Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Honors

This guide is created to assist Honors students with their first-year seminar, City One

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for Honors!

I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research for the Honors 1000: City One seminar. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty in Honors.

I am available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to Honors. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.

Judith Arnold

Liaison Librarian for the Irvin D. Reid Honors College


The guide consists of several pages detailing our resources in these areas:

Paper #1: Who Are We?

Resources on this page can help locate background information on ethnic groups, provide historical context, and information on urban history and culture to help write about your character. The databases recommended on this page will help you find scholarly articles. Databases for historical newspapers are included here and can contain articles or visuals to serve as primary sources.

Paper #2: Where Are We Going?

The resources on this page are focused on information on Detroit and its history to help you research your Detroit site and answer the question, Where Are We Going?       

Paper #3: What Should We Do?​ 

Use these resources to locate information about a current issue in Detroit and answer the question, What Should We Do?

Citation Management Tools

Use a citation management tool to keep track of your sources and to help you format your bibliography. Online training and resources are available for EndNote, EndNote Web, RefWorks, and Zotero.

Need Help? Ask the Honors Librarian

Judith Arnold
Contact:
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
313.577.8368
Subjects:Honors

Meet the Honors Librarian

The Honors College

Homepage

http://honors.wayne.edu/

Contact Information

By telephone: (313) 577-3030
By fax: (313) 577-6425
By e-mail: honors@wayne.edu

By U.S. Mail:

Irvin D. Reid Honors College
Wayne State University
2100 Undergraduate Library
5155 Gullen Mall
Detroit, MI 48202

 

About the Department

Honors provides a community of scholars within a large urban research university.

It is the mission of Honors to promote informed, engaged citizenship as the foundation for academic excellence in a diverse global setting.

More... http://honors.wayne.edu/mission.php