Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

HIS 3440 American Medicine in the 20th Century

This is a guide for students in the WSU course "American Medicine in the 20th Century." This guide provides specific examples of books, electronic resources and web sites to use when researching this topic.

List of Electronic Journals

Finding a Specific Article

If you are looking for a specific article and you know its title, the name of the publication it appeared in, and other citation information, you can enter that information into our Citation Linker to see if Wayne State has a copy of it.

Citation Linker

Search Google Scholar


Finding Full Text


When the full text of the article is not available in the database, use the "Search for Article" (ArticleLinker) button .

The system will search for full text and return the options in a separate window.

Click on the Article link that appears in the new window. You may have to click through 2-3 pages until you reach the PDF link for the article.

If you receive a red message that the article is not available, use the "Request digital delivery" link below the message and follow the instructions to order the article. Digital delivery sends a PDF version of the article to you. You will receive notice via email, usually within 48 hours.

If you continue to have difficulty retrieving the article, contact Ask-a-Librarian or a reference desk at one of the libraries.

Article Reach Direct

Use this link to order an article that is NOT available from the WSU Libraries or databases. You will need to fill in citation information in the form provided. NOTE: You can also use this form to order a copy of an article that is in STORAGE at WSU.

Where are the print journals?


Most print issues of journals in history are located on the second floor of the Kresge wing of the Purdy-Kresge Library. They are arranged alphabetically by title. There may also be some titles located in the Adamany Undergraduate Library.

Check the library catalog to see whether a journal is available in print or online.

What is a scholarly article?

View this short video from Cornell University to get a quick overview of what a scholarly article looks like. And be sure to Ask-a-Librarian if you need some help deciding whether a source is scholarly.

Liaison Librarian

Cynthia Krolikowski's picture
Cynthia Krolikowski
Contact:
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
(313) 577-3311