revised entries, continues to reflect the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance.
Call Number: eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password
Publication Date: 2017-11-13
More Helpful Research Guides
Textbook for the Course
WSU Access ID & Password Required
Reference and Information Services by
Call Number: [Electronic Book]
Publication Date: 2020-05-04
This revised and updated sixth edition continues the book's rich tradition, covering all phases of reference and information services with less emphasis on print and more emphasis on strategies and scenarios. The first half of the book provides an overview of reference services and techniques for service provision, including the reference interview, ethics, instruction, evaluation and assessment, and services to diverse populations including children. This part of the book establishes a foundation of knowledge on reference service and frames each topic with ethical and social justice perspectives. The second part of the book offers an overview of the information life cycle and dissemination of information, followed by an in-depth examination of information sources by type-including dictionaries, encyclopedias, indexes, and abstracts-as well as by broad subject areas including government, statistics and data, health, and legal information. This second part introduces the tools and resources that reference professionals use to provide the services described in the first half of the text. Activity boxes engage readers and invite them to reflect on what they are learning and to practice skills through real-life exercises. Conscious integration of critical theory and social justice perspectives offers critical reflection on the standards and practices of the field and encourages readers to consider alternate perspectives.
Highly Recommended Titles
Reference Interview Today by
Call Number: [Electronic Book]
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
More an art than a science, the reference interview requires not only knowing a specific set of skills, but also how to apply those skills in an ever-changing world. Good reference interviews accomplish three goals: establishing contact with the user, determining what the user's information need actually is, and checking to make sure that the answer actually meets that need completely. Built around timeless service principles including Ranganathan's Five Laws, The Reference Interview Today: Negotiating and Answering Questions Face to Face, on the Phone, and Virtually is a practical field guide to conducting reference interviews in every modality: face-to-face, phone, chat, text, virtual world. Seamlessly combining both time-honored principles and multiple technologies, this practical book demonstrates how librarians can be as relevant and necessary in the digital age as in the print world.
The Reference Interview Today by
Call Number: [Electronic Book]
Publication Date: 2011-06-02
Learn and perfect the skills needed to conduct satisfying reference interviews in the modern technological environment with this easy-to-use guide. In today's technology-driven world, reference librarians must serve users who come into the building as well as remote users who ask via various digital means. With virtual reference and social networking tools now commonplace, reference questions have become more complex and interdisciplinary. The Reference Interview Today will help reference librarians decide which tools and strategies will best serve their diverse group of patrons--in person and in cyberspace. This text covers the skills needed for traditional face-to-face reference and how they can be applied in 2.0 media. Best practices for culturally diverse, disabled, and "difficult" patrons; strategies for public and academic libraries; and virtual technologies are described.