The AAHM is a scholarly association dedicated to the study of the history of health, healing and disease. It is the longest continuously functioning academic society of this kind in North America. The membership of the Association includes historians, health professionals, librarians, curators and archivists as well as graduate students in history and the health sciences."

"Produced by the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine and MPublishing, University of Michigan Library. This is an original, open access digital collection of archival, primary, and interpretive materials related to the history of the 1918 influenza pandemic in the United States. This virtual collection includes approximately 50,000 pages of original materials that document the experiences of diverse communities in the United States in fall 1918 and winter 1919 when influenza took the lives of approximately 675,000 Americans."

"The Bullitt History of Medicine Club promotes the understanding and appreciation of the historical foundations upon which current medical knowledge and practice is constructed, by encouraging social and intellectual exchanges between faculty members, medical students, and members of the community."

"The Center for the History of Medicine is one of the world’s leading collections in the history of health care and medicine, attracting researchers from around the world to consult its rare books and journals, archives and manuscripts, photographs and prints, and art and artifact collections. The history of medicine plays a critical role in informing contemporary medicine, at the same time that it informs our understanding of the larger society within which medicine is embedded."

"The Center for the History of Medicine was founded in 1990 and is a unit of the University of Michigan Medical School. The mission of the Center for the History of Medicine is to conduct scholarly research on the history, culture and philosophy of medicine; to instruct and collaborate with our students, colleagues, and the broader community on these topics; to place contemporary medical dilemmas in context with past events and, thus, help inform public health and medical policies."

"The Clendening History of Medicine Library and Museum is the rare books and manuscripts library of the University of Kansas Medical Center. We actively collect rare books as well as current works in the history of medicine, nursing, and the allied professions."

"With the collaboration of Richard H. Siderits, M.D., of the Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital at Hamilton, New Jersey, the Historical Library is making available through the Web several popular medical texts from the 15th through 18th centuries."

"The European Association for the History of Medicine and Health (EAHMH) was established in 1989, with its seat in Strasbourg. The very position of its seat represents the truly European nature of its mission and outlook. We aim to foster research and the international exchange of views on all issues concerning health and medicine in Europe and their connections with the extra-European world. For this purpose, EAHMH attracts members world-wide, from North America to Australasia."

"The FDA Notices of Judgment Collection is a digital archive of the published notices judgment for products seized under authority of the 1906 Pure Food and Drug Act.

"The History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine collects, preserves, interprets, and presents materials documenting the history of medicine, biomedical science, health and disease in all time periods and cultures. It provides researchers and the public with access to manuscripts, books, photographs, films and other historical resources."

"The History of Medicine Collections at Duke's Medical Center Library & Archives include over 20,000 monographs and 4,000 manuscripts, as well as photographs, illustrations, medical instruments, medals, and a variety of medical artifacts."

This is a site maintained by the History of the Health Sciences Section of the Medical Library Association.

"In Their Own Words documents how NIH researchers answered questions when asked to recall the early days of HIV/AIDS. In launching this web site, we commemorate the 20-year struggle to confront the deadly HIV/AIDS pandemic.

"The Institute, founded in 1929 with Dr. Welch as its first Director, contains the Historical Collection and the Department of the History of Medicine. The Historical Collection ranks among the best such collections housed in American medical schools, and is one of the few to be directly linked with a major research and graduate teaching program, The collection contains about forty thousand volumes, including runs of more than 300 journals."

"The International Society for the History of Medicine (ISHM) was founded in Paris in 1921. The purpose of the Society is to assist and support the historical study of all questions relating to the medical and biomedical sciences and to all branches of the healing arts. Specifically, the Society seeks to improve communication between individuals and professional groups throughout the world interested in these disciplines to promote the teaching and spread of knowledge on these topics."

"This Web site features 7,349 digital objects. Journal articles were not digitized but users can link dynamically to the articles if their library subscribes to the journal. Users should also be aware that due to copyright restrictions, not all items listed in the finding aid will be available online. To see these materials, contact the Special Collections Library (special.collections@umich.edu).

"History of Science and Medicine is a semi-autonomous, interdisciplinary Program in the History Department. It provides a framework in which students at all levels can examine the development of science, technology, and medicine in relationship with society."

"Since 1954 the Regional Oral History Office has been interviewing leading participants in or well-placed witnesses to major events in the development of Northern California, the West, and the Nation. Oral history is a method of collecting historical information through tape-recorded interviews between a narrator with firsthand knowledge of historically significant events and a well-informed interviewer, with the goal of preserving substantive additions to the historical record."

