What is Digital Humanities?
Defining Digital Humanities by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9781409469643Publication Date: 2013-12-23This reader brings together the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. It provides a historical overview of how the term Humanities Computing developed into the term Digital Humanities, and highlights core readings which explore the meaning, scope, and implementation of the field.
About this Guide
This page is a work-in-progress, a collaboration between the liaison librarian and the students and faculty of the course ENG 8008, English and Digital Humanities. The goal of the guide is to introduce the digital humanities to students and faculty who wish to know more about the topic.
Graduate students Reema Barlaskar, Noha Beydoun, Ruth Clayman, Shawn Cooper, Zachary Fishman, Ruth Haller, Nabilah Khachab, Christopher Susak, Luke Thominet, and Melanie Zynel located and wrote evaluations of web-based resources important to the study and understanding of the digital humanities. The "Top 10" list represents their "best of the best," and they explained, evaluated and defended their choices, ultimately ranking them as presented. Thanks to Professor Julie Thompson Klein and her collaborative spirit, who makes many learning opportunities such as this one possible.
Open Access Journals
- open access, libraries + dhOpen access journals that sit at the cross section of Digital Humanities and Libraries. Compiled by Thomas Padilla.
Top Ten
Explicated, evaluated and ranked by Reema Barlaskar, Noha Beydoun, Ruth Clayman, Shawn Cooper, Zachary Fishman, Ruth Haller, Nabilah Khachab, Christopher Susak, Luke Thominet, and Melanie Zynel.
- HASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Advanced Collaboratory)An open online community, dedicated to new forms of collaboration with news, scholars' forums on key topics, conversations, groups, blogs, and the Digital Media and Learning Competition.
- Project Bamboo -- DIRTWell-organized collection of digital tools and methods for research and scholarship, developed by Project Bamboo.
- Digital Humanities NowA showcase of up-to-date news and the best of scholarship based on community interest, with an archive of editors' choices.
- Zotero (Digital Humanities Education Library)A citation management tool that also features forums and interest groups, including the Digital Humanities Education Library.
- Digital Humanities QuarterlyAn open access peer-reviewed journal featuring a wide range of articles and current scholarly conversations in the field.
- KairosA peer-reviewed open access journal with emphasis on rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy, publishing webtexts.
- ADHO (Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations)An umbrella organization connecting DH organizations and providing news, resources and other information on research and teaching in the field.
- VectorsAn open access peer-reviewed journal committed to innovative multimodal publication formats exploring the intersections of technology and culture.
- Voice of the ShuttleA portal for primary and secondary humanities resources, covering a wide range of disciplines and fields, pioneered by Alan Liu and development team in the English Department at UC-Santa Barbara.
- Dan Cohen's Digital Humanities BlogA regularly updated site that discusses current news, publications, and a "Best of the Blog" page categorizing posts in many areas of the DH.
Digital Humanities @Wayne State
- Digital Collections @ WSUThe Wayne State University Library System, through its digital publishing initiatives, strives to bring unique, important, or institutionally relevant content to Wayne State University’s academic community and to the larger world. Our Digital Collections represent text, images, and audiovisual material that support this mission through a diversity of projects.
- Virtual Motor CityVirtual Motor City contains images from the Detroit News Photograph Collection, a premier photojournalistic resource that primarily documents the city of Detroit, its people, places and events from the late 19th century through the 1980s (bulk 1900-1980). This digital collection was originally made possible by DALNET, IMLS, and Library of Michigan grants in 2002-2007.
- Digital Humanities at Wayne State UniversityKeep current with the digital humanities events and projects happening on campus.
Organizations
- Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO)ADHO is an umbrella organization for DH societies. Among its activities, it publishes DH resources; sponsors the annual Digital Humanities Conference; oversees awards for excellence in DH; and collaborates on a variety of projects.
- Consortium of Humanities Centers & Institutes (CHCI)The CHCI Web site is largely member-focused, with a searchable database of member organizations; links to affiliates; and a list of groups and projects. It also offers a small library of e-documents, as well as job listings, calls for papers, fellowships and funding opportunities, and conferences and programs.
Funding
- Digging Into DataAdministered by the Office of Digital Humanities and funded by seven other global research organizations, the Digging into Data Challenge focuses on the computational analysis of large-scale corporations.
- NEH Office of Digital Humanities (ODH)ODH is the main funding source for scholars, institutes, and graduate students seeking grants for new projects, implementation projects, digitization grants, and establishing institutes of short duration. The grants are awarded throughout the year; projects are selected based on the goals of increasing the understanding of the interplay between digital technologies and the humanities fields, and increasing the number of DH scholars.
Further Reading
Interdisciplining Digital Humanities by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library AZ 105 .K55 2015ISBN: 9780472072545Publication Date: 2015-01-05Interdisciplining Digital Humanities sorts through definitions and patterns of practice over roughly sixty-five years of work, providing an overview for specialists and a general audience alike. It is the only book that tests the widespread claim that Digital Humanities is interdisciplinary. By examining the boundary work of constructing, expanding, and sustaining a new field, it depicts both the ways this new field is being situated within individual domains and dynamic cross-fertilizations that are fostering new relationships across academic boundaries.
Digital Curation in the Digital Humanities by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9780081001783Publication Date: 2015-04-11Archives and special collections departments have a long history of preserving and providing long-term access to organizational records, rare books, and other unique primary sources including manuscripts, photographs, recordings, and artifacts in various formats. The careful curatorial attention to such records has also ensured that such records remain available to researchers and the public as sources of knowledge, memory, and identity. Digital curation presents an important framework for the continued preservation of digitized and born-digital collections, given the ephemeral and device-dependent nature of digital content.
