Keeping Up To Date
Keeping Up With the Literature in Your Field
- Browzine
BrowZine is a platform that provides one-stop access to journals in our collection. You are able to browse through available journals and issues by subject, and can access any articles of interest directly from the service.
BrowZine is also available in app form for iOS and Android devices. More information on the BrowZine app can be found here
Citation Management Apps
- Citation Management Compare [Handout]This provides a comparison of EndNote Desktop, EndNote Online, Zotero and RefWorks citation management applications
Zotero Citation Manager (Beginner Level)
Zotero is a free app that lets you create and save a library of your sources, take notes, and use those sources with Word, Google Docs, or LibreOffice to integrate the citations in your paper and create a properly formatted bibliography. Recommended for Undergraduates and all levels of students in the Social Sciences or Humanities. You need to have your own personal computer in order to use the word processor integration to create bibliographies
RefWorks Citation Manager (Beginner Level)
RefWorks is a cloud-based licensed citation management app available free to all Wayne State students, faculty, and staff. It can collect citations from databases and Google Scholar, format bibliographies in lots of citations styles, and works with Word and Google Docs to insert citations and build reference lists as you write. Recommended for Undergraduates. RefWorks is also a good option if you work on lots of group research projects, or use public computers and need a cloud-based option.
EndNote Citation Manager (Advanced Level)
EndNote citation management software is licensed software available for purchase (at a significantly discounted rate) by all Wayne State students, faculty and staff. It can format bibliographic entries in almost every citation style and works with most word processors to insert citations and build reference lists as you write. Citation information can be entered manually or export directly from the library's online databases. Recommended for Graduate Students in the Sciences or Engineering.
Apps to Find Full-Text
Here are some apps to use to see if you can find an article in full-text online from your internet search results.
- LibKey Nomad (Chome Extension)LibKey Nomad automatically provides instant links to full text content for article subscribed to by WSU Libraries - or open access alternatives - as you do research on the web and come across literature.
View our quick guide to using LIbKey Nomad. - KopernioKopernio is a chrome browser plug-in you can use to try to find the full-text of an article. Automatically provides instant links to full text content for article subscribed to by WSU LIbraries.
- Open Access ButtonA chrome extension that helps you connect to full-text open access articles.
- UnpaywallAn open database of 25,843,316 free scholarly articles. Unpaywall harvests Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositorie.
Impact Factors
- Journal citation reports This link opens in a new windowThe Journal citation reports provides publisher-independent data, metrics and analysis of the world’s most impactful journals included in the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI). A product of Clarivate.
- SciMago Journal & Country RankThe SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.).
- Library Guide to Research Impact and Online Researcher ProfilesTips and tools for assessing the impact of journals, journal articles, and researchers and for boosting one's online researcher profile.