Library Support for Faculty

Database Alerts

Many databases allow you to set up automated emails to notify you when new content fitting your alert parameters is added to the database. This could be a new issue of a particular journal, new results for a saved search, new citations of a given article, or new work by a particular author.

Setting up database alerts often requires creation of a (free) personal account with the database. This is completely separate from your WSU account, and you can use whatever email and password for the account that you'd like.

Below you'll find tutorials related to specific databases/platforms, but the process is broadly similar on all of them.

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO is a platform used by over 80 databases (including Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, MLA International Bibliography, and Social Work Abstracts) with content including scholarly and trade articles, newspapers, and ebooks. An ESBCOhost account allows you to set up alerts for single or multiple simultaneous databases, customized to your search specifications.

IEEE Xplore

IEEE Xplore covers Electrical and Electronics Engineering and related fields, and includes content such as scholarly journals, trade publications, technical papers, standards, ebooks, and conference publications.

PubMed

PubMed, an effort of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), is a publicly-accessible database of scholarly materials in the health sciences and related fields. PubMed@Wayne, accessible through the library's website, provides additional access options based on the library's subscriptions.

Web of Science

Web of Science focuses on materials in the Sciences and Social Sciences, and consists primarily of scholarly journals and conference proceedings. It has a special focus on tracking citations and providing that information to subscribers.

BrowZine

Google Scholar Alerts

Search alerts

To set up an alert for any Google Scholar search:

  1. Perform that search in Google Scholar
  2. Click on the "Create alert" button, usually at the bottom of the left-hand column
  3. Adjust the search query, your email, or the number of items you'd like to see included

You will now receive emails to the indicated account whenever new items appear in the results of that search.

Citation alerts

To set up an alert for new items citing a particular article:

  1. Search in Google Scholar for the article of interest
  2. In the search results, click on the "Cited by" link in the entry for that article
  3. Click on the "Create alert" button, and adjust settings as desired

You will now receive emails to the indicated account whenever a new item appears which cites that article.

Author alerts

In order to create an author alert, that author must have created a Google Scholar account (if an author has a Google Scholar account, you will be able to click on their name when it appears in search results).

To set up an alert for new works by or citations to a particular author:

  1. Search for an article by that author
  2. Click on their name as it appears below the title of that article in the search results
  3. Click on the blue "Follow" button towards the top of the page
  4. Select the types of events you'd like to receive alerts about and enter your email

-- OR --

  1. Search for that author in Google Scholar by name
  2. User profiles will appear at the top of the search results; click on the name of the correct author profile
  3. Click on the blue "Follow" button towards the top of the page
  4. Select the types of events you'd like to receive alerts about and enter your email

You will now receive emails to the indicated account whenever one of the indicated events occurs.