Collection Strategy & Assessment Librarian
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
A reference book is often defined as "a book designed by the arrangement and treatment of its subject matter to be consulted for definite items of information rather than to be read consecutively," and a reference collection as a "collection of reference books and other materials in a library, useful for supplying authoritative information or identifying sources, kept together for convenience in providing information service, and generally not allowed to circulate." (ALA Glossary… 1998)
This page contains definitions of and examples of different types of reference sources including:
Almanacs and Yearbooks
Almanacs are usually published annually. Though they are not usually used for extensive research, they contain specific facts, statistics, tables and lists about people, places, events, countries, organizations, zip codes, and popular culture such as sports and entertainment. Generally, almanacs cover a broad period of time. Yearbooks contain similar information, but cover just a given year.
Examples include:
The Almanac of American Politics - 2016 by
The 2016 Almanac remains the gold standard of accessible political information, relied on by everyone involved, invested or interested in American politics. Highly regarded for its in-depth analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress, The Almanac is the tool you need to better understand the context of the people and perspectives shaping the issues that matter to you. The Almanac of American Politics is the must have resource for understanding the American political landscape. The 2016 edition includes: In-depth profile of every governor, Senator, and House member. Updated demographic information for every state and district, including information from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey, with new categories of economic, occupational, social and geographic data.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781938518294Publication Date: 2015-10-16
- Mental Measurements Yearbook: Tests in Print
Database of the annual publication from the first edition in 1938 through the present edition.
Atlases
Atlases contain an organized group of pictorial or illustrated political, cultural, physical, road, and/or thematic maps. Atlases may be organized around a specific subject, theme, or geographic area.
Examples include:
A People's Atlas of Detroit by
Detroit is widely known as the Motor City, but it has also given rise to some of the world's most important urban social movements. Edited by Linda Campbell, Andrew Newman, Sara Safransky, and Tim Stallmann, A People's Atlas of Detroit narrates the lived experiences of people engaged in political battles central to Detroit's future and that of urban America. This interdisciplinary volume features contributions by over fifty figures from movement-building efforts in Detroit, including activists, farmers, students, educators, scholars, not-for-profit and city government workers, and members of neighborhood block clubs. Developed from a community-based participatory project, the book speaks to the challenges of fighting for land and housing justice, food sovereignty, economic democracy, accountable governance, and the right to the city. A People's Atlas of Detroit weaves together maps, poetry, interviews, photographs, essays, and stories to critique status quo urban governance while elucidating radical visions for change. By drawing upon the collective analyses of Detroiters engaged in the front lines of struggle, A People's Atlas of Detroit argues that it is only by confronting racial injustice and capitalism head-on that communities can overcome the depths of economic and ecological crises afflicting cities today. This innovative collection builds bridges between multiple areas of social activism as well as current scholarship in geography, anthropology, history, and urban studies to inspire communities in Detroit and other cities towards transformative change.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780814342978Publication Date: 2020-02-19
Specialty Map Resource:
Map Librarianship by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780081000212Publication Date: 2016-11-03Identifies basic geoliteracy concepts and enhances reference and instruction skills by providing details on finding, downloading, delivering, and assessing maps, remotely sensed imagery, and other geospatial resources and services, primarily from trusted government sources.
Directories
Directories contain an organized list of people and/or organizations, and help one to find information such as addresses, phone numbers, and email addresses, etc. for the organizations or people included within the scope of that directory.