SSHM is based in r=the Ubnited Kingdom. "Since its inaugural meeting in 1970, the Society for the Social History of Medicine (SSHM) has pioneered inter-disciplinary approaches to the history of health, welfare, medical science and practice. Consequently, its membership consists of those interested in a variety of disciplines, including history, public health, demography, anthropology, sociology, social administration and health economics."

"The Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL) offers integrated searching of tobacco industry documents from a variety of companies. Through the support of the American Legacy Foundation, the LTDL will maintain this data through a permanent, stable interface. These collections are comprised of tobacco industry documents from the late nineteenth century up through the present with the bulk of the collections dated 1950 through 2002."

"This collection consists of correspondence, scrapbooks, clippings, college records, images, diaries, publications and ephemera documenting the history of women physicians beginning with the first medical school for women, Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania (WMCP). Founded in 1850, WMCP trained thousands of women physicians who practiced in all parts of the world, and provided rare opportunities for women to teach, practice, perform research and manage a medical school."

"The Section of the History of Medicine is a freestanding unit in the Yale University School of Medicine engaged with research and teaching in the history of medicine, the life sciences, and public health."

"The main objective of posters, as with other communications media, is to influence attitudes, to sell a product or service, or to change behavior patterns. Public health posters are clearly in the third category, their purpose being to alter the consciousness of the public to bring about an improvement in health practices."

"This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto. Each illustration has been fully indexed using medical subject headings (MeSH), and techniques of illustration, artists, and engravers have been identified whenever possible."

"The Clendening Library unveiled its latest digitization project on May 15, 2000 when it publicly made available the Digital Clendening (DC). The DC is a joint effort of many people and could not have been accomplished without the enthusiastic teamwork of many Library personnel. The largest collections within the DC are the Selection of Letters Written by Florence Nightingale and Classic Images in Medicine.

"The Medical Center Library's Historical Images in Medicine (HIM) collections encompass over 3,000 photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences. Special collections in HIM include Bartisch's Ophthalmodouleia, the Bookplates, the Four Seasons and the Stewart Album."

"Our intention is to tell—principally through advertising images—the story of how, between the late 1920s and the early 1950s, tobacco companies used deceptive and often patently false claims in an effort to reassure the public of the safety of their products.

"The Index of Medieval Medical Images project began in 1988 and aimed to describe and index the content of all medieval manuscript images (up to the year 1500) with medical components held in North American collections. The goal of this 2001 pilot project was to make a substantial sample of the images and descriptions available via a searchable database on the Web."

"These unique sets of several hundred images from the 5,000 volume John Martin Rare Book Room have been selected from some of the more striking works in the collection and include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics.

"The Historical Library contains a large and unique collection of rare medical books, medical journals to 1920, pamphlets, prints, and photographs, as well as current works on the history of medicine. The notable Clements C. Fry Print Collection has fine prints and drawings from the 16th century to the present on medical subjects by artists such as Gillray, the Cruikshanks, Hogarth, and Daumier."

"A database of over 600 advertisements and historical documents dated between 1911 and 1958, relating to the creation and influence of health-related advertising."

"A collection of small, colorfully illustrated advertising cards touting a particular medicine and its many cures. The illustrations often have little to do with any of the ailments purported to be cured. They were pure advertising and very collectible. The era of patent medicine began to unravel in the U.S. with the passage of the first Pure Food and Drug Act in 1906."

"The Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library (PHDIL), is a collaborative effort between the Scott Memorial Library of Thomas Jefferson University and The Historical Society of Pennsylvania. PHDIL includes a variety of photographs, art work and portraits among its over 3,000 images."

"Hundreds of images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century, in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented by manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs."

"Tobacco.org is a free resource center focusing on tobacco and smoking issues. It features tobacco news, information, assistance for smokers trying to quit, alerts on tobacco control issues, and open consideration of all aspects of the spectrum of issues concerning tobacco, nicotine, cigarettes and cigars. It began in 1988 on Compuserve. A BBS (Electronic Bulletim Board Service) began in 1993, and the website began in 1996. Since 2000 it has been run by Gene Borio and Michael Tacelosky."

"This collection contains historical images from the Wellcome Library collections, Tibetan Buddhist paintings, ancient Sanskrit manuscripts written on palm leaves, beautifully illuminated Persian books and much more. The Biomedical Collection holds over 40 000 high-quality images from the clinical and biomedical sciences."