Skip to main content
All libraries remain closed, but we're here to support you remotely: COVID-19 Updates from the Library System

NFS 2130 - Introductory Food Science

Beginning your project

Welcome to the Research Guide for NFS 2130. This guide will help you complete your Processed Foods Project.

Choosing your topic: Browsing some of the reference books and encyclopedias at the Purdy-Kresge Library can help you identify a topic.

Research your topic: This guide points you to some key resources to use in your research.

  • Books in the library
  • Encyclopedias
  • Reference books
  • Knovel Library Database
  • eBooks
  • Internet Resources

eBook Resources

The WSU Libraries have many eBooks that can help you research your topic. Here are a few examples.

Nutrition eBook Database

 


eBooks you may find helpful:

Internet Resources

Classic Catalog Search

Search here for books, media, and the titles of journals we own.

Books in the Library

The Wayne State University Library System has many books on processed foods. You can search the Library catalog to find books on your topic.

If you are interested in using a book from the Storage, you may use the Get It! feature in the catalog to request books.  For more information on Get It! click here.  For a video on how to use Get It! click here.

Books in the WSU libraries are arranged by call number. Many of these titles can be found at the Purdy-Kresge Library, either in the Reference collection on the first floor or in the general collection on the 3rd Floor. Call numbers related to Food Science are listed below:

SF1-1100 Animal Culture (Meat and Dairy)
TP368-659 Food Processing and Manufacture
TX341-641 Nutrition, Foods and Food Supply

 


Encyclopedias 

Encyclopedias are a great place to begin your research.

 


Reference Books

The WSU Libraries have many reference books that can help you research your topic. Here are a few examples.