Examples include:
Directory of Rare Book and Special Collections in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland by
The Directory is the only publication to bring together rare book and special collections from all kinds of libraries across the British Isles and is an essential research tool for researchers and librarians throughout the world. Fully updated since the second edition was published in 1997, this comprehensive and up-to-date guide encompasses collections held in national libraries, academic libraries, public libraries, subscription libraries, clergy libraries, libraries for other professions, school libraries, companies, London clubs, museums and archives, and libraries in stately homes. Consulting the Directory is an essential first step in a research project and it can answer question such as, "Where can I best research the reception of Jane Austen's novels?"; "Can I find Civil War tracts in a library near me?"; "Is Thomas Carlyle's library intact and in the public sphere?"; "Does Britain have the resources to study Nazi school textbooks?"; "How do I arrange my research trip to study Tauchnitz publications?" The Directory: Provides a national, cross-sectoral overview of rare book and special collections Provides a quick and easy summary of individual libraries' holdings Directs researchers to the libraries most relevant for them Assists libraries to evaluate their special collections according to a 'unique and distinctive' model Enables libraries to make informed decisions about special collections acquisition and collaboration Helps booksellers and donors to target offers. Entries in the Directory provide full contact details, and descriptions of rare book and named special collections including quantities, particular subject and language strengths, and information about salient features such as provenance.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781783300167Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Indexes
Indexes are compilations on information, generally arranged either alphabetically or numerically, that indicate the location of related information either within or outside of the same resource.
Examples include:
Alphabetical Index to the First Lines of All Stanzas of Poetry by John and Charles Wesley by
This is the first-ever index of the first line of every stanza of all the poems and hymns in the publications of John and Charles Wesley, as well as those of other authors included in their publications. Two sources have been used as the basis for the creation of the index: (1) George Osborn, The Poetical Works of John and Charles Wesley, thirteen volumes published between 1868 and 1872; (2) S T Kimbrough, Jr., Oliver A. Beckerlegge, The Unpublished Poetry of Charles Wesley, three volumes published in 1988, 1990, and 1992. The index in volume 13 of Osborn's work was an attempt to produce a first-line index of all stanzas of the poems included in the thirteen-volume work. There were hundreds of omissions and occasional misspellings. Due to lack of space, first lines were often abbreviated, thus providing often only portions of first lines. In this index first lines of all poem stanzas are printed in full, omissions are included, and misspellings are corrected. This index also provides a comparable index for all previously unpublished poems in the Kimbrough/Beckerlegge volumes. This is the first comprehensive and reliable index to Wesley poetry, which will assist interpreters with the full range of John and Charles Wesley's verse. ""No one has done more than S T Kimbrough, Jr. to rescue the work of John and Charles Wesley from the hands of amateurs and 'Reverend Drones' (see p. 367). The present work is a herculean task and a labor of love: it provides a clear and accurate reference tool to those seeking to find a half-forgotten stanza or a mis-remembered line. It will be an indispensable first reference point for all serious inquirers into the hymns of the Wesley brothers, and for all scholars of their hymns."" -- J. R. Watson, Author of The English Hymn: A Critical and Historical Study ""This index will have a special place in the work space of Wesley scholars for years to come. Kuddos to S T Kimbrough, Jr. for this labor of love: meticulous, comprehensive, and accessible. Indices are never really meant to shimmer, but this one is pure gold nonetheless--a must have for anyone interested in lyrical theology."" --Paul W. Chilcote, Author of A Faith That Sings: Biblical Themes in the Lyrical Theology of Charles Wesley S T Kimbrough, Jr. is a Research Fellow of the Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition of Duke Divinity School. He is the founder of The Charles Wesley Society and has served as its president and editor of its journal, Proceedings of The Charles Wesley Society. As author/editor he has published many books on Charles Wesley, including: The Manuscript Journal of the Rev. Charles Wesley, M.A. (2 vols.), The Unpublished Poetry of Charles Wesley (3 vols.), and The Lyrical Theology of Charles Wesley.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781498241731Publication Date: 2017-10-13
Chronologies and Timelines
Chronologies and timelines summarize the advancement of an event or happening by supplying brief milestones in the progression of the event. The summaries will be presented day-by-day, year-by-year, or by another chronological breakdown.
Examples include:
A Chronology of the Roman Empire by
A Chronology of the Roman Empire provides a complete and comprehensive chronological reference for the entire Roman state and its neighbours. Following opening discussion of the ancient sources and the myth of the foundation of Rome, the events of each year to the fall of the last emperor in 476 are covered in detail, including listings of the elected consuls and major battles as well as political and social events. All material is derived from original sources. The introduction considers key historiographical questions and concerns of the period. Professor John Drinkwater considers the importance of questioning sources, most notably Livy, and what can be said with any authority. He places the period in its historical, political and cultural context and challenges some of the scholarship to date. This is a complete resource and indispensable tool for anyone studying the Roman Empire.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781441154781Publication Date: 2011-02-10
Gazetteers
A gazetteer is a geographical dictionary that includes brief descriptive, geographical, historical, and/or statistical information on specific places. Occasionally, a gazetteer may focus on a specific subject area.
