Skip to main content
Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Cass Corridor Culture: In and Around Wayne State, 1960s-1980s: Welcome

Welcome

The Cass Corridor and the surrounding Wayne State community have a rich cultural heritage in art, poetry, music and politics. Explore it here!


Blogs

The Photographs of Leni Sinclair - John Sinclair writes about meeting his wife Leni and their early days in Detroit

Peter Werbe's Website

Underground Press

The Warren-Forest Sun - Although these entries are listed as being from the "Ann Arbor Sun", the earlier entries are from its predecessor, the Warren-Forest Sun. They includes advertisements for the Grande Ballroom, updates on activities from the Artists' Workshop, reviews of MC5 concerts, and other day-to-day campus activities. --From the Ann Arbor District Library's digital collection, "Freeing John Sinclair".

The Fifth Estate - Founded by Harvey Ovshinsky in 1965, this was among the first of the underground newspapers of the 1960's. --From the University of Michigan's Labadie Collection, "Fifth Estate Records 1967-2003".

Mobile Access

Scan to access the mobile version of this guide with your Smartphone.

At WSU's Undergraduate Library

Cass Corridor Culture: In and Around Wayne State, 1960s - 1980s


See examples of Cass Corridor artwork from the University Art Collection; samples of published broadsides and bookmarks, and original art from the libraries' Alternative Press Collection archive; a large wall panel of poems by Detroit's poets; and music ephemera including a display of Grande Ballroom postcards. 

Located on the 3rd floor of the Undergraduate Library. Collaboration of the Wayne State University Art Collection and Wayne State University Libraries.


Experience the art, poetry, music, and culture of the Cass Corridor through Ken Mikolowski's essay, "Time and Place:  Art of Detroit's Cass Corridor from the Wayne State University Collection". It can also be viewed on the third floor of the Adamany Undergraduate library.

 

Images from the Cass Corridor

Cobb's Corner, from the Virtual Motor City Collection

View other images from the Cass Corridor in the Virtual Motor City Collection.

Tribes of the Cass Corridor

Tribes of the Cass Corridor is a website that informally documents the various people, places, and threads of the Cass Corridor Culture, including discussion forums, commentary, and reader contributions. It contains email links to many figures involved in the area over the past several decades.

From the Library