Introduction
This guide is designed to help teachers make the most out of teaching United States History to high school students. The left column contains resources based on the most recent research into teaching practices that work. The right hand column contains resources for developing useful lesson plans that will engage and help students learn effectively.
Standards Links
The following links are presented as a reference for teachers to quickly examine the applicable standards for World History in Social Studies.
-
High School Content ExpectationsThis document includes all of the State of Michigan's High School Content Expectations for Social Studies in grades 9-12.
-
Common Core State StandardsThe listing and description of each of the Common Core State Standards for Grades 9-10.
Teaching Research
Books
-
Teaching Information Literacy Skills to Social Sciences Students and Practitioners
by
Teaching Information Literacy to Social Sciences Students & Practitioners is a second discipline-based casebook from ACRL. This volume is based on the ACRL Information Literacy Competency Standards and presents cases on learning situations and how they can be analyzed and addressed. Also included are descriptions of instruction sessions for each case, notes, and teaching resources. Each case explicitly reflects one or more of the ACRL Information Literacy Standards. resources to librarians doing instruction in the social sciences. Contributors cover such topics as data literacy, visual literacy, and developmental research skills training. Information on teaching undergraduate, graduate, and international students, and how to incorporate information literacy into various social science curricula are also presented.
Call Number: ZA 3075 .T43 2006ISBN: 0838983898Publication Date: 2006-07-01 -
Teaching Information Literacy
by
A great challenge most instructors face, experienced as well as those new to the field, is to create and deliver diverse, dynamic instruction that will provide students with the tools and knowledge they need to conduct research for their courses and to carry those skills to the workplace. Teaching Information Literacy meets that challenge by providing teaching librarians and others who deliver instruction in information literacy fresh approaches to teaching specific concepts, such as developing a topic and thesis, constructing Boolean search strategies, and evaluating the credibility of a source. The primary pedagogical framework for this book is a concept-based approach that teaches students the information seeking strategies and critical thinking abilities needed to do effective research. Crucial to this approach is the emphasis on thinking skills, which include the basic skills (observing, comparing, contrasting, and classifying) and the more complex skills (analysis, logical reasoning, problem solving, and evaluating). Chapters are arranged sequentially to simulate a typical research process and discuss preparing a research topic and thesis; focus on the search strategies and content evaluation for online book catalogs, periodical databases, and Internet search engines; and give examples of Boolean search methodology that can be applied to each of these research tools. Within each chapter, a set of learning objectives is discussed, followed by class activities, instructor guides, and assessment tools developed by the author and other instructors. This useful book will assist instructors in developing custom assessment instruments and will help them to adapt pertinent content to deepen and enliven lectures.
Call Number: ZA 3075 .G38 2008ISBN: 9780810852020Publication Date: 2007-11-28 -
Information Literacy Instruction That Works
by
This text provides strategies and techniques for teaching college and university freshmen, community college students, students with disabilities, and those in distance learning programs. It contains approaches to teaching students in the popular programs of study.
Call Number: ZA 3075 .I537 2006ISBN: 9781555705732Publication Date: 2006-07-01 -
Information Literacy Instruction
by
A discussion of the theory and practice of library instruction. Chapters cover topics such as conceptual models for teaching critical thinking, programme management, visions for the future, and more. The CD-ROM includes tables on various instructional modes, a database, handouts, and more.
Call Number: ZA3075.G73 2001ISBN: 1555704069Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Articles
-
Metacognition Needed: Teaching Middle and High School Students to Develop Strategic Learning Skills Joseph, Nancy. "Metacognition Needed: Teaching Middle and High School Students to Develop Strategic Learning Skills." Preventing School Failure 54.2 (2010): 99-103. ProQuest. Web. 28 June 2016.
-
Teaching Social Studies to High School Students with Learning Problems Steele, Marcee M. "Teaching Social Studies to High School Students with Learning Problems." The Social Studies 2007th ser. 98.2 (2010): 59-63. Web.
-
Liberating learning: Thinking beyond ‘the grade’ in field-based approaches to teaching Malam, L. and Grundy-Warr, C. (2011), Liberating learning: Thinking beyond ‘the grade’ in field-based approaches to teaching. New Zealand Geographer, 67: 213–221. doi: 10.1111/j.1745-7939.2011.01213.x
-
A Study of the Teaching Methods of High School History Teachers A. Wiersma. A study of the teaching methods of high school history teachers The Social Studies, 2008 (May/June), pp. 111–116
-
Teaching towards historical expertise. Developing a pedagogy for fostering causal reasoning in history Stoel, G., van Drie, J., & van Boxtel, C. (2015). Teaching towards historical expertise. Developing a pedagogy for fostering causal reasoning in history. Journal of Curriculum Studies, 47, 49–76.10.1080/00220272.2014.968212 [Taylor & Francis Online], [Web of Science ®]
Teaching United States History
Books
-
Using Deliberative Techniques to Teach American History by The second volume in IDEA's Deliberating Across the Curriculum Series, Using Deliberative Techniques to Teach Financial Literacy is written for busy teachers who want to bring innovation and participatory teaching techniques into their classroom. Using the methodologies of debate, role plays, simulations, and presentations, teachers can teach essential financial literacy objectives to secondary level students.Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9781932716399Publication Date: 2009-01-01
-
United States History
by
This important work has been completely revised and expanded with the addition of online databases, web sites and CD-ROM titles. It identifies and describes hundreds of reference books that pertain to American history. Entries offer full descriptive, and in some cases, evaluative annotations. Arranged topically, the guide begins with an introduction and a chapter on sources of general importance. Subsequent chapters cover U.S. history in terms of politics and government; diplomatic history and foreign affairs; military history; social, cultural, and intellectual history; regional history; and economic history. Introductory scope notes provide valuable expository information and suggested search strategies in such areas as automation, government documents, and genealogy. Entries include works published through 2002.