Examples include:
The North Carolina Gazetteer by
Coldass Creek. Devils Elbow. Whim Knob. Mush Island. Here in one thick volume are 20,000 entries that locate the geographical features of North Carolina--counties, towns, cities, rivers, creeks, lakes, mountains, gaps, ridges, bays, sounds, inlets. All are listed and in many cases the derivation of the name and additional historical data are included. The North Carolina Gazetteer is a fascinating and indispensable reference for Tar Heels (and those who wish they were), tourists, students, historians, geographers, journalists, and genealogists.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780807812471Publication Date: 1976-04-08
Historical Gazetteer of the United States by
The first place-by-place chronology of U.S. history, this book offers the student, researcher, or traveller a handy guide to find all the most important events that have occurred at any locality in the United States.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 0415939488Publication Date: 2004-11-03
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Standard dictionaries give an alphabetical list of words and their definitions, but there are several useful variations also classified as dictionaries. Thesauri contain synonyms and antonyms (opposites) but usually don't define the words. There are also dialect and slang dictionaries, dictionaries of abbreviations and acronyms, dictionaries of quotations, and picture dictionaries. Dictionaries can be unabridged (general) or can be thematically organized in some way.
Examples include:
Dictionary of English Rhyming Slangs by
This reference work addresses a long-standing need in the study of a class of lexis which attracts attention from scholars and the general public alike. Based on years of extensive research, the dictionary presents a satisfying collection of the varieties of rhyming slang found in and around English-speaking communities worldwide. It covers all forms of rhyming slang in the anglophone world by users from differing social groups and walks of life: criminals, musicians, anglers, second-hand car dealers and sheep-shearers, among many others. Besides ordinary lexical items, this work also lists nicknames and one-off expressions found in culturally valued works, from the fields of literary fiction, poetry, comics, TV and radio series, and films. Each entry is accompanied by chronologically ordered citations from a wide variety of sources (printed and otherwise) showing a word's life and currency. The scope, size and approach of this significant compilation, supported by a substantial bibliography, make it an indispensable work of reference for anyone with an interest in English slang and a key starting point for future research on the origins, social history and development of this fascinating area of the English lexicon.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9783110529289Publication Date: 2017-08-07
Thesaurus of English Word Roots by
Horace G. Danner's A Thesaurus of English Word Roots is a compendium of the most-used word roots of the English language. As Timothy B. Noone notes in his foreword: "Dr. Danner's book allows you not only to build up your passive English vocabulary, resulting in word recognition knowledge, but also gives you the rudiments for developing your active English vocabulary, making it possible to infer the meaning of words with which you are not yet acquainted. Your knowledge can now expand and will do so exponentially as your awareness of the roots in English words and your corresponding ability to decode unfamiliar words grows apace. This is the beginning of a fine mental linguistic library: so enjoy " In A Thesaurus of English Word Roots, all word roots are listed alphabetically, along with the Greek or Latin words from which they derive, together with the roots' original meanings. If the current meaning of an individual root differs from the original meaning, that is listed in a separate column. In the examples column, the words which contain the root are then listed, starting with their prefixes, for example, dysacousia, hyperacousia. These root-starting terms then are followed by terms where the root falls behind the word, e.g., acouesthesia and acoumeter. These words are followed by words where the root falls in the middle or the end, as in such terms as bradyacusia and odynacusis.. In this manner, A Thesaurus of English Word Roots places the word in as many word families as there are elements in the word. This work will interest linguists and philologists and anyone interested in the etymological aspects of English language.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781442233256Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias contain full coverage of information about an area of knowledge. They can be general or can cover a specific subject, and contain alphabetically organized entries with varying detail. These are great starting points for fact-finding, getting background topic information, learning of key events and individuals, or starting a research project.