Call Number: Z 1236 .P45 2003ISBN: 1563088746Publication Date: 2003-04-30 -
-
United States History
by
Call Number: Z 1236 .M47 1995ISBN: 0719036887Publication Date: 1996-04-01This bibliography provides coverage of the most recent books and articles on the history of the United States. It is arranged in 7 chronological divisions, beginning with Native Americans before European contact and ending in the post-Cold War era.
Articles
-
Teaching Writing in United States History Kashatus, William C. "Teaching Writing in United States History." Magazine of History 18.1 (2003): 39-41. ProQuest. Web. 29 June 2016.
-
The Impact of the Document-Based Question on the Teaching of United States History Rothschild, Eric. "The Impact of the Document-Based Question on the Teaching of United States History." The History Teacher 33.4 (2000): 495-500. Web.
-
"How to Be Thankful for Being Free": Searching for a Convergence of Discourses on Teaching Patriotism, Citizenship, and United States History Wills J. S., Margaret A., and Margaret A. Nash. Teachers College Record (1970): "how to be Thankful for being Free": Searching for a Convergence of Discourses on Teaching Patriotism, Citizenship, and United States History. 107 Vol. Teachers College, Columbia University, 01/01/2005. Web. 29 June 2016.
-
History Is Written by the Learners: How Student Views Trump United States History Curricula Wheeler, Schaun. "History Is Written by the Learners: How Student Views Trump United States History Curricula." The History Teacher 41.1 (2007): 9-24. Web.
-
Teaching U.S. History with an Eye to the World Talamante, Laura Emerson. "Teaching U.S. History with an Eye to the World." The History Teacher 41.3 (2008): 391-404. Web.
Teaching Resources
-
AP Central- Advanced Placement U.S. HistoryThe College Board's official website and guide to teaching Advanced Placement U.S. History.
-
Stanford History Education Group- U.S. History ResourcesSHEG is a collaboration among many people: full-time staff, graduate student RAs, practicing teachers, and undergraduate volunteers and interns. SHEG sponsors an ongoing research group for students across the university interested in issues of how history is taught and learned. We also host visiting scholars whose work addresses issues of historical understanding and history education.
-
Teaching American HistoryAn online resource that includes Lesson Plans, Primary Documents, and Online Exhibits for educators.
-
TeacherVision- American HistoryA wealth of resources broken down by time period and by content.
-
Discovery Education- U.S. HistoryDiscovery Education transforms classrooms, empowers teachers and captivates students by leading the way in providing high quality, dynamic, digital content to school districts large and small, rural and suburban and everything in between.
-
Library of Congress- Teacher ResourcesThe Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.
Primary Source Collections
-
Gilder Lehrman CollectionThe Gilder Lehrman Collection is a unique archive of primary sources in American history. Owned by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and located at the New-York Historical Society, the Collection includes more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States.
-
America in ClassCollections of primary resources compatible with the Common Core State Standards — historical documents, literary texts, and works of art — thematically organized with notes and discussion questions.
-
100 Milestone DocumentsThis collection of 100 milestone documents has been compiled by the National Archives and chronicles the history of the U.S. from 1776 to 1965.
-
Docs TeachThis collection of over 3,000 primary documents is organized by historical era, from the nation’s founding to the present. Documents, including maps, charts, graphs, audio, and video, have been selected by National Archives Staff, and are photographic reproductions of historical sources.
-
Primary Documents in American History - Library of CongressThe Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
-
Many PastsThis feature of George Mason University’s History Matters project features prepared and selected primary documents in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. history. The “full search” feature on the site allows users to choose resources by historical period, topic, type of resource, etc.
-
Smithsonian SourceThis collection of primary sources can be searched by keyword, type, or topic, and includes documents on Westward Expansion, Transportation, Civil Rights, Invention, Colonial America, and Native American history. Each set includes selected and excerpted documents.
-
American Women: A Guide to Women's History Resources at the Library of CongressA collection from the Library of Congress highlighting women's history and culture in the United States.