Examples include:
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by
Everything you ever wanted to know about the law, but couldn't afford to ask The law affects practically every aspect of our lives, and legal questions come up daily. When they do, turn to Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, a handy, information-packed desk reference. Written by Nolo's expert team of attorneys, this book answers more than 1,000 of the most frequently asked questions about everyday legal issues, including: Credit & debt Workplace rights Wills & trusts Buying a house Divorce Small claims court Domestic violence Adoption Traffic accidents Inventions Privacy rights Child custody & support Elder care Bankruptcy Noisy neighbors Home businesses Name changes Searches & seizures Tenant rights Criminal law The 11th edition is completely updated to reflect the latest laws, government agency contacts, and resources. There's also a helpful glossary of legal terms and an appendix on how to do your own legal research.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781413327748Publication Date: 2020-04-28
Encyclopedia of Caves by
Encyclopedia of Caves, Third Edition, provides detailed background information to anyone with a serious interest in caves. This includes students, both undergraduate and graduate, in the earth, biological and environmental sciences, and consultants, environmental scientists, land managers and government agency staff whose work requires them to know something about caves and the biota that inhabit them. Caves touch on many scientific interests in geology, climate science, biology, hydrology, archaeology, and paleontology, as well as more popular interests in sport caving and cave exploration. Case studies and descriptions of specific caves selected for their special features and public interest are also included. This book will appeal to these audiences by providing in-depth essays written by expert authors chosen for their expertise in their assigned subject. Features 14 new chapters and 13 completely rewritten chapters Contains beautifully illustrated content, with more than 500 color images of cave life and features Provides extensive bibliographies that allow readers to access their subject of interest in greater depth
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780128141250Publication Date: 2019-05-10
Bibliographies
Bibliographies compile comprehensive lists of resources that share one or more common attributes about a particular subject, person, geographical area, etc. Some bibliographies also briefly describe the resources that are listed. One should consult a bibliography when they want citations that will guide them to specific resources.
Examples include:
The Bibliography of Appalachia by
The Appalachian Mountains are home to many myths and stereotypes, but they are also the focus of intense academic interest. This bibliography of books, articles, monographs, and dissertations features more than 4,700 entries, divided into twenty-four subject areas such as activism and protest; Appalachian Studies; arts and crafts; community culture and folklife; education; environment; ethnicity, race and identity; health and medicine; media and stereotypes; recreation and tourism; religion; and women and gender. The region is defined as including all or portions of New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Maryland, West Virginia, Kentucky, Virginia, North Carolina, Tennessee, South Carolina, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia. Two indexes--one of authors, compilers, editors and interviewers, the other of subjects--conclude the bibliography.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780786441334Publication Date: 2009-01-30
Biographies
Biographies contain information about people, both living and deceased - they can contain brief summaries of data about individuals, contain lists of citations of resources about a person, or be full length books detailing the life of one particular person. Biographies may cover general important figures, or may be organized thematically/geographically, etc. One would use a biography to look up facts or detailed information about a person or group of people.
Examples include:
Women in Music by
It began with a brutal attack in a posh Minneapolis neighborhood. And from the first killing to the next, Todd Mills was at the center of the story. The son of Polish immigrants, Todd had changed his name and risen to the top of his field as a TV news reporter, winning two Emmy Awards along the way. Then his world came crashing down. Suddenly, the double life he'd hidden for so long was brutally uncovered: he was the secret lover of the first man to die. When Michael was murdered, Todd lost everything--including a life lived as a lie. Now he's out of the closet and under suspicion, desperately investigating the killings himself, moving through a world of gay bars, steamy nightclubs, and double identities--where the one secret that matters most belongs to a killer who will strike again . . . and again.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 0810827697Publication Date: 1993-11-01
The 20th Century by
The 20th Century is the eighth installment in the revised and expanded Great Lives series, which provides in-depth critical, biographical essays from around the world. This ten-volume set offers 1,330 extensive biographies of major personages in world history (many still living) from 1901-2000.
Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781587653452Publication Date: 2008-09-